We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frayed Around the Edges is an Understatement!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Dulles Airport North to your Saves list
Aloft Dulles Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Frayed Around the Edges is an Understatement!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I’m sure this was a great place when it opened 5 years ago but since then it looks like everything has gone downhill, they have not put a penny into anything to say its frayed around the edges is an understatement. Checkout my picture of the main lobby furniture and of the large square settee without a back or arms I took a close up of one of the corners of this settee and you will see this is indicative of the condition of the rest of this hotel, the room rugs were filthy the place is dirty. When I tried calling down to the lobby for a wake-up call no one would answer the phone never again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am please to share since your visit we have upgraded our lobby funiture. We would agree that after 5-years our property is showing normal "wear and tear" and we are working to improve and upkeep our hotel.

Thanks you once again for your stay and comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    125
    65
    46
    39
See reviews for
85
88
64
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here on business for a few nights. The room was spacious and clean, although oddly laid out. Property seems to be in need of some minor upkeep: scratches and stains on walls in the room, torn and tattered furniture in a few places in the lobby. Bar was good enough, but seemed to just about always be closed (apparently doesn't stay open past 10:30-11:00pm). All in all, not bad, and very convenient, but could use a few improvements.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. We are so glad you found our location ideal and our talent so friendly and helpful. We are constantly looking to upgrade our property conditions and the items that you notice during your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Aloha,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Because of the location I frequently use this a loft for my business travel. The staff is very welcoming, and knowledgeable of the local area. Rachel Joffrions humor, hospitality & wit are very welcomed attributes for the frequent, weary traveler. The next best thing to actually being home!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking to the time to share your experience! I am very pleased to hear that we are able to create a memorable experience for you and always exceed your expectations. I will share your kind feedback with Rachel and our talents. We are looking forward to connecting with your on your next visit.

Aloha,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked there due to the closeness to the airport since I had to leave very early in the am and they allowed the car to be park for free while on my trip. Also the shuttle to airport was another convenience. Service is somewhat minimal but that is expected in this brand. Food so so although if you are on your own and need a comfortable room ( modern decor) for a short stay it works fine .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. We are so glad you found our location ideal and our talent so friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel was a nightmare. The rooms are not clean and the service is inefficient. I had asked for a wakeup call and did not even get that - unfortunately I was late for a very important meeting. As a SPG privilege member, my humble advice to all of you is to stay away from this property.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel...there is one next door to this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I apologize for your poor experience and will review the housekeeping/Front Desk challenges with our team. Our goal is to always exceed the expectations of our guest. Thank you again for your visit and my apologies again for your disappointing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently were sent here by our airline after weather delays caused us to miss our connecting flight and no others were available until the next night. The shuttle was convenient and quick and yes, while this hotel is not exactly right by the airport, it is pretty nearby so it was still easy access. The hotel has a very modern look and a cool, urban vibe. The guy at the check in desk was very helpful, nice, and more than accommodating even though we staggered in disheveled and exhausted after our travel woes. The beds were comfy and the room was clean and well-enough appointed and oh-so-much-better than the airport floor! If you are a traveler in need of a quick respite, this hotel will be the shoe that fits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time and writing this great review about our property. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest, and I am very pleased to learn that our service met your expectations. We do concur that we are one of the most convenient hotel in the Dulles area and we strive with exceeding our guest expectations. We will look forward to welcome you back soon!

Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Made my booking via Amtrak. Coincidentally stated the wrong date in my booking but Aloft obliged by accepting a change in date despite the conditions stating otherwise. I just needed to call the hotel and the shuttle was there to pick me up at the airport terminal within 20 minutes as indicated. Checking in was quick and my first impression of the hotel was COOL...
The decor was modern and catchy with nice music playing. It was a totally different atmosphere than any other hotel that i'd ever been to. The room was again COOL with a unique layout again unlike any other hotel. Comfortable bed (altho pillows were rather small), big screen TV, powerful air-conditioning... What more could you ask for?
The shuttle was available 24 hours and will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel and will also pick you up. just call the hotel and tell them when and where.
Unfortunate that i was only staying for one night. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a lone traveller.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room on the highest floor as it could get pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralph S, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you. We are so glad you found our location ideal and our talent so friendly and helpful. We would agree that our hotel is savvy and sassy, offering an experience different from others. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dulles Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.