We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The crowds tell the story!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 154 Restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The crowds tell the story!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

In area for funeral. Look place up. Had good reviews. Surprised so crowded on Wednesday night. Soon found out why. Had fish taco and shrimp roll at the bar. Portions were large. Price reasonable. Wine selection excellent. Weight staff pleasant and attentive. Recommend to everyone but don't go if looking for quite dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    99
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ford's is fantasic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here on the recommendation of the hotel I was staying at for business. Propably the best recommendation I have gotten from a hotel. They even gave me a free appetizer coupon, which I used on getting the Angry Mussels. Awesome dish, could have been my main course: loads of mussels, great tomatoe/onion/sausage with a crazy good sauce. The decor is great, not overly done and dark wood tones. Expect a wait, I went on a Tues. and there was a 30min wait for a table. However I would certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First Rate Casual Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a family dinner with 2 adults and 2 older teens. Had: 1) lobster fried and steamed, 2) scallops and shrimp, 3) half ribs with half fried lobster tail and 4) a burger.

Pros:
Outstanding service
All meals were delicious
A new treat - fried lobster tail was fantastic
Casual comfortable environment we all could enjoy

Cons:
None.

Our server gave excellent advice and was very attentive to our needs. I felt like my family's eating experience was his top concern, and by the end of the meal I was glad I trusted his advice. He suggested the fried lobster tail, saying he never had anyone say other than positive things - and we are glad we listened to him. All the food was excellent and we left happy that we came. This is our new favorite place to eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Fried Shrimp Basket - every time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The crowds tell the story. You may have a wait to be seated but it's worth it every time. Food here is delicious. Shrimp basket is my go to but also love the salmon salad and the bisque. Neighboring diner asked for a straw with his second bowl! Another tip try the muddled blueberry lemonade...wow. Wish they took reservations but they will do call ahead or check the bar area where its first come first served. Most folks don't mind the wait for this very popular Ashburn location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good quality food, not "Shack" prices...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had to check in on Ford's Fish Shack after hearing that friends had trouble getting a table on a busy weekend. We visited on a weeknight and had no trouble being seated in the ample dining area. There was a nice selection of craft and commercial beers to go with our meal. We started with a half-plate of Maine Chips - Hand cut potato chips generously topped with "lobstah," basil aioli, melted blue cheese, and marinated tomatoes - finger-lickin' delish! The Fish & Chips ($15) and Fish Tacos ($12) contained fresh ingredients and the battered fish was piping hot and tasty.

One note: Calling Ford's a "Shack" might connote lower prices - don't be misled. $5-6 pints of craft beer and $15 fish & chips baskets are not shack-like.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.