We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai Food outside Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Siam

Thai Siam
4137 Tye Brook Highway, Arrington, VA 22922
434-263-8577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Arrington
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Lynchburg,VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food outside Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Indescribable, exquisite, absolutely mind-blowing food that keeps you wanting more! I am very, very particular about going out to eat and seldom am impressed; however, this place is the best food that I have ever had........period. The owner is at times tempermental but she was absolutely delightful and fun on the Saturday that we went- June 15,2013. My husband and I were so delighted that we have made a pact to make the trip from Lynchburg to Thai Siam every month. This is something we have never been compelled to do before with ANY restaurant.
Make sure that you call ahead because if the owner is not in a good mood, she will literally tell you to leave! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!!!!!! We would also advise you to come hungry so you can try a variety of dishes. All are simply and utterly outstanding!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Hard to rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have eaten, or tried to eat there many times over the last 2 years. The food is outstanding, as good as any we have eaten. The service leaves a lot to be desired. Went there for lunch at 12:00 noon, and was told to go away, they got there late and were not ready to serve. went there one night for dinner at 6:00, door was unlocked, open sign was there, told to go away, they were closed. If you can get in, the food is worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quirky but excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Green curry chicken, drunken noodles, masaman chicken, dumplings! YUM! But this is a really small establishment and you have to call in your order WAY in advance. And even then you aren't guaranteed you'll be able to get food -- they get booked up or run out of food. But the food is definitely worth the quirkiness.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai food anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The food is delicious. I try Thai where ever I go. This place is close to home and is better than any other Thai I've had anywhere. It is in the middle of nowhere and is so unexpected if you haven't been before. It is absolutely my favorite Thai food place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GREAT Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Small wayside restaurant with fabulous Thai food. Easiest to call before to order (even for eat-in) and to be sure of operating hours.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Siam also viewed

Been to Thai Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.