We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

I stayed here for a few nights and it was terrific. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the airport and the local mall which lets you get into D.C. very quickly. The staff is friendly and the restaurant is surprisingly good! The gym is small but fantastic and the rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. The beds are great too.

The only downsides were finding a candy lying under my bed as I was checking out and the fact they don't have free wireless - come on guys - it's a business hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    289
    118
    62
    40
See reviews for
170
145
52
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I booked this hotel at Hotwire for a weekend trip to DC in January, 2010. On Hotwire it is listed as a 3.5 star property in Arlington that can be booked for $55-$60 per night this winter. I got it for $53/night plus taxes ($61.50 out the door).

For that price, this is a good deal; in fact, it's probably unbeatable in the DC area.

The main thing to consider if you're depending on public transit to get around is the hotel shuttle, which runs to the Pentagon City metro station on the half hour. It picks up there twice an hour, too (at 15 minutes and 45 minutes past the hour). Personally, I found this acceptable in January weather, and so I expect during the spring, summer and fall it would be even less of an issue. The hotel also runs shuttles to Reagan airport. For those who haven't used the metro, from the Pentagon City Station it is only about a 10-15 minute trip into DC, depending on your destination. Again, for the money saved over a hotel right in DC, this is no big deal to me.

The lobby is quite nice, there is an internet area with wi-fi service, along with desktop stations. The hotel will charge you $12-13/night for wi-fi from your room, which I find way too pricey. But with free wi-fi in the lobby, it's only a minor hassle to do my surfing from down there.

I didn't eat at the on-site restaurant because the prices were too high - typical hot breakfast meals cost $12 and up. They do brew Starbucks coffee in the mornings and early afternoons at the bar next to the internet/computer lounge, along with muffins and danish.

I had a look in at the fitness facilities, and they're better than average. The rooftop pool was small, as I expected it would be, but it looked like it was well maintained.

My room was no. 614, and it was designed for wheelchair patrons, so the shower was not typical. Overall, the room was clean and comfortable, the mattress was firm and the temperature control system was responsive.

I plan to stay here again in April, and now that I know what my $60/night buys me, I'm very satisfied to be returning.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

First of all I want to dispute previous reviews on issues like water pressure (its fantasic), the staff (they are very helpful), the neighborhood (its not all that bad), the location (for DC its great, for local restaurants and the mall, pretty close just not walking distance), the pool ( warm and clean with a lifeguard). They have a good happy hour special in the bar weeknights, free internet downstairs with 5 computers and a printer for free, you can park in one of about 6 metered spots on the street, its free on weekends and save yourself the $20 parking fee per night. We had a group and they put us on the same floor and got us all doubles. Rooms that are even numbered face the city, above the 6th floor are the best views. The views out the odd rooms are not that horrible. This place is so convenient, easy to get right into DC, literally minutes. Very friendly and helpful staff. Go down the street to the 24 hr. diner for a good diner meal. (b-fast especially).

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Booked over New Years for a few nights for $69 and was upgraded to club level and complementary parking due to gold status. Room was much nicer compared to Atlantis room (Coral Towers) which we stayed earlier this year.

Pros: Well appointed hotel, wonderful bed, good variety for breakfast (eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, yogurt, fruit, Tazo tea, coffee, cereal) if on club level. Shuttle to/from Metro ran often. Maid service done well, Bliss toiltries, updated rooms, roof-top pool (but with limited hours). Early check in and late check out from gold status too. Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea in room.

Cons: If rate was not so low, would have not been happy with club level food not replenished including coffee, paper cups, muffins, fruit as a result of being understaffed. Food in restaurant medicore and expensive ($4.95 for glass of juice, coffee, side b-fast meat) for the equlivant of an Applebees. No service on club level on weekends.

Wedding was on 16th floor and did not hear a peep as well as other rooms around us. All staff friendly except bar server who was curt and not friendly at all as if we were bothering him.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I had been very dissapointed with the front desk service. At arrival I requested extra towels, I never got them, there was a very bad odorcoming from the bathroom hall that even after I sprayed Lysol I never get rid of it, The location was ok but the parking lot it is very insecure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

This is a great business hotel, conveniently located near Reagan Airport. The room was spacious and clean, the meeting facilities were great, and the hotel had a wonderful restaurant. The hotel shuttle drops you off at the Metro Stop if you would like to head to downtown DC. Stellar Internet station in the lobby. Perfect for a business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We had a great one-day stay at the Sheraton National. We found a fantastic price of $99 for a weekday night, and when we arrived at the hotel, we basically figured out why: the place was practically empty, which was nice because it kept everything peaceful and quiet for such a bustling area.

It appeared that there was quite a bit of work going on in the conference part of the hotel, and they didn't seem to do much to hide some of the work (when driving in, the construction makes it look like a tornado went through). Our room's hallway was a little disappointing - it smelled like Chlorine and had scuff marks all over the wall near the floor. The lobby, however, is quite nice. The rooms are very nicely appointed for the price, and had a generous amount of space. The other person traveling with me complained the water pressure was a little weak; although it may have just been our particular shower head. This hotel features the Sweet Sleeper Beds.

Beyond the room, we had lunch in the hotel restaurant, which was well appointed but very expensive. The pool was locked, so I was not able to use it. The fitness center had an abundant amount of machines.

As other posters stated, this hotel definitely is not very suitable for people who want to walk places. However, downtown is quite close (took us around 12 min. in AM traffic). Overall, there are definitely not any major complaints, and we hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.