We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff!!! Very friendly! Hip cool modern hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Dulles Airport North to your Saves list
Aloft Dulles Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
1 review
“Amazing staff!!! Very friendly! Hip cool modern hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

As I checked in the girl at front desk was extremely nice. Lobby is very modern and hip. They offered me a complimentary breakfast! Parking is free. They have an indoor pool and nice gym! Would 100% go back and stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We want to "Thank you" for your wonderful feedback and recommendation! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that our talent was helpful. We look forward to your next visit and once again we appreciate your feedback.

Come back soon!

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    125
    65
    46
    39
See reviews for
85
88
64
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Delayed departure from Boston, missed my flight to Copenhagen. Next flight was 24H later so needed a overnight stay. Very modern hotel with a lot of plugins at the room for electronic. Lounge and bar with bar meals. For breakfast I recommend to go to next door hotel. They have excellent shuttle service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We "Thank" and appreciate your positive comments and great recommendation! Thank you! I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations on the level of service and accommodations. I will certainly share your feedback with my Team. We hope to see you come back soon!

Thank you,

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capon Bridge, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We discovered Aloft Dulles searching for a "park and fly" hotel near Dulles where we could leave our car for a week. Good price, good location for us, since we head north up the Dulles Greenway toward Leesburg. It's a fun place - very modern decor - and perfect for a place to crash the night before an early flight. But for a longer stay? I'm not so sure.

On the plus side, the staff - both hotel staff and airport shuttlebus drivers - couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and everything is clean, bright, and new. We stayed the night before our flight, arriving a bit early, before the lobby bar/restaurant opened. No restaurants visible in the area (not much but a bank, a gas station, a Hilton Garden Inn, and what looked like huge apartment complexes just down the road. We thought the location rather isolated compared to other "park & fly" hotels. Rather than mount another expedition in search of food, we tried the snack area next to the desk. It was convenient - and our chicken caesar salads, if packaged like similar food from airport stands, were fresh and quite good.

Furnishings are basic - a safe, coffee maker, and refrigerator, but no microwave. A small closet with plenty of shelves, but no drawers anywhere. Seating is at a desk in a corner opposite the foot of the bed, with a similar desk, but no chair, in the opposite corner and a padded bench stretching between them, under the wall-mounted TV. This means watching TV is awkward, except from the bed. Still, the contemporary decor is fun, and we were very happy with the room for a night's stay - even if the sliding door separating the shower and commode from the washstand area had a mind of its own and refused to stay closed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Aloha,

We appreciate your positive comments and great recommendation! Thank you! I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations on the level of service and accommodations. I will certainly share your feedback with my Team. We hope that you come back soon!

Thank you for staying, ALOFT!

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We Love it here. This is the Second time we stayed here when visiting Reston area. Very out of the box and smart. Would be better if bfast were included. The staff is very friendly and helped us find a local day spa. The valet approach to the closet area is something cruise ships should look at. The vessel sink and very big shower all feel modern and well thought out. Body wash and shampoo dispensers. Hair dryer. Iron. In room safe. Check out the floor in the elevator! Did not have a chance to use fitness center or pool-pack your bathing suit. Comfortable. Clean. There is Plenty of parking. It is Well located. It is Fun. We Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We appreciate your positive comments and great recommendation! Thank you! I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations on the level of service and accommodations. I will certainly share your feedback with my Team.

Thank you for stay ALOFT!

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
613 helpful votes 613 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The guy at the front desk was really nice and that set a good tone right from the beginning.

I love modern and contemporary styling, and I wish more hotels were like this.

My room was fairly large with 2 queen beds. Flat screen TV. You can tell they used an interior designer here to choose the color palette. Everything went together so well.

They have a free shuttle to the airport shared with the Hilton that's next door. I called the hotel when I arrived at Dulles and they said they would send out the shuttle. Some other people were already waiting for it at the bus area & they said they had been waiting for a while, so it didn't take too long to pick me up. I was surprised that they offer a shuttle, considering how far away the hotel is from the airport. It was about midnight and it took about 20 minutes to get there with no traffic.

The only negatives I would mention about my room... The place is showing its age a bit... the wallpaper has been scratched up, for example. The room just didn't smell really fresh. I pinpointed the problem to the tubular pillows that are on each bed. They are about 2-3 feet long and are permanently upholstered, so you can't just pull the cover off & wash them. They smelled like body oil (perhaps people have laid on them & over time, they start to smell like body oil). They need to find some way to wash those pillows. Other than that, I liked the room a lot.

When I'm back in the area, I will want to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis K, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We "Thank you" for your valuable feedback and great recommendation! I am pleased to hear that our front desk agent had set a nice tone for your stay and will commend the team on this. I will share your housekeeping comments with our housekeeping Director. Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Thanks for staying, ALOFT.

Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

While the staff of the hotel were friendly and helpful, we would not stay here again because:

1. While we were swimming in the hotel pool, another guest pulled down their swimming suit and urinated in the pool.
2. The party in the lobby lasted until 11PM, so in our 3rd floor room, the booming bass didn't stop until then, making sleep or rest difficult.
3. The bathroom door wouldn't stay shut.
4. The refridgerator was so loud, it sounded like there was heavy machinery being operated in the hallway.
5. And the final straw...a wake up call at 5 AM that we didn't set.

We were so glad to leave--it was not a nice or peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the bass from the lobby, get the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Aloft Dulles North. I sincerely apologize for your experience at our property and appreciate your feedback. My number one priority is the health and safety of our guests. Because this incident was not reported to the property please contact me directly so I can speak directly with you about this matter

Thank you again for your feedback. I apologize again for the issues that you encountered and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service again in the future.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a cozy stay at the aloft Hotel. It has a modern decor and it was very quiet.
The breakdown:
-The beds where comfortable
-only 10 minutes from the Dulles Airport
-There is a 24 hour complimentary shuttle to the airport
-Staff were friendly and helpful
-We did have a small issue with our room not being adequately cleaned from the prior guests (but I'm hoping that this was an isolated incident).

We would return to this hotel...we'll just double check that the room has been properly cleaned before we get settled in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
You can always count on us! Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to hear that my Team has made your stay memorable. We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit soon. I apologize for the slight overlook with your room and will bring this to the attention of our housekeeping team.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dulles Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.