We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a Younger Crowd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Dulles Airport North to your Saves list
Aloft Dulles Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideal for a Younger Crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you're in your 20s and early 30s and single, this is a great hotel for you. My family regularly stays here because it's the only category 2 Starwood hotel in the area, and it's not as suited for us. However, if I was ten years younger, I would think it's the greatest innovation since sliced bread. The Aloft is decorated with cool colors, has nice meeting areas including a courtyard, a pool table, bar, swimming pool, and a fitness center. There's free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

For the older crowd, it's a little noisy; but we tolerate it because, again, it's a better deal using our rewards points than the Sheratons in Reston and Herndon. I've also had a few problems dealing with the management over discrepancies with their 'green choice' option (for Starwood members). I'd give it a rating of a 4 if I was younger.

As with all Alofts, they do allow dogs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your business and for sharing your valuable stay experience. We are happy that you gave us a try. Yes, we aim to be better than most hotels in the area, and believe our hotel excellent staff and amenities caters to all.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    131
    75
    60
    52
See reviews for
93
98
73
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

To be 100% honest I didn't leave my room because this stay was for business and I had work to do, but the hotel was great. Very trendy lobby with a pool table. I've heard the gym and pool are great. The room comes with a mini fridge, iron, ironing board, blow-drier, coffee-maker, and complementary hookups for your devices to the flat screen TV. I had two desks and a very comfortable bed, but I couldn't seem to get the air-conditioner to reach a comfortable climate. Wi-Fi was fast enough to stream videos off Netflix. There is a place to buy food in the lobby, and also a gas station convenience store directly outside of the hotel. But the bathroom door is just a sliding mirror, and the shower has a translucent glass panel that looks into the main part of the room, so if you need 100% privacy in the bathroom it might be an issue.

Room Tip: The first floor can get a little noisy because the parking is directly next to the building, also, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Good place for quick overnight trip. We've stayed there several times before flights on he park & fly packages with mostly acceptable results.

In February 14, 2014, after multiple previous trips and was highly disappointed. I was told that I had to park in the back (for the park & fly package), which was completely fine. The sidewalks were icy and none of the ramps were cleared; there was no way to get a suitcase or anything else from the parking lot onto the sidewalk. We had to trudge through snow and icy patches just to get to the sidewalk. There wasn't any treatment on the sidewalks either to cover the icy patches.

I asked the front desk person and was told that maintenance would be there shortly to clear. Attached are my photos from my experience. Needless to say, no one did anything further to assist or ensure conditions were safe.

The sidewalks were never cleared and we struggled, slipped and have a very difficult time entering and exiting the hotel. I understand the need to have park & fly guest park in the back; however the sidewalks and sidewalks need to be cleared.

The room was functional: good king size bed with decent pillows. A long bench ran across the front of the room to rest carry-ons, sit on, leave clothes out for the next morning, etc. A roomy desk with a phone (not beside the bed) so one has to get out of bed for the walk up call. The bathroom is interesting: sink outside (good for 2 people to get ready at the same time), odd "door" that slides to close the toilet and shower away from the sink.

I hope they address the poor sidewalks and icy situations so we can feel comfortable staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

my name is Sam I stay Aloft Dulles Airport North
Ashburn, VA
June 2014 for one week i'm so happy they have a good management and good service and all the rooms clean also they have a good customer service only think I like everybody work that hotel They so friendly Thank you for everything

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Fairly new hotel in an isolated location, obviously built to serve the airport. Lobby was large and airy with lots of comfy seats. Bar only opens at 5pm. Little choice of food except from a vending machine. Room was a good size with a comfy bed and we slept well. Bathroom door was big and noisy and didn't really close properly. Not a destination hotel but the price was reasonable and if you know what your'e getting it meets your needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were stranded in Dulles overnight and chose this property. It was a big mistake! I am a Starwood Preferred Guest and usually like Starwood properties, but this one is a shame to the name.

We arrived at the hotel to find a nice room awaiting us. Just one problem - there was no hand or bath soap in the entire facility. In addition, since this is an airport hotel, you would think that they would have a good selection of late night snacks in the lobby to choose from, but the only things to find were junk food (chips, candy bars). Though they advertise sandwiches and salads, none were there.

There are NO restaurants nearby within walking distance. So if you take the airport shuttle, you have to eat at the hotel - if they have food.

Finally, the service here was very poor for a Starwood property. My guess is that Aloft is Starwood's low-end option, and it shows!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a very fine Aloft hotel. I stay here frequently. The staff is excellent, friendly and efficient.

The front desk is well run. Amanda and Victor in particular is the excellent.

The WXYZ is a fine place for a hotel bar. it can get very crowded during the week and although the service might get slow at times, the staff are always take their time to make sure customers are happy and never seem in rush.
They welcome their SPG members with welcome bag that includes a warm welcome note from their Director Of Operations along with the breakfast coupon and some goodies ! (very nice touch)

everyone from the houseman to the bartender and the housekeeping staff are pleasant and willing to help.

I rarely write any reviews but I over heard the Front Desk discussing some unfavorable reviews they have received recently and while they seemed disappointed, as a frequent traveler, I know that every hotel has some bad days and I don't think it is fair to undermine all the effort the aloft puts to make their guest happy for couple bad experiences.

I personally have never been disappointed by this hotel and though errors accrue, the management is very quick to respond and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your business. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dulles Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.