We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will be my place to stay on all future trips to the Dulles area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North

Save Saved
You added Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20065 Lakeview Center Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop and Stay Your Way
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
silver spring, md
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This will be my place to stay on all future trips to the Dulles area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

One of the areas in my job calls for me to check out hotels for possible booking for our youth groups. My friends and I wanted to do a girls weekend and since I had to check out Springhill Suites Ashburn, we decided to stay there. I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and it's wonderful staff.

The hotel itself is close to Dulles Town Center and another mall, all within 4 miles of the hotel. It's moments from Route 7 and I495. It's far enough from DC to not deal with the hustle and bustle, but close enough to visit the museums.

The lobby made me feel immediately relaxed upon entering it. The staff was very warm and friendly.

The room was another pleasant surprise. It was much larger than the typical Springhill Suites room. The bathroom is divided into two rooms. The shower room is absolutely gorgeous, clean and a LOT of room. The room with the toilet was small, but everything was within reach.

The kitchenette area was nice. I did miss the faucet that's normally found in Springhill's kitchenette. However, there are still 2 faucets in the room so that was adequate.

The living room area is HUGE. The pull out couch is next to a lounge chair that is spacious.

The desk is surrounded by a privacy window. The opaque glass helps the person on the other side of the glass not be disturbed by the light when one is working at the desk.

The breakfast is typical Springhill Suites breakfast, but they did have 2 waffle irons which was good.

This hotel more than met my expectations and I will definitely be back again both with our youth groups and with friends.


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS_Ashburn, General Manager at Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review on Trip advisor. I am so happy to learn that your experience was 'pleasantly surprising' and that it 'more that met your expectations'! It is our ojective to do that for every guest, everytime. If I can assist to coordinate your hotel needs for your next youth group, please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel any time.

Kind regards,
Hannah Adlam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
18
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is new, and the decor is fresh and neutral. Breakfast was fine with a good selection. Easy to find, IF you have an up to date GPS and it is close to George Washington University and Dulles but is really in the middle of nowhere on the side of the Harry Byrd Highway. However Reston town center is close by and can fulfill all your retail and dining desires.

I liked the separate toilet and shower room and the work area. Internet was a little on the slow side.

Only negative comment I have about my stay was the room had a pretty strong damp/musky smell which I suspect was related to the A/C. And talking of the A/C it is loud AND right next to the bed, where it blows cold air over you. The fridge in the room also makes a fair amount of noise, as it is a regular consumer model as opposed to a hotel-specific unit.
For those that care, the room also uses one of the infernal Inncom thermostats as well as a sensor on the door. The Inncom Thermostat is supposed to detect when there is an occupant in the room and control the A/C or heat accordingly. However in my experience these thermostats never work right and in the case of this hotel are guaranteed not to work right due there being a divider half way across the room that separates the bed from the rest of the room. If you have problems with these thermostats then a 1 minute Google of” Incomm VIP mode” will be a big help….

As with most hotels these days, noise from your neighbors through the paper thin walls is to be expected.

Staff were friendly and attentive, especially the gentleman who was manning the breakfast area during my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHS_Ashburn, General Manager at Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay earlier this year. I am happy to see that your overall experience was good but of course disappointed that you had challenges with the AC unit and the smell in your room. Thank you for this feedback, it will help us to improve and remedy the challenges you faced whilst you were here.

Kind regards,
Hannah Adlam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast FL
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This Springhill Suites is about three years old, and still feels very new. It is obviously mainly a businessman's hotel from Monday through Thursday nights, as rates are much lower on the weekend ($65) and occupancy was almost zero when we stayed the weekend before Christmas. There is a restaurant onsite, but it only operates Mon-Thurs. We ordered from a nearby restaurant that delivered (there are three good choices - Greek/Mediterranean, Italian, and Pizza) and enjoyed that service. The complimentary breakfast was very nice, with hot eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, toast, fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee and tea available in abundance, and tasty.
The suite has a real living room with desk and internet free, a separate bedroom, and two batthroom areas. One with vanity sink and large shower with multiple heads, the other with a smaller sink and toilet. It was a good arrangement, and the furnishings were very comfortable, especially the large king size bed. Very nice bedding, and plenty of extras. The AC was a little noisy, and if the wind is coming from the North, ask for a room on the other side of the building, as it rattled the glass and blew thru the cracks mightily. The wind was in the 40MPH range, so it was an unusually gusty evening. The second night was much better. While not within walking range of much, many malls, restaurants, movies and attractions were within easy driving distance (2-7 miles) We enjoyed our stay, and would return if coming back to the Leesburg/Dulles area.

Room Tip: Rooms AWAY from wind will be quieter and warmer in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Clean, attractive, a whole lot of hotel for $79 a night. Friendly, helpful staff. Spacious room, with sitting area set apart from sleeping area by a floor-to-ceiling divider with a counter to serve as a desk. Excellent bed, firm mattress. The usual hotel wall mount a/c, kicks on and off overnight. Unexpectedly modern and stylish bathroom. It's really two bathrooms, one with the toilet and a small corner sink, the other with the shower and a large sink and counter. Both bathrooms are on the small side, and are separated from the sleeping area by sliding pocket doors, instead of a standard door.

Breakfast was plentiful, but there was too much water sitting in the bottom of the scrambled eggs for my liking. Sausage patties, waffle maker, cereal, lots of yogurt. The pantry by the front desk was well stocked, and the ice cream was fresh.

The treadmill I used in the fitness center was identical to the one at my hometown gym, so it was familiar and easy to use.

The location is convenient to Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed there twice whilst visiting relations, hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere, rooms were spacious but no locks on bathroom doors.Breakfast was okay but during the day if they ran out of a certain brand of tea then hard luck no one was repleneshing stock.Good points were very friendly staff, free newspapers and free use of the computer. Decent enough place to stay if staying for a short period.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff was kind and helpful, and the hotel is new. There is not much more to say. It is located kind in a middle on nowhere, no restaurant and no restaurants nearby except for a Chickafila.
The problems are: AC is too noisy,and most of all, the walls are to thin, so you can hear a thousand noises when you are sleeping. That is disturbing
I would say is an average hotel, not too expensive but you have to be aware of those problems I mentioned

Room Tip: Hard to say. Walls are so thin people around your room can easily wake you up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, KS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I were visiting some friends that live in the Leesburg, VA area and decided to stay at the SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North. We both loved it; it was clean, the staff was friendly, the room was spacious, it was easy to find, and it had a good (free) hot breakfast. I think the only downside to it is that there are very few choices for food and fuel close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North

Address: 20065 Lakeview Center Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20147
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ashburn
#2 Business Hotel in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Ashburn Dulles North is situated along Route 7 between Leesburg and Tyson's Corner. Free breakfast buffet, wired/wireless Internet, and transportation to Dulles International Airport. Come and enjoy our SpringHill Suites hotel, where each guest suite is innovatively laid out, stylishly furnished and smartly designed to give you the flexibility you need to work efficiently and relax comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North Hotel Ashburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springhill Suites Ashburn Dulles North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.