We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel even with several tour groups staying.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Bruno
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel even with several tour groups staying.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed because it was a good price with free parking and wifi. Room was very comfy. Towels, soaps, and lotions were very nice. Sink outside shower/toilet area. Good TV with good channel selection. We attempted to eat in their restaurant but with the AC it was FREEZING so we left before ordering. Enclosed pool on roof with lifeguard--go up and take a look at the view. Only two people working the front desk and had to wait maybe 20 mins to check in and check out. Here it is summer and they can't put more people on the desk? This was not a way to impress someone here for the first time. Would stay again if I got a great deal again.

Room Tip: You have to pay more for a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    323
    142
    69
    44
See reviews for
203
166
65
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

the beds....and that's all,internet? have to pay........make a call for pizza? breakfast?...have to pay.....parking lot.....have to pay, or, you can let the car outside, I DARE YOU! ahh, no hot tub, just pool, the carpets, dirty in most places, ahhh, i forgot, you want your room clean? please call to make your room, this is the truth, you know if you stay here or not, if you go a couple of blocks to arlington, you see lot of options, with restaurants around, and the price i dont think is much different

Room Tip: si se van a quedar aqui, que les den tarifa que incluya al menos desayuno y wifi, sino opciones en a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback about your recent visit. I can see that you were frustrated by the additional charges which are common for a hotel in the area of Washington D.C and for that I am sorry. In order to provide the best value we give our guests the option for paying for services they wish to use rather than include them in our rate. Of course we also do offer breakfast, internet and parking packages which can be included for just one price but many people prefer the value of our least expensive rates. As you noted our carpets are worn and you will be happy to know we have already replaced half the building with the rest to be done by the end of August. We know you have a lot of options when visiting the area and hope you find our value and services to your liking so you will continue to come back. I am sure you won’t find a better place.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We went to the Shereton to drop off my son for a summer leadership camp. The hotel was very busy with soldiers being honored down the block at the Pentagon. It was a treat to see all the honorees in the lobby. We were desperate for a room and Ranjit at the front desk saw how desperate we were to get a room. Even though the hotel was packed Ranjit made it happen. He went over and beyond to find us a room last minute at a great price. He was very understanding. Also, we ate in the hotel restaurant and ordered food. When the waitress realized they were out of steak tacos that I ordered and waited for, the restaurant manager came out and took care of the whole problem. He made our dinner fabulous. He was so hospitable and friendly. We even came down to eat breakfast and he greeted us like real guests. The food was good.

Green Features: I love how they had recycle bins in the hotel room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words about your visit. The hotel was honored to be the host hotel for the Medal of Honor recipient and along with the leadership program it made for a hotel that was fully booked. I am glad to see we were able to get you in and that you had a nice visit. Of course our aim is to earn a 5 star review and judging by your visit we should have made it. Hopefully next time we can do something more extraordinary! Thank you again for your kind words.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Nicole and Ranjit were at the front desk when we checked in. They were so sincere and helpful especially considering the late hour which we checked in. There was a broken pipe and our room was not ready, I would have been upset but they were so nice that I didn't mind waiting and talking with them. The rooms were clean, there is a nice breakfast and Starbucks coffee in the room. I know where I will stay when I return to the DC area and where I will recommend my friends and family thanks to the staff.
Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

After terrible service in a close by Virginia hotel, we were able to book a last min room at the Sheraton . Glad we did!! All thought the rooms are very basic hotel was CLEAN and updated. Staff overly accommodating and we had all the am amenities we are used to. Hotel was kid friendly, had a small shop for snacks souviners and TOOTHPASTE that we somehow forgot. We booked thru Travelocity and the rate was very reasonable. Additionally we we're able to see the Washington monument and the pentagon for out windo. I would stay again.

Room Tip: You have to buy the wifi and pay for parking theses were the only downfalls of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your comments about your recent visit. I am glad we were able to turn things around and make your vacation a memorable one. You can be sure we will always be there for our guests and we hope you will visit again so that we can earn a 5 star review on your next trip.

Warmest Regards,
Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We are Starwood members so we primarily stay at Sheraton properties when we travel. As far as the physical property, this was fine. It was clean, the rooms were sized well and the lobby is nice bright and attractive. However, the service was extremely lacking at this hotel. The staff were nice but not very helpful. If you just need a reasonably priced place to stay, this is FINE - not great or good but fine.
The CLUB lounge is adequate. There is a coffee machine and water and sodas available throughout the day. The breakfast was sufficient and the nighttime snacks are good and generous. Since we didn't pay very much for the upgrade to club level, it was definitely worth the value of having coffee and a light breakfast in the morning.
If you can get a good rate, I do recommend this hotel but beware the service is not at the same level as other Starwood resorts.

The details of our stay are specific to us and may not apply to someone else . However, I know the management should be aware of our experience so here you go:
We checked in late afternoon after traveling much of the day. We just wanted to get our keys, get into our room and relax for a bit. We went up to our room and the keys didn't work. We called down to the lobby to ask for help getting into our room. They said they would send someone up. After ten minutes of standing in the hall outside our door with no help, we went downstairs for help. We were told someone was coming right up. The manager finally arrived and let us in. It is understandable that there may sometimes be problems. It turned out there was a storm the day before and a power outage reset some of the system according to the manager. We were told it would be fixed while we were out and to get new keys when we returned from dinner that night as we were going back out soon.
We returned to the hotel, got new keys at the desk, went up to our room and again the keys didn't work. Again, we went back down to get new keys.
Finally we got new keys and we could get into our room. I am aware there are always issues that can be a problem and it is not the staff's fault that the door doesn't work. However, the lack of interest in helping resolve the problem was what sat poorly with me.
After the hiccup, someone at the hotel did offer us a small accomodation in the form of bonus points of our account. That was appreciated but I would have preferred not to have the problem in the first place. Or, it would have been nicer if when we first could not get into our room , if it would have been a priority to get us into our room quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback about your visit. I want to apologize that our locking system for the doors was not in proper working condition and that our staff did not show the proper sense of urgency to resolve the problem. You can be sure we will immediately follow up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed. As you noted our staff did provide you with a complimentary upgrade to our club lounge which has great value and for the trouble I am glad to see they offered additional loyalty points which as you know can be used for free stays all over the world at Starwood hotels. Again, thanks so much for sharing and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Came for the week to see the smithsonians and decided to stay at the pentagon city. The location was great only a ten minute maximium drive to everything in the city. The room was also gorgeous. We had a large room with a beautiful view of DC. Very clean and comfortable. However, when paying almost 300$ a night for a hotel you expect more than just a clean room. Everytime I had to ask the front desk a question it seemed like a chore to them. Also when checking in I had confirmed with the lady at the front desk i wanted to pay cash at the end, she told me this was okay. At the end of our stay (4 days later) i went to pay only to find out they had already charged my card and "could not do anything about it now". Overall service was awful (dinner at the restaurant took over an hour, waitress did not come to table once to check-in, cleaning staff came in room early in the mornings when we were still there, front desk was rude etc.) also note everything is extra.. parking, wifi, a mini fridge, microwave, everything is charged per day extra even though you are already paying so much to begin with. Beautiful room but not worth it in the end.

One other plus besides the room: shuttle to pentagon city is convenient

Green Features: Good. They offer 5$ a day to not change towels and sheets etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your experience about your recent visit. I want to apologize that the hotel staff did not live up to our Sheraton standards and we truly appreciate your feedback. A good stay starts with being greeted by warm and friendly staff that are well trained and put guest comfort first. I am sorry we let you down. All of our guests are always welcome to pay cash at checkout, however at check in we do require authorization from your credit card company. This authorization although not fully charged will show up on your account but will be removed once you have checked out and your transaction is completed. Our service staff does start during the week as early as 8am and we always recommend that guests use the privacy sign so we do not disturb them when they are not ready. Regardless of these things, all of our staff should provide friendly and efficient service in all of our departments. You can be sure we will analyze and improve our efforts so that others are not disappointed. On a more positive note, I am glad you were happy with our location and quality of our rooms but as you know we have some work to do. Again, thanks so much for letting us know of your concerns as they are ours as well. Please stay with us again so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Warmest Regards,

Steve W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Arlington
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Starwood, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.