We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Save Saved
You added Aloft Dulles Airport North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aloft.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Dulles Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ashburn
Frostburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Aloft has this bar thing going on in the lobby; some very pretty women in black dresses obviously hired by the hotel to keep things going on until 10 or so. Excellent rooms, no ice unless you go to the lobby. Transport to Dulles is very good, as well as pickup.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! I would like to thank you for the nice feedback on our guest transportation. We unfortunately do not have ladies in black dresses working for WXYZ but will take your compliment! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Luis Kuglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    106
    54
    36
    30
See reviews for
62
77
56
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a early morning flight our of IAD and was really surprised at the service and value for the money.

This is a really cool and trendy hotel with modern decor and really friendly service from the hotel staff. The rooms were very comfortable and had plenty of room for the price. the room was clean very modern and comfortable. The offered shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and back on every hour and half an hour. The price for the room included the parking fee of the car and the car was not touched and seems to have a great lighted parking lot.

Booked the hotel directly from the website and was able to get a much better deal than anywhere on the net.

I would stay here every time I will fly out of IAD and am looking forward to my next return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you, for the wonderful feedback!

We "LOVE" to hear great feedback on our service! I am excited to hear that my team was able to provide such great feedback along with excellent transportation. We truly value your business and cannot wait until we see you again! I will make sure to share your amazing experience to the entire team at the Aloft Dulles North!

Thank you,

Luis Kuglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a new funky idea of a hotel. But really not for me. The staff way young and aloof. Our shuttle to and from the hotel was late and crowded. They even overbooked the shuttle in the morning and wanted us to wait a cab and possibly be late for our flight. Maybe I am old school but, the decor was way to contemporary as well. Just not my cup of tea.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We greatly appreciate your honest feedback on our services and your outlook of our hotel. We also understand you have many options for lodging while travelling to the Dulles area. I am very apologetic for the shuttle issues during your stay with us and will make sure this issues is corrected moving forward. The Aloft brand is a new and emerging concept that brings creativity and vibe to our brand. I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the look look and feel of Aloft. We hope that you give us another try in the near future and "Thank you" for staying Starwood!

Sincerely,

Luis Kuglitsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Aloft near Dulles at the end of March on a recent trip and enjoyed the stay and the cost. We were able to book the hotel for one night for only $56. We didn't arrive until around 9:30, but were checked-in with our key in under one minute (fastest I have ever encountered). I had requested a room on a higher floor and were granted a room on the top floor and the room keys were already scanned and ready. The room was clean with some visibly wear and tear (scratches on the wall, cracked bathroom door mirror and cracked drywall, nothing to out of the ordinary. The bed was comfortable and the room AC/Heat unit worked well. We did not hear any noise from other guests even though based on the filled parking lot the hotel was pretty full. We took the complimentary water bottles and my wife made a cup of coffee in the morning. Check-out was just as easy as check-in.

Just a heads up, if you are coming from I-495 and Tyson's Corner, you will pay about $7-8 in tolls to get to the hotel. I should have checked this before going as their was an alternate route from the direction we were coming that avoided these toll roads and only added 5 additional minutes to the trip duration.

Room Tip: Just a heads up, if you are coming from I-495 and Tyson's Corner, you will pay about $7-8 in tol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest

You are very important to us!
On behalf of the entire team at the Aloft Dulles North, I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel & for giving us such a great rating. I hope that your stay was delightful. We hope that you will return again when next business or leisure brings you to the Ashburn area. We value your business and promise that we will never take it for granted. If there is anything that we could have done to make your stay better, kindly let me know.
If I can assist with anything before or during your next visit, kindly give me a call.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a good nights rest preceding an early flight the next day. The hotel is showing a bit of age, although many sites have stated that it is brand new. The cushions in the lobby are worn through, as was the carpet in our room. One of the walls had also been considerably marked up by the desk chair; it just looked shabby. It is a change of pace however when compared to "normal" hotel rooms; this one had a modern look. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful. The second driver gave us directions on how to avoid the tolls when driving back to Alexandria which saved us almost $7.00.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for the constructive feedback!

On behalf of the entire team at the Aloft Dulles North, I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel & for giving us such a positive rating. I hope that your stay was delightful. I undestand that you had some concerns with the wear and tear with some of the furniture and wallpaper and would like to inform you that these items will all be replaced soon! We hope that you will return again when next business or leisure brings you to the Ashburn area. We value your business and promise that we will never take it for granted. If there is anything that we could have done to make your stay better, kindly let me know.
If I can assist with anything before or during your next visit, kindly give me a call.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel the night prior to a very early flight. Patterned after a W Hotel, the setting is chic with great design. The staff was very friendly and the room was to my surprise very nice. Designed "loft style", it makes one feel you're in NY at a swanky neighborhood.

Very nice amenities and very clean with a comfortable bed, work area, bathroom and furnishings. They offer a 24 hour airport shuttle complimentary.

The only thing is...there's no bellmen and the hotel has a nice bar but no restaurant. Food is available in a "kiosk" type setup and they have a cool "sundry bar"....this obviously didn't take away from the great experience as one, I can pull my own luggage and two, I had already had dinner. But these are good things to know if you're a newcomer to this brand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest

You are very important to us!
On behalf of the entire team at the Aloft Dulles North, I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel & for giving us such a great rating. I hope that your stay was delightful. We hope that you will return again when next business or leisure brings you to the Ashburn area. We value your business and promise that we will never take it for granted. If there is anything that we could have done to make your stay better, kindly let me know.
If I can assist with anything before or during your next visit, kindly give me a call.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at the Aloft for two nights and had a great time. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the Front Desk was friendly. I grabbed a wrap for lunch; it was fresh, something I would have expected from good deli or sandwich place. The BAR was busy, but service was still good. The internet worked well and my room was quiet even though I could tell the hotel was busy. Overall a great place to stay when traveling to Dulles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback!!!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere along with your great wrap! On behalf of the entire team at the Aloft Dulles North, I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel & for giving us such a great rating. I hope that your stay was delightful. We hope that you will return again when next business or leisure brings you to the Ashburn area. We value your business and promise that we will never take it for granted. If there is anything that we could have done to make your stay better, kindly let me know.
If I can assist with anything before or during your next visit, kindly give me a call.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn
Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dulles Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.