We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Dulles Airport North to your Saves list
Aloft Dulles Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed there before an early flight from Dulles the next day. We chose not to stay on our way back from a late flight. On the website it looks very sleek and cool, but when you get there it seems cheap and somewhat run down. The bathrooms only had a shower, no tub and it was like the hotel was trying way too hard to be hip. We're in our late 30's so we're over that. No breakfast included, just a snack bar in the lobby with overpriced snacks. The ice is frozen solid in plastic bags in the lobby (no machine). Won't go back, will stick with more family friendly hotels next time. We did get a timely shuttle to the airport (at 4am) and other places didn't offer 24 hour shuttle and were able to park and fly so it did serve it's purpose.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to our hotel.I apologize for the fact that our hotel did not meet your expectations as far as being accomodating to your families needs.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to enjoy a fun filled stay with us.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    126
    67
    48
    41
See reviews for
87
90
64
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we have stayed at facility 5 times now..great staff..rooms are comfortable..my son and I love the pool...for the price it is a wonderful place...it is clean, well maintained and cheaper than anything in area..only complaints I have heard are from snobs who could not get a room elsewhere or..honestly,,,cheap creeps

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to write to us. This really means a lot to me as well as my staff. We are exultant that you really like our hotel. Please come back soon and see us.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

1. Do NOT rely on them for wake-up calls. First time we didn't get a call it turned out that the request was never put on the list. Second time (same night), we never got a call. They are too occupied at the desk with calls, friends, whatever else is going on! Fortunately, I had set my phone to wake us up.
2. Getting the transfer to Dulles worked fine. Getting BACK from Dulles was a disaster; it took 45 minutes and 3 phone calls to get someone to pick us up. I intend to follow up with their corporate offices.
3. It is also rather remote from Dulles, out in the boonies. Didn't take long to get there, but it surely is not on the beaten path.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review about our hotel. I apologize that you did not have the experience that our hotel promotes.

We will be revisiting this issue with our team as well as making sure it's not repeated again in the future.

We appreciate your business and want the chance to win you over. I hope that you will give us another try!

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here a few times with my fiance for "stay-cations".

Lobby has a very urban feel with the exposed duct work. I kinda like that.

Staff was friendly.

Rooms were clean. Layout is kinda weird. The bathroom door slides into the wall, not too much privacy. Love the sink and the platform type bed. No microwave in room but there is a mini fridge.

Did not get a chance to go to the XYZ Bar. The gift shop is kinda expensive but thankfully there's a gas station right across the parking lot. Also did not check out the pool.

There is plenty of parking. Location is a little out of the way. Granted it is right next to the toll road but not everyone has that kind of money to spend on tolls. The closest place to go shopping is Dulles Town Center which is about 15 minutes away or Leesburg Outlets which is about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to write to us. This really means a lot to me as well as my staff. We are excited to hear that you really liked our hotel. Please come back soon and see us.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plesant Prairie, WI
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

...there are better hotels out there. For a newer property this is disappointing. It's not horrible per se but to review it accurately I have to compare it to comparable competitors and then balance it further that as a newer property it should have fewer issues. It doesn't.

The staff is friendly. The location here is a hair off the beaten path in terms of finding dining, shopping, etc. Figure a 10-15 minute drive each way for that stuff. The wifi worked well. There is adequate parking. No microwave in the rooms although there is a small refrigerator awkwardly placed by the bathroom sink.

This is hotel tring to be "trendy" and therein lies its blessing and its curse. My experience with "trendy" designs is that they look cool in the renderings and when brand new but lack in ergonomics, comfort and durability. Like other places venturing into trendiness the signs of wear and tear are very noticeable in a three year old property. While not horrible, it does not pass the basic "clean and everything works as it should" test.

Dust. Dust everywhere in the room. Two quite small bed pillows. A small work desk area with a lot of its space cluttered up with a large desk lamp with a standard 60 watt bulk (so much for energy efficiency). There is a flat screen TV with a large screen mounted to the walls. Wimpy shower. Refrigerator that fights to stay on its pedestal but works well. There is no real closet. There is a brick floor in the bath area that easily gets wet. This hotel tried to deal with Aloft's notoriously leaky shower doors. The bed was good but why so skimpy with pillows? Technically there are electrical outlets near the bed but they are under the shelf that I guess you could say doubles as the nightstand. Courtyards now have these at the same level as where you would have your cell phone sitting as it recharges. For a newer property this design flaw is incredible.

You can't open a window for fresh air. The AC unit on a hot day when set at 70 occasionally threw out heat! There is a decent desk chair but it's the only chair in the room and it causes numerous gouges and scrapes in the wallpaper. There is a padded bench under the TV but it cannot be moved so you can't have anyone watching TV from there as it would face the wrong way. No sofa. No nice chair (or any other chair) for reading or working as you'd find at a Courtyard or Hilton Garden Inn.

Skimp. Skimp. Skimp. Even the pencil in the room and only two towels says skimpy as well.

At some point in the near future these rooms will need redecorating and repair which should not be the case for a newer property but the designers here had no sense of ergonomics.

Nothing wrong with an updated design -- Courtyards are moving in that direction -- but there is no durability or functionality at Alofts. Not horrible but far from where it ought to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review about our hotel. I apologize that you did not have the experience that our hotel promotes and that our Aloft hotel did not meet your needs.

We appreciate your business and want the chance to win you over. I hope that you will give us another try!

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight after getting a great price on Hotwire. From the minute we checked in our experience was positive. Natalie checked us in and could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Our room was spotless, the bed linens were crisp and soooo comfy. Bathroom was spacious and shower was awesome. A great night's sleep for a decent price. We will be back. Thanks for making us feel so welcome. The only tip I could offer is that we could have used a listing of the television channels. When we called the front desk, we were told they didn't have one.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. I will make sure to commend Natalie with your great comments. Please come back and visit us again. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitsch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love the style of the hotel and very modern and everyone so friendy always smiling. All the employees seem so happy. They greet you, open doors for you and were so attentive towards us. Very clean and no bed bugs which is a plus. I have stayed in so many hotels which were nice but eveyone seems so busy and not happy but when i went and stayed at the aloft in Dulles it was diffent they made me feel special.Love it and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuglitsch, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to write to us. This really means a lot to me as well as my staff. We are very honored that you chose our hotel for your lodging needs and we are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations.

Please come back soon and see us.

Sincerely,
Luis Kuglitch
General Manager, Aloft Dulles North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dulles Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.