We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding seafood restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 152 restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
IAD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I have been frequent diners since Ford's opened. The food is consistently amazing, the staff is awesome! We have probably tried everything on the menu. We recently had their Halibut special, it was off the scale delicious - perfectly cooked with an amazing cauliflower mash and perfectly steamed asparagus. The mussels are especially good this time of year. The lines are always long and if you want to a seat at the bar, arrive by 5:00 pm seven days a week. Happy Hour oysters and "huge" shrimp for $1 and great prices on beer and wine. Love, love, love, this place! Our favorite waitress is Joy - she rocks!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    148
    90
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We haven't been to Fords for over a year; we went last night and had an excellent meal. The lobster rolls are awesome - oysters were good, scallops, and even the hot dog and caesar salad were appreciated. It's great to see a local restaurant that is consistently good! Good wines by the glass; and ample seating for a party of 6. We will definitely be back and won't wait for a whole year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lunch - Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Fresh... Fresh... I'm not a big seafood fan, but the three folks that joined me are. Two had the crab cake and one had the fish and chips. All enjoyed their meals. I chickened out and went with the bacon wrapped hotdog... Good but I wish I had tried the fish. I will next time!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Happy Hour Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Love their Fish Tacos and Angry Mussells! However their $1 Oysters and $1 Jumbo shrimp can't be beat! Come early to get a seat! The atmosphere is fun and the service is really good for Happy Hour! The only thing is that Happy Hour applies only to the bar area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood restaurant in Ashburn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lunch was excellent. I had made reservations for 2p.m. i was surprised when the hostess told me that since i was made aware that is was a 40-55 min wait over the phone (which I wasnt) I only had to wait another 15min. she was pleasant enough, and it was super busy, I decided to wait it out. The wait was less than 15 min. i ordered the blueberry lemonade which was exellent. I ordered the Lobster bisque which was excellent. The Maine lobster roll is amazing. Our server, Courtney, was so attentive and took excellent care of us. Definitely a great spot for seafood in Ashburn.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.