We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Door Man in Arlington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Best Door Man in Arlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel was nice, I enjoyed the room. We reserved several conference rooms, at least one was a freezer, while others were hotter than a sauna. If you need anything, however, the door man, Haile Asmamaw, will be more than eager to help you with a smile. His attitude instantly put me in a good mood and enhanced my stay. It's the little things!

Room Tip: Request room with a view of the district
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear TMESQ, thank you so much for taking the time to recognize Asmamaw as an outstanding Asscoiate at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I will make sure that he receives the appropriate recognition for being an outstanding Associate.

I do apologize for the inconsistency of our HVAC system as each room does have their own HVAC unit and controls but I have asked our Chief Engineer to ensure that all units are working properly since they are all less than two years old.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    263
    107
    56
    37
See reviews for
150
132
49
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business. It is a nice, clean, comfortable hotel and lives up to the Sheraton standards. It is quite a busy hotel that always seems to have large groups staying there, so plan accordingly. The airport shuttle runs on a schedule every 30 min. so plan for that adjustment as well. The staff has always been really nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear freetofly123, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am ploeased that you had a great stay and enjoyed all that we have to offer especially our convenient transportation to and from Reagan National Airport.

Thanks again and I hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The north facing rooms have an outstanding view of the major sites of DC. The shuttle to and from Pentagon City mall also makes travel into the city much easier. The service throughout was the highlight, especially Mr. Haile who was so helpful and pleasant in assisting my pregnant wife during checkout.

Room Tip: Our room on the 10th floor, north side had a great view of the major DC sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Traveler L, thanks you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I am pleased that you had a great stay and enjoyed the great views of Washington D.C. from your room. Also, thank you for recognizing Mr. Haile for his great service and I will make sure that he receives special recognition for his efforts.

Congratulations on your soon-to-be arrival and we haop to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were part of a group of 56 adults and children on Memorial weekend. Our tour group placed us at the hotel. Upon inspection, we noticed the filthy rug, and the hair in the bathroom and on the blow dryer. My husband and I checked the bedding and found the sheets to be stained with which appeared to be blood on one bed and a huge stain on the comforter of the second bed. We called house keeping (with difficulty because the telephone had no information on it) who asked us to call for a manager. The housekeeper was appalled, her manager was appalled, both evening hotel managers were appalled. We had to wait almost an hour to get a clean room on the fourth floor where we were all staying.

Breakfast buffet was part of our tour package. We were in a small room on the garage level. On the second day going to breakfast, we were told that management "scolded" us because we did not "clean" our tables the day before. Are you kidding me? We had to hand our plates, cups, napkins and such to the one staff member who stood by the garbage can. I've never had this happen at any hotel that I've ever stayed at.

After a day of touring the beautiful DC area, the children wanted to go for a swim. Unfortunately, the life guard decided to leave his post 1/2 hour prior to the normal pool closure time, so we had to go to the front desk to notify them that the pool was closed. Thankfully, the life guard was at the front desk so he had to go upstairs and open the pool. The pool was clean, but had a very strong chlorine smell in the air.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear O&Msmom, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our during your recent group trip to the Washington D.C. area. I cannot begin to tell you how disappointed I was when I read your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel. This is simply unacceptable and I have addressed these issues with the Team on the property. I was glad that our Housekeeping Management Team was personally involved in correcting the situation but this should have never been an issue in the first place. I sincerely apologize to you and your family for this experience. We typically perform well in the cleaniliness of the hotel but we sure fell short for your stay.

I have also address the service issue with our Banquet Team as this is definately not our standard of service. We did find one individual who was "cutting corners" so have corrected this issue also.

Again, thank you for taking the time to inform us on our shortcomings so we had the opportunity to correct them. I hope your overall visit to D.C. was fun, exciting and informative.

Best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed for business and while it was fine, I don't think it was worth the price. The people were very polite and I really liked that they had a shuttle to get from the hotel to the closest metro stop (which also happens to be Crystal City Mall). The restaurant menu was shockingly tiny (much smaller than room service, which makes no sense to me), but the food was good.

Green Features: There's a $5 voucher if you don't have housekeeping wash your sheets.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear FuhTeng, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and found our Associates to be very polite. I was also pleased to read that you took advantage of our shuttle service to the Pentagon Mall & Metro Station along with stops at the Pentagon Row Entertainment complex.

I agree with you that our menu is too small and we are in the process of developing new menus with many more options that we anticipate a early September launch.

Thanks again and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent the last 3 nights at the Sheraton National, now called the Sheraton Pentagon City, on Orme Street in Arlington. We are in DC 2 or 3 times a year and always stay there. It is convenient, and frequently they have weekend specials, although not this past weekend, since they were full for the Memorial Day Weekend, with an 800 guest Indian wedding in the house.
But, always find their accomadations and hospitality excellent, and the bed was wonderful.
Wish they had free wifi, but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Dave-Marilyn-15301, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stays at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I was so pleased to read that you stay here several times a year and enjoy our great location and all that the hotel has to offer. We really appreciate your loyalty when you come to the Washington D.C. area so we can talk about the wifi when you come on your next visit as maybe we can have a chance to meet in person - I sure hope so!

Thanks again and best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Once again, CY, the evening front desk manager went out of his way to get the perfect room for me and Asmamaw keep a smile on his face as he loaded and unloaded my "rolling home". Every one in the restaurant, including Dennis, the manager made me feel welcome again. The folks at this hotel are relationship-driven. Thanks for always making me feel at home! Again three special employees made my stay seamless.

Room Tip: The city view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear ANG1307, I cannot begin to tell you how pleased I was to read that our Associates have made your visits feel a bit special as that is the most important aspect of a hotel stay inj my opinion. I will make sure that CY, Amamaw & Dennis receive some special recognition for their efforts as they perform so well in creating the relationships with our Guests!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and I hope I have an opportunity to meet you the next time you are at the hotel.

Thanks again and best regards, SPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#25 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.