We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can't Beat The Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Brothers

Carolina Brothers
20702 Ashburn Road, Ashburn, VA
703-729-7070
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 149 restaurants in Ashburn
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You Can't Beat The Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location is in the original Ashburn village. The building is next to the WO&D bike trail so it is a great stop when biking in the area. Plainly decorated, so don't expect much atmosphere but the food is great. Where can you get a pulled pork sandwich and two sides for 7.95? They also have ribs. Sometimes they have beef brisket, collard greens, or some other special for the day. The staff is friendly and the food is great. I would recommend stopping by Carolina Brothers if you are in the area and like barbeque.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    19
    25
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Get ready to "fork" over some "dough" for very little.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Took the missus her for dinner one night as we heard rave reviews of this place. We both love NC BBQ and this place has it! We both had the BBQ and it was really good, pure NC BBQ. The sides weren't that great (Mac n cheese) was cold and formed into a solid brick on the plate.

Had a wide assortment of beverage's (yes Cheerwine) which was nice. They even had a sign the displayed the poor pigs name and birth town so you know who you were eating and where it was brought up.

The atmosphere mirrored that of a restaurant I go to in KDH called High Cotton. It has that old timey southern feel, very nice while eating NC BBQ.

The only issue I had was the price. A sandwich and a side was over $6, no drink included. The portioning for the sides were "ok" but the BBQ was conservative.

The price alone will keep me far from this place.

It's a shame but I'd rather spend an extra few dollars and go across the street to mediterrean breeze and get a complete meal.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Authentic BBQ for miles and miles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great spot, great building, great food, great service. What more could you ask for? Prices are very reasonable and you can't beat the flavor. Beef brisket, when available, is a must try. Staff is wonderful too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Vinegary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had lunch there today, and I got the pulled pork sandwich with mac and cheese. The pork was ok, but I made the mistake of puting their BBQ sauce on it, and it was very vinegary, not sweet at all as I'd hoped. The mac and cheese was pretty bland, and didn't have a nice crispy top like I like with my BBQ. Cornbread was pretty good though!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome place for a Sunday lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Ashburn park just around the corner makes this place a treat after letting the kid play At the park near by enjoy some ribs at the brothers.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Brothers also viewed

Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
Ashburn, Loudoun County

Been to Carolina Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Brothers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.