We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only saving graces......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Save Saved
You added Aloft Dulles Airport North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Dulles Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ashburn
LHR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The only saving graces......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Was not my 1st choice as the HGI next door is where I normally stay in this area. I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed in the ALOFT at PHL..as I have recorded previously. on TA. However this place proved completely the opposite. As highlighted the only saving graces for me is the Shuttle staff - shared with the HGI next door and the Front desk staff. The rest is just unacceptable. We start with the room and beds - which on arrival I seriously questioned if they had actually been made / changed at all considering how the sheets & quilt were laid out? The sheets had not been turned to the bedf correctly and the quilt itself had literally been thrown into its cover leaving it looking unmade? Room was tired - despite a 'trendy look" and there were significant scrapes and tears on the wallpaper? The room safe was not working so I had to carry my valuables/passport etc around which was not ideal. Events escalated when I went downstairs having complained about the room. I managed to attract the attention of surely the most unhappy employee in the US who really showed about as much interest in my or anyone else there? Young man you either need to get out of the Hospitality Industry and seek an alternative Job - maybe as an Undertakers assistant or something? You know who you are....Drink orders late, I saw a lady order a Pizza and he actually left it on the Counter for 10mins whilst she was busy with her friends. When she raised why it was cold - he shrugged his shoulders and said..:that's the way it is.." unbelievable..I then had two trips back to the lobby for faulty key cards....the Breakfast can only be described as laughable and a total rip off..$10.00 for a sausage muffin and Coffee? Go across the road to the HGI for food....As one of only two options its a limited choice and if I could have I would have crawled on all fours to the HGI next door if it would have had any availability. The ALOFT here is where you go when you really want to see service that is as bad as it sounds - but the Shuttle Drivers and Reception are the exception and are excellent - but the Barman....oh dear...never again...

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs...unless you have no other option!!! Unplug theFridge as its louder than the AC u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us at the Aloft Dulles. Please accept my apologies for the challenges you incurred during your visit. I agree with you our staff is our "savings grace" and generally strive daily with exceeding our guest expectation. The defects with service that you expereiced, is not a true reflection of our teams.

Please accept omy apology if our branded Aloft menu did not meet your expectations. The menu has many great offerings.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for sharing your valuable feedback. We are looking forward towards making your future stays delightful.

Best regards,

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    119
    61
    42
    35
See reviews for
76
84
63
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The worst stay EVER! We had stayed at Aloft near Dulles Airport in Ashburn Virginia for just one night. It was the worst in every respect. Especially the hotel staff was most impolite and rude! The room beds sheets were not clean. The toilet was broke and kept making noises all night long. The beds were the worst, if you sleep on the edge you would automatically roll down to the center! But we are not the kind of people who would fuss over these little things, we just to take some rest! We were in with the kids and called the front desk at 6:30 in morning for complementary toothpaste and the guy told us that come get it your self. I told him this is not the service we expect from this hotel. I asked him for his name. He refused to give me his name on the phone. He said if I want to know his name then come downstairs and find out and he simply hung up the phone on me! This happened at 6:30 AM and I was with 2 small kids. I have since called ALOFT head-office and filed a complaint. I have yet to hear back a response from them. We ended up checking out of the hotel immediately. I am NEVER staying in ALOFT hotel where guests are treated this way! Appearance was deceptive! Two thumbs down! NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Ali S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your stay experience. I am very disappointed to hear that your experience was less than satisfactory. Our team strives daily to exceed our guest expectations. I am addressing your concerns and will personally contact you to further discuss service recovery means.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to stay with us.

Best regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Service in the transportation and service in the lobby need dramatic change. Facilities in the room were good. Generally speaking the hotel was pretty compact. It's a little far away from the airport and quite a distance from D.C. I would not recommend staying here if you have business to do in D.C. the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Aloft and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your business and are striving daily with exceeding our guest and clients expectations. On your next visit to the area we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

we had a three night stay here and didn't come away with any problems. Its not that close to DC and there is a $5.00 toll unless you want to drive on back roads adding a lot of time to the trip. We found the bed to be comfortable, the TV had adequate channels and the room was quiet even though the hotel was full. the bar was basic with not much selection, but what I had was made well. Bring chalk for the pool table , it is a fine table and the cues were straight. The indoor pool was clean and a good temp. There was a breakfast/snack corner but we found a Circle K gas station that had both cheap gas and a great selection of to go food and it was a 3minute walk away. The hotel is nice but it is in the middle of nowhere. For a meal take the back road 15 minute ride to Herndon or 20-25 minutes to Reston for some really fine dining.

Room Tip: no bad rooms all are non smoking and are AC was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your stay experience. Beyond the basics we have one of the better hotels in the area and our staff always strives with exceeding our guest expectatiions.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We look forward towarrds welcoing you back soon.

Best regards

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Visited DC for the weekend for the Cherry Blossom Festival and I let the misses pick a hotel. She decided on Aloft and it was great! The whole place had a modern, trendy feel to it. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Plain and simple; It was a great deal for something that didn't feel like ordinary!

Room Tip: Get the breakfast coupons. They're just sandwiches but they were great, mobile, and warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward towards welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights on a visit to the Air and Space Museum. Nice clean contemporary style hotel, and a really good value for the DC area. BUT... My wife has feather allergies and while there were both kinds of pillows, there were no blankets in the hotel to replace the down comforter. We asked and the front desk folks said they've had the request before and would suggest to the management that they should make feather free blankets available. We went to Walmart to buy our own blanket for the second night. Would get a higher rating otherwise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your stay experience. While we are please to hear that you and family enjoyed the stay with us. We are dissapointed that we were unable to provide a hypoallergenic blanket. Please accept our sincere apologies. This concern has been addressed with our team.

Once again thank you for your business and we look forward towards welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda LT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here recently before a 2-week trip even though it wasn't really necessary but it is less expensive to stay here and have 14 days free parking than to just pay for parking somewhere. We really enjoyed our stay--very friendly staff, pleasant room, nice exercise room to work out before a long flight. There are pleasant common areas including a glass fireplace which can be enjoyed from inside or outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your business and for sharing your comments. We would agree that besides getting a good rate deak at the Aloft, we have clean rooms , comfortable common areas and very friendly staff members.

We are looking forward towards welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dulles Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;