We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ford's Fish Shack

Ford's Fish Shack
44620 Ice Rink Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
571-918-4092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 150 restaurants in Ashburn
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Herndon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Above Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Every time we've visited, the food has been excellent... especially during brunch. We always call ahead since they typically have a long wait. Our favorites on the menu are: blueberry lemonade, lobster bisque (good but a little saltier than I'd prefer), cornflake-crusted french toast (to die for), crabcake benedict, fish tacos, BLT egg croissant sandwich, etc. Definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    143
    88
    25
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too loud was just the beginning.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My lobster tail arrived late, then was so salty I couldn't eat it (I'm not one to avoid salt). My husband's blackened scallops were good, kid salmon fine and nice beer selection. But we won't go back because of the noise level. Every restaurant can have a bad night, but you can't fix loud. And be prepared to call ahead for 1.5 hour wait and then wait another 20 minutes once you arrive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Best place around! Try the salmon or cod both are fantastic!!! Great service at the bar and very friendly atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love the Fish Shack - Needs reservation system”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If this place either got a larger location or took reservations I would go all the time. The menu is great and food wonderful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caryOut, Manager at Ford's Fish Shack, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Very sorry if there was some confusion created on our part, but we do offer both Reservations & Call Ahead in Ashburn. Please feel free to utilize the system by calling 571.918.4092 the next time you are headed our way! We have also just opened a new location in South Riding that is larger in both the dining room & patio than our Ashburn location. We invite you to come check it out once the weather is nicer & the patio is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ashburn!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ford's is the best! A great atmosphere, great food, great service! It's a pretty small place and very popular, so if you're planning on going (especially Friday/Saturday nights) make sure you make a reservation or call ahead! It's well worth the wait though! The food is so good and super reasonable for the quality. I highly recommend the Maine Chips, Grilled Lobstah Tail, Shrimp Tacos, and of course, the Ford's Lemonade! YUM!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ford's Fish Shack also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Sterling, Loudoun County
 

Been to Ford's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ford's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.