We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Sheraton Pentagon City from 11/24/13 to 11/27/13. We were in town to visit my wife's mother for Thanksgiving and stayed at the hotel for a few days prior to going to the mother in law's house.

The hotel in general seemed to be maintained pretty well. The common areas were all clean and well appointed, as was our room. Housekeeping kept the room clean and always had a supply of clean towels for us. The only complaint I had about the room was that the bed caused me some back pain. This is not the fault of the hotel though, as the bed was a fairly soft inner spring mattress. My bed at home is a very firm temperpedic mattress on a platform bed. The difference was just a little much for my back to handle.

As for the amenities at the hotel, they seem to cater a lot to business travelers. They have conference rooms and meeting areas which we did not have occasion to use. The top floor of the hotel has an indoor pool, and also allows for great views of the Washington D.C. area. The hotels restaurant, The Potomac, is on the ground floor just down from the lobby. We did try the restaurant for breakfast one morning. They offer both a breakfast buffet and individual dishes. I found the restaurant to be a bit pricy for what it was, but most restaurants in the area are.

The hotel is also only about a mile away from Pentagon Row. This area offers a lot of different shopping and dining options. Arlington Cemetery is just down the road, although if you want to actually visit the cemetery you have to enter from the other side. It does take a few minutes to get to all of the tourist attractions in Washington, but we didn't find this to be an issue. And if you are flying into Reagan airport, the hotel is only about 10 minutes away.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. The stay and the service is definitely worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors offer great views of the Washington area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    300
    127
    64
    41
See reviews for
180
152
59
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The immediate location of the hotel has some construction but the shuttle to the metro gives you easy access to the city and the views from the rooms of the city are amazing. We were here for a work meeting and the staff is exceptional. They were attentive, friendly, helpful and there were plenty of them around to help and direct our guests. I thought the rooms were nice, the bed was great. They did a really good job on the food as well. With the shuttles to the airport, metro and mall, this is a nice reasonable alternative to stay in DC. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the side with the view of the city. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights on business. Had a wonderful king room with a city view. Bed was comfortable, HVAC worked well. All was clean and pleasant. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I couldn't get the TV remote to work and called the front desk. They had a technician come up within a few minutes and he quickly resolved the issue. I ate breakfast in the restaurant--very nice buffet and had wine and an appetizer at the bar one night. Again, great service and good food. I would definitely recommend it to others. I also used the shuttle service and they were prompt and courteous.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I just attended a business conference with 450 of my colleagues. Some highlights from this particular property is definitely their staff. Most all employees that I encountered were friendly, attentive and hospitable. The food was great! Serving this large of a crowd could be overwhelming, but this hotel pulled it off. Excellent crowd control such as manually operating the elevators, adding additional shuttles and making sure there was staff available to make it all run smooth. The hotel bed was comfortable, but starting to give signs of age - tilted to one side. One hiccup: Internet was spotty.

All in all: great hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I'm writing this review in the cold, drafty lobby. Not in my quiet room. Not in the bar where I just bought an $8 beer. In the lobby because it is the only place in the hotel where internet ... even for 2 minutes ... doesn't cost $12. Parking is $22. Really? Why don't they start charging for TV cable and hot water!?

Room Tip: Room 813 is on the traffic side - NOISY. Ask for a room on the other side of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Rhfany,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with us during your recent stay at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I am sorry and disappointed that your stay fell short of your expectations. We do have a pricing structure that is very competitive in the Arlington/D.C. Metro market but I do understand that sometimes additional pricing can be a bit frustrating as I have experienced with the Airlines.

As I am sure you are an experienced traveler, you may want to look into package deal as many hotels offer value added inclusive pricing options that some Guests like to take advantage of.

Again, thank you for your feedback as it will help us gain additional understand our Guests needs.

Best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I recently stayed here for a business training. The staff were wonderful. When I arrived I realized there was not a fridge in the room and as a nursing mom I needed somewhere to store my milk. Within minutes they delivered a fridge. Everyone was very accommodating throughout the weekend and always welcoming and trying to help. The room was decent and had all the basics. Short drive into the city and had shuttles to and from the airport.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaplan, Louisiana, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed for the Marine Corps Marathon. Was suprised to see that you are not able to walk many places. Freeways surround hotel so you are only able to walk in surrounding neighborhood. Only saw one eating establishment within walking distance. You are no more than a mile from the Pentagon, Arlington cemetary and Pentagon City but you must take a taxi to any of those places. I did not drive in but I did not see many places to park either. Nearby Pentagon City has a mall, large selection of eating establishments, and metra access which will take you anywhere in DC once you become comfotable using it. It was an adequate hotel for my purpose. It you have business in DC though, I would stay closer. Hotel staff were very helpful but the hotel guest info desk was never occupied. You always had to ask the front desk staff for help. Room was ok as I stayed on the 2nd floor which was street level. From past reviews, get a room higher up and the view is great. I was out of luck due to late arrival and the hotel being full of other runners. Street level was very noisy with traffic, motocycles and late night parties. Room was clean, AC worked fine, and bed was very comfortable. Just plan your stay to your need of location.

Room Tip: Do not get street level if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Arlington
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.