We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Review at the Aloft Dulles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dulles Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Dulles Airport North to your Saves list
Aloft Dulles Airport North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Review at the Aloft Dulles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

It was quite an interesting experience trying to book a room at this hotel for their New Years Eve package. The package included a one night stay, 2 free drink tickets (per guest) to use at the bar, a NYE goodie bag, and wristbands into the dance party they had with a DJ and a late check-out. A few friends had already booked the package and we decided to join them. The package was viewable on the hotel's website. When we had decided to book, the NYE package option wasn't listed online any more. I called the hotel directly and the front desk verified the package was available and transferred me to reservations.

The reservations agent said they were sold out of the package. I figured I'd just pay the AAA rate instead and then just pay the cover charge to get into the party. Wrong, apparently the hotel was completely sold out. I called the hotel back and they said they still had rooms left with the package deal and took the reservation for us.

Check-in was quick and the hotel lobby was decorated nicely for the evening. We were traveling with our miniature poodle and as such they placed us in a room on the first floor since those rooms are dedicated for guests with animals (with no extra charge!). One of our friends was traveling with his dog as well, but somehow he managed a room on the top floor.

The hotel is kind of in the middle of no where with no nearby restaurants/bars. We had ordered some Chinese food for delivery from a place we found on Yelp.

he crowd at the party was mixed. I expect there were a lot of people there from the DC area that came down to Ashburn to party on the more affordable side. This being said, it took about 30 minutes of waiting at the bar to get a drink. I knew it was 30-minutes because I kept watching the NYE countdown clock which was on CNN at the TV behind the bar. The bartender passed me up several times and served a lot of other guests who approached the bar AFTER I did, making me feel invisible.

I could tell that the bartender was way overwhelmed. Did you notice how I said bartender and not bartenders? The Aloft only had ONE bartender for a crowd of about 120-150 guests at the party. I know that management had recognized the issue later on in the night when they offered to try to help the bartender out. But, given that they didn't have bartending experience, he sent them away.

Toward the end of the night the hotel was loaded with cops due to fights breaking out and to keep the peace.

Unfortunately, you could hear the music from the dance floor in the guest room which made it hard to sleep around 1 AM (but hey, that's to be expected for a hotel party, so not the biggest issue there).

The room itself was nice. For being a "pet" room, there weren't any smells and no apparent pet stains. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious and featured "Bliss" toiletries. I was kind of surprised there was a soap/shampoo/conditioner dispenser in the shower instead of individual bottles. +1 for going green!

We had used the checkout option on the TV and on our way out of the hotel the front desk was very crowded with guests reconciling their charges. It wasn't apparent if they had a complementary breakfasts, but they do have a market pantry.

Would we party at the Aloft again? Probably not since its not my type of crowd (example: girl on the dance floor drinking a Four Loko that she had bought at a convenience store). Stay at the Aloft again? Sure. For a night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftAnna, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your New Year's Eve stay with us. Much time has passed since then and I can confidently share with you that much has changed since nearly 4 months ago. Lessons have been learned! I am glad that you found us to be pet-friendly and environmentally aware - these are just a couple of the brand initiatives that separates the Aloft from many other hotels; we enthusiastically embrace it. We do hope that you will give us another try for a day's stay, or two. I am confident that you will find all that you expect to find and nothing less.

Thank you.

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    125
    65
    46
    39
See reviews for
85
88
64
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

An inexpensive hotel doesn't need to look dated and totally uncool. This was my first stay at aloft and would definitely stay with them again. The hotel was nicely designed and certainly a great to look at. The rooms were perfect for a weekend stay.

Pluses: nice hotel bar, lobby with pool table, nice patio, indoor pool, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, free wifi, complementary beverages, bliss spa toiletries, quiet location although near Dulles airport.

negatives: far out of DC and off of a toll road so consider this when booking, one elevator wasn't working but didn't impact us much, no hot tub. not much storage for clothes, just a closet, no drawers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftAnna, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. You got it exactly right - we are made of W Hotels DNA! Uber-chic but on a smaller scale, Aloft is trendy, sassy and technology-forward. We have something for everyone including inspirations of sight, sound, aroma, etc. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our amenities. Sounds like you are a loyal SPG guest with your comment about our great Bliss products! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aloft Dulles North in the near future.

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This hotel is in the middle of NO WHERE!! The only thing near it is a gas station.....it takes about 20-30mins. to reach it from Dulles. This is nothing like the advertisement of young, hip, modern, etc....this place is very nic, very modern but not young & certainly not a "Location" to be at. Only come here if you want to see "Betsy the Cow"....maybe good 4 someone from the midwest...they are use to open fields & nothing within MILES. City folks KEEP OUT!! :-)).....their is a hilton garden Inn directly beside the hotel......the sales office manages both properties. Hilton has a restuarant.....prices r HIGH, as usual. Gas station prices are HIGH.........u have no choice!!....nothing else is nearby. You hear every sound from the hallway. 1 good thing is FREE WIFI......thank god, otherwise you would have 2 play w Betsy! LOL

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftAnna, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your frank comments regarding your recent stay. We are "outside of the beltway" where development continues in full swing. Groundbreaking on a major urban-style, multi-use development took place just today while residents of a new community next door just began their move-in. We are most certainly on the precipice of much more to come, including our very own Metrorail station on the new Silver Line. Move over Betsy...growth is coming and soon! In the meantime, our close proximity to shopping, dining options and Dulles Airport make us a convenient location. Next time you come for a visit, we will show you even greater HSIA speeds, now rocket fast!

Thank you.

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

The staff at this hotel are excellent, and the value for what is provided is superb. Rooms are very clean and comfy but the pillows are very small.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftAnna, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks about your recent stay. We are quite proud of our team and our levels of service. You will ba glad to know that Starwood and Aloft Hotels do listen; they have recently changed their pillow specifications and hope that you will try us once again for an even better night's sleep! Thank you for choosing the Aloft Dulles North.

Anna Lyons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I love the openness of the lobby and the untraditional check in area. The rooms were excellent, clean and although the rooms may not have a large amount of square footage the layout lends itself to a spacious feel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftAnna, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
You said it all with your remark about being untraditional. This is evident throughout the property and we are quite proud! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future!

Anna Lyons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Love this hotel; sleek, modern...almost euro. Loved the open feel of the room. The only thing Thatwas a bummer was the shower. No one likes a puddle in there - they need to redesign them. Also there should be microwaves in every took. Its a small investmen that can be a deciding factor in choosing a hotel.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftAnna, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and the special features the Starwood Aloft offers. We are following up on your comments about the shower. We appreciate your bringing this to our attention. Live Life Aloft!

Anna Lyons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Rooms and public areas are well thought out for business travelers. Exercise room is well-kept and nice machines for cardio.
Dining is non-existent unless you want bar munchies. Only restaurant within walking distance is Hilton next door. I would NOT recommend that unless you are desperate. It was a fiasco.
Very convenient to Dulles and the telecom corridor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftAnna, General Manager at Aloft Dulles Airport North, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
We are pleased that you found our location to be good for your business needs, as well as convenient to the Dulles Technology Corridor. Our shuttle travels within a 5-mile radius and takes our guests to many great dining establishments, as well as to local businesses. This area is growing quickly and we expect to be able to offer more options soon. Thank you for your review!

Anna Lyons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dulles Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dulles Airport North

Address: 22390 Flagstaff Plaza, Ashburn, VA 20148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Ashburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ashburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dulles Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and comfortable, the Aloft Dulles Airport North offers complimentary airport shuttle service to/from Washington Dulles International Airport and is located near the Dulles Technology Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Dulles Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Ashburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dulles Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.