We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, simple, BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Brothers

Carolina Brothers
20702 Ashburn Road, Ashburn, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 181 Restaurants in Ashburn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good, simple, BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Carolina Brothers is a simple place that offers really good BBQ. They have daily specials and today we enjoyed mouth watering brisket with two sides of mac and cheese and potato salad. Others in the group had the pulled pork and pulled chicken sandwiches. All the meat was smoked to perfection and the selection of sauces made good even better. They have a great selection of cold beverages, candy, and desserts too. This is a great local establishment that is worth a visit. Food is reasonably priced and great for families.

Visited October 2013
Thank plazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stumbled into this bbq place twice now. The first time I was riding the washington & old dominion bike trail and this time we were just out for a drive and happened by. Nothing special just good barbeque. Exactly what you need if you are out for a bike ride or just driving around. I will stop again if i am in the neighborhood.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank CJ73198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was my son's bday and he wanted ribs. He likes the ribs at Applebees but it's a bit of a drive, so I thought we'd try Carolina Brothers right up the road from us instead. It's a smallish local place, which gave it a nice casual feel. Smelled great. Disappointment #1....out of ribs. :( They said next time we should call ahead if we're planning to have ribs. HMMM...not sure I want to have to call a restaurant to see if they actually have what they're advertising. But if they're out, then maybe they are really good. I try to encourage my boys to be flexible, so we stayed and opted for pulled pork sandwiches with a side of mac n cheese and baked beans. The sandwich was better than average. The sauce was a little thin and heavy on the vinegar for me. But I enjoyed it. Would have been nice if there were a spicy choice for the sauce...only one option for the sauce on the table. My boys also ate their sandwiches without any complaints...they said it was "good". But the mac and cheese was really bad...disappointment #2.....sticky rather than creamy or cheesy and very bland. My two boys took one bite and they were done. I tried adding some salt and pepper and even some bbq sauce, but it still wasn't good for me. The baked beans were also very basic....tasted a little burnt like the bottom of the pan maybe...my boys wouldn't even try it. BUT it did smell great and I'm seeing other good reviews here.....so we may give it another chance at some point.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank berrbiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I am from Carolina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recently visited a relative in D.C. area and went to this BBQ restaurant two times during the week. She tried to entertain with more upscale restaurants but after one trip I requested to go again. I found the site to be comfortable and the food great. Being from the South BBQ pork was my only choice, but relative ate the beef BBQ and praised it. With all the chain restaurants available in this area I found this quaint place to be just like a place hidden on a side road in North Carolina. (Eastern BBQ !)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't share your sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This sandwich is tooo goood to share... My husband said he did not want to share. Now I know why. It is truely GREAT!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank hillbarb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Brothers also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County

Been to Carolina Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing