We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$15.00 Hamburger!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Louis, Mo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“$15.00 Hamburger!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As you can guess by the title, the food in my opinion is a big concern. For a hotel this size, it has only one restaurant and it is very pricey. We were with a Veterans group for a reunion, and this was the basic opinion of most of the people. Because of the actual location of the hotel, there aren't any other restaurants within walking distance, which(in my opinion) is the way most people choose to get around when visiting a city. You can't just call a cab and ask to be driven to the closest restaurant! On a good note, the hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the views from the banquet rooms are simply amazing. In general, the staff was very helpful. We did however have a few concerns involving housekeeping. On one of the days the staff was cleaning the room, my husband had to return to it to retrieve something. When he got to the room, he found the door had been propped open and the maid was in a completely different room. When he saw this he questioned her and was told that she did that because she had not yet vaccummed. How easy would it have been for ANY guest to simply walk into our room and take a cell phone, a laptop or anything else they wanted. Also, when the room was cleaned on Saturday, there were no hand towels or a bath mat left. I called to get them sent up. When we checked out on Sunday, they still had not arrived.
Also, on a good note, the shuttle service to the Metro stop and the airport is a great help, except they could use bigger buses.

Room Tip: We had an odd number room which offered no view at all of Washington DC points of interest. Guess th...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear justjanh,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay with your Veterans group. It was certainly an honor to host your event (as we host many military events being so close to the Pentagon) as we are so proud of all of the Veterans who have serve our country.

We have just hired a new Executive Chef and once he gets settled into his position, we will be changing the concept of our restaurnat with a complete new menu and directional change of our cuisine that we feel will better serve our Guests. We hope to have this completed by the summer season.

Although there are not any restaurants in our very immediate area, our shuttle leaves every half an hour to Pentagon Row (located next to the Pentagon Mall) which has about 20 different restaurants and bars that many of our Guests take advantage of since it is only a two minute ride from the hotel.

Again, thank you for staying with us but most of all, thank you for your service to our country.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    263
    108
    56
    37
See reviews for
151
132
49
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here Easter weekend on a Groupon deal. Hotel was nice but just average. Parking situation was very confusing. Shuttle driver spoke little English and could not answer questions about the area. Breakfast buffet was excellent and fortunately was included in our Groupon deal. Room was clean. No refrigerator or microwave.

Room Tip: We were given a 'quiet' room which overlooked the air conditioning units that kicked on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear kelly c,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay at the Sheraton Pentagon City. I was a bit disappointed that your stay was "just OK" as we stride to make everyone's stay exceptional. If there is an opportunity to have you stay here again in the future, please contact me directly and I will personnally oversee your reservation.

Again, thank you - best regards, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My rating for this hotel is actually more like 3.5/5 rather than 3, but I couldn't quite bring myself to give it 4. The hotel itself is in kind of hard-to-get-to location, though I found the hotel shuttle to run frequently and reliably to both the Pentagon City Metro stop and Reagan National Airport. Rooms are relatively well-appointed and acceptably clean (though not exceptionally so). Staff were helpful when called upon, and facilities were decent (though the ceiling in the hotel gym was so low that I found myself hitting it while on the treadmill!). All in all, this place was certainly worth the amount I paid on Priceline given the extremely high room rates in D.C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear mesocycclone2011,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us while staying at the Sheraton Pentagon City. Being relatively new to the D.C. area, driving can be a bit confusing in this area but I am starting to find my way around. I am glad that you took advantage of our great transportation that can get you to the DC Metro, Pentagon City Mall, Reagan Airport and many of the great local restaurants and bars that saves you from having to use your vehicle while staying with us.

Again, thanks and I hope we have an opportunitiy to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton Pentagon City is perched above the skyline of the Nation's Capitol with incredible views of DC. The newly renovated rooms are spacious and well appointed. The beds make sleeping a wonderful experience. It's more upscale than the average Sheraton. It's just across the river from DC, but the views and the elegance and space of the rooms make it an excellent value and choice. The food is good. You can easily get into DC using either the 14th Street Bridge or the Memorial Bridge. If you're doing business at the Pentagon or in Arlington, the location is excellent. If you're a shopper, one of the best malls in the area, Pentagon City Mall, is 10 minutes away and it has a large food court and an organic restaurant with good food. If you're flying into Reagan National this isn't too far. Overall if you're in town to see the city, the view from the above average rooms, is worth the price and the trip across the bridge.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the side facing DC and on the highest floor you can get. The views at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear WDC2012,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience at the Sheraton Pentagon City. We do believe that we have one of the best, if not the best view of downtown Washington D.C., Arlington National Cememtary and the Pentagon.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and I hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

PROS: I was able to get an excellent deal from a discount site but they only had one room a purchased another room on there direct site that included breakfast they were very accomidating in allowing me to get adjoining rooms and upgrade the 1st room to include breakfast. The breakfast I would highly recomment it was included with our room price I expected a basic buffet but was surprised, we arrived seated at the table a very proffesional place setting and the buffet was well stocked with 20-30 items to include eggs to order this morning. The shuttle service to Pentagon City for the metro was very convenient and a deciding factor on staying at the hotel. The hotel was very clean and comfortable the staff courteous
CONS: (minor) The first night we arrived late knowing we had 4 guest to a room we only had three towels and no soap went to the desk they said they would send some up never arrived, went swimming the next night in the hotel pool no towels. The shuttle service in the morning a little crowded but they were more than happy to run a second shuttle and make additional runs.
I would highly recomment this hotel and will inquire again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear William W.,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that the staff was very accommodating and that you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet. Taking advantage of our shuttle service to the Metro and areas restaurants is a great way to get around the D.C. area.

I do apologize for the shortage of linen during your stay as our linen provider did have some deliver problems that week but they have since corrected the problem.

Thanks again and I hope we have a chance to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Pentagon City hotel this past Easter weekend, 2013. WE had a fabulous time in downtown washington and were able to easily return back to the hotel even though it wasn't directly in the heart of the city. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The down town city view was worth every penny. The hotel is a stones throw away from the Pentagon, Air Force Memorial and Arlington Cemetry. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The staff was courteous and extremely helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear KarenK651,

I am so pleased that you had a great time in the Washington D.C. area while staying with us at the Sheraton Pentagon City. Thank you for the kind words and I hope you come back and visit us again.

Berst regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel. Right off I-395 and easy access to the tourist sites. Sura at the front desk upgraded us to a city view room overlooking the monuments and was a wealth of info about the city. The Full buffet breakfast was great and the service from Dennis and Giovanna was the best. The room was spacious and extremely clean with a very comforatable bed and nice fluffy pillows. There are quite a few excellent restaurants a short drive away in Pentagon City. Try Ray's Hellsburger, Tastful Delights, and Bob & Ediths Diner.We definetly will return here on future vacations.

Room Tip: For a great view request a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mark2752,

Thank you so much for the great comments about our staff, especailly Sura, Dennis & Giovanna. I will make sure that they receive special recognition for their efforts. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's amenities and took advantage of our great location to D.C. and all that Pentagon City has to offer, especially the great local restaurants.

We look forward to servicing you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#17 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.