We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey But Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 169 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pricey But Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Gotta say this is not inexpensive especially for a family, but the food is really really well done and so tasty. Service, as always, depends on the server but the food each time I have been here has been excellent and I try and order something differnet on each visit. I took a West Coast visitor here for a late lunch/early dinner and they were amazed at the wonderful meal. They complety enjoyed the meal as did I. It is not inexpensive but the food is really well prepared and I feel worth the cost. It is rather noisy as it gets crowded and hard to have a meaningful conversation. The acoustics are not very good at all and just echo all the noise, mgmt needs to address this so the diner can be more comfortabel as we dine. Overall it is a good palce ot go out to ean. Try it and you will be a fan... :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    135
    35
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Go for lobsters! The value for money is there. I had a standard new england clam chowdah soup (nothing special, too creamy) but the lobster is great.
A bit noisy (not too much), good selection of beers, no espresso (only standard coffee).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A taste of home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love this place! I'm from New England and grew up on fresh lobsters, steamers, etc. that we'd get right from the boats. This place gives you a true taste of what New England seafood is all about. Everything is super fresh and delicious and the staff is incredible. It's a great family place, I'd eat their every day if I could.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“OK Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ate there with my daughter last week. I had the crab cakes which were good. The little muffins they serve are tremendous. Service was excellent. Pretty high prices, though, for the food offered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of Washington, DC
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Ok, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fords is one step above a chain seafood house. Add to that the "lively atmosphere" (read that as it is impossible to hear). On the plus side, their happy hour specials bring the price down to reasonable. The food is ok, nothing to write home about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.