We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel/Okay area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel/Okay area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is overall pretty nice inside. It's nothing to write home about in terms of accommodations, but it serves it's purpose. I stayed here with a group of 8th graders so I didn't have anything to complain about since I didn't pay for it. The one concerning thing is the neighborhood that surrounds it. Definitely not the nicest/best area. There was an abandoned government building a couple blocks away where our bus driver was pointing out all the bullet holes in the wall and windows. That brings the safe factor of the hotel down for me.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room above the second floor. Then your not at street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Kevin K,

Thanks for sharing your experience about your stay at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I give you a lot of credit for making a trip with a large group of eighth graders! I hope they had a lot of fun.

We do sit near a small, local neighborhood and although the houses are a bit old, it is very safe and quiet nighborhood as it backs up to Fort Myers and Camp Henderson along with the large Naval Annex that is in process of being demolished. To the best of my knowledge, any holes in the old Naval Annex are from the demolition process. With the Pentagon less than a mile from the hotel and Fort Myers/Camp Henderson being 100 yards away, there is not any such activity that takes place in this small neighborhood. The Naval Annex is being demolished to make room to expand the Arlington National Cemetary (located adjecent to the hotel) which will be completed by the end of the summer.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope that you consider staying with us on your next trip back to the Washington D.C. area.

Best regards, RobSPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    289
    117
    62
    40
See reviews for
170
145
52
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I just spent two nights at this great hotel. The room was absolutely spotless. The front desk comped parking and breakfast for us just because! The breakfast buffet was very good. The hotel ran a shuttle to and from the Metro every half hour so once we parked our car we never had to use it. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Marks1Babe,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I was very pleased to read that you had a great stay and enjoy not only the property, but the great location to downtown Washington D.C. and the Metro. I was also glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet as we just addded several items to the buffet a week or so before your arrival.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards, RobSPCGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a good example of "corporate blah". There is nothing really outstanding about the physical plant at all. The rooms are clean and ordinary. The restaurant is what I would expect from a hotel. The amenities are geared toward the business traveler. We did have a room on the 12th floor with a stunning view of Washington D.C.. We ate in the hotel restaurant three times, twice at night and one breakfast (one has to drive or take a shuttle to any other options). We also attended a lunch in one of the catered rooms on the 16th floor. All were acceptable if pricey. The best thing about this place is the employees. Universally, from check in to check out, we found everyone to be cheerful and helpful and that made all the difference. The shuttle worked fairly well except for the one time we got stranded at the Metro stop for 45 minutes in the cold. The rest of the time it ran on clock work and we used it several times. Again, the drivers were helpful and cheerful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high and on the city side for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear parkwife,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying with us. I am so please to hear that our staff was so cheerful and helpful during your stay. I do apologize for havinig to wait for a shuttle as they are usually very reliable and dependable.

Again, thank you and I hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As you can guess by the title, the food in my opinion is a big concern. For a hotel this size, it has only one restaurant and it is very pricey. We were with a Veterans group for a reunion, and this was the basic opinion of most of the people. Because of the actual location of the hotel, there aren't any other restaurants within walking distance, which(in my opinion) is the way most people choose to get around when visiting a city. You can't just call a cab and ask to be driven to the closest restaurant! On a good note, the hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the views from the banquet rooms are simply amazing. In general, the staff was very helpful. We did however have a few concerns involving housekeeping. On one of the days the staff was cleaning the room, my husband had to return to it to retrieve something. When he got to the room, he found the door had been propped open and the maid was in a completely different room. When he saw this he questioned her and was told that she did that because she had not yet vaccummed. How easy would it have been for ANY guest to simply walk into our room and take a cell phone, a laptop or anything else they wanted. Also, when the room was cleaned on Saturday, there were no hand towels or a bath mat left. I called to get them sent up. When we checked out on Sunday, they still had not arrived.
Also, on a good note, the shuttle service to the Metro stop and the airport is a great help, except they could use bigger buses.

Room Tip: We had an odd number room which offered no view at all of Washington DC points of interest. Guess th...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear justjanh,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay with your Veterans group. It was certainly an honor to host your event (as we host many military events being so close to the Pentagon) as we are so proud of all of the Veterans who have serve our country.

We have just hired a new Executive Chef and once he gets settled into his position, we will be changing the concept of our restaurnat with a complete new menu and directional change of our cuisine that we feel will better serve our Guests. We hope to have this completed by the summer season.

Although there are not any restaurants in our very immediate area, our shuttle leaves every half an hour to Pentagon Row (located next to the Pentagon Mall) which has about 20 different restaurants and bars that many of our Guests take advantage of since it is only a two minute ride from the hotel.

Again, thank you for staying with us but most of all, thank you for your service to our country.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here Easter weekend on a Groupon deal. Hotel was nice but just average. Parking situation was very confusing. Shuttle driver spoke little English and could not answer questions about the area. Breakfast buffet was excellent and fortunately was included in our Groupon deal. Room was clean. No refrigerator or microwave.

Room Tip: We were given a 'quiet' room which overlooked the air conditioning units that kicked on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear kelly c,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I was a bit disappointed that your stay was "just OK" as we stride to make everyone's stay exceptional. If there is an opportunity to have you stay here again in the future, please contact me directly and I will personnally oversee your reservation.

Again, thank you - best regards, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My rating for this hotel is actually more like 3.5/5 rather than 3, but I couldn't quite bring myself to give it 4. The hotel itself is in kind of hard-to-get-to location, though I found the hotel shuttle to run frequently and reliably to both the Pentagon City Metro stop and Reagan National Airport. Rooms are relatively well-appointed and acceptably clean (though not exceptionally so). Staff were helpful when called upon, and facilities were decent (though the ceiling in the hotel gym was so low that I found myself hitting it while on the treadmill!). All in all, this place was certainly worth the amount I paid on Priceline given the extremely high room rates in D.C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear mesocycclone2011,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us while staying at the Sheraton Pentagon City. Being relatively new to the D.C. area, driving can be a bit confusing in this area but I am starting to find my way around. I am glad that you took advantage of our great transportation that can get you to the DC Metro, Pentagon City Mall, Reagan Airport and many of the great local restaurants and bars that saves you from having to use your vehicle while staying with us.

Again, thanks and I hope we have an opportunitiy to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton Pentagon City is perched above the skyline of the Nation's Capitol with incredible views of DC. The newly renovated rooms are spacious and well appointed. The beds make sleeping a wonderful experience. It's more upscale than the average Sheraton. It's just across the river from DC, but the views and the elegance and space of the rooms make it an excellent value and choice. The food is good. You can easily get into DC using either the 14th Street Bridge or the Memorial Bridge. If you're doing business at the Pentagon or in Arlington, the location is excellent. If you're a shopper, one of the best malls in the area, Pentagon City Mall, is 10 minutes away and it has a large food court and an organic restaurant with good food. If you're flying into Reagan National this isn't too far. Overall if you're in town to see the city, the view from the above average rooms, is worth the price and the trip across the bridge.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the side facing DC and on the highest floor you can get. The views at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear WDC2012,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience at the Sheraton Pentagon City. We do believe that we have one of the best, if not the best view of downtown Washington D.C., Arlington National Cememtary and the Pentagon.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and I hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Arlington
#16 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.