We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 156 Restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

All our family and friends go to this restaurant regularly. I have NEVER had a bad meal there. Favorite items are mussels with chorizo, Maine chips with lobster, lobster salad, crab cakes, fish and chips and a wonderful blueberry lemonade. The wine list is decent and the prices are affordable. This is a popular restaurant that does not take reservations unless it is a large party, so come early or late or plan on waiting awhile. They have rocking chairs out front and also an outdoor patio that is used during the warmer weather. The staff is seasoned, know the menu well and can guide you in your food selection. We are very lucky that the owner has selected Ashburn for their restaurant location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    103
    29
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Different twist, good flavor + sports bar feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The salmon salad had asian noodles and shaved iceberg lettuce so it was definitely different than the luscious salmon salad at Sweetwater Tavern, but the place was packed with happy laughing people watching sports and unwinding with a drink, a game and a variety of moderately priced offerings. Worth at least trying.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had been at the ice rink nearby all weekend and finally decided to stop in to Ford's for Brunch on Sunday. The selection wasn't huge, but everything sounded delicious. I opted for a regular mimosa and because I didn't want to try just one thing, had the chips appetizer. It was SO good. Even though I was a bit full, I had the crabcack benedict. The crabcakes were perfect, not too heavy. Poached eggs to perfection and the potatoes and asparagus on the side were all delicious. I like the muffin basket that comes with a meal.
Had great service the entire time. Staff seems to genuinely like their jobs. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Ashburn. I would really like to try their regular menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Best of Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ford's is a great local restaurant that we consistently hit up for lunch and dinner. The menu is small enough to be considered the anti-Cheesecake Factory. Everything is fresh and delicious and the service is always good. Last Saturday I stopped in for brunch with my dad and daughter and spotted a little something on the menu they call Crabcake Benedict. It consists of two crab cakes, buttermilk biscuit, two poached eggs, hollandaise sauce, brunch potatoes & asparagus. I wasn't 100% sure about going this route so I asked Linda the bartender and she said, "It's money". Ok, don't ever doubt Linda because she was spot on. I hesitate to publish this review because I would hate to saddle up to the bar on a weekend and find out they are sold out. I'm taking a leap of faith that Ford's will always have a mountain of fresh goods in the kitchen to keep the Crabcake Benedict flowing. Well done Ford's Fish Shack, well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat in Ashburn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have been here several times and always a great experience. The food has been excellent as well as the waitstaff. The manager has always stopped by to make sure everything is ok and we are being taken care of. We usually do not go out to eat often and rarely to the same place twice but since discovering Ford's that is our #1 spot to go when dining out even over trying new restaurants. The only downside is that it has become a popular place and there can be a wait to be seated during peak times. You can call and make reservations though which is nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.