We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option for a brief stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stanford, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent option for a brief stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My rating for this hotel is actually more like 3.5/5 rather than 3, but I couldn't quite bring myself to give it 4. The hotel itself is in kind of hard-to-get-to location, though I found the hotel shuttle to run frequently and reliably to both the Pentagon City Metro stop and Reagan National Airport. Rooms are relatively well-appointed and acceptably clean (though not exceptionally so). Staff were helpful when called upon, and facilities were decent (though the ceiling in the hotel gym was so low that I found myself hitting it while on the treadmill!). All in all, this place was certainly worth the amount I paid on Priceline given the extremely high room rates in D.C.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear mesocycclone2011,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us while staying at the Sheraton Pentagon City. Being relatively new to the D.C. area, driving can be a bit confusing in this area but I am starting to find my way around. I am glad that you took advantage of our great transportation that can get you to the DC Metro, Pentagon City Mall, Reagan Airport and many of the great local restaurants and bars that saves you from having to use your vehicle while staying with us.

Again, thanks and I hope we have an opportunitiy to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    259
    105
    55
    37
See reviews for
147
130
49
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton Pentagon City is perched above the skyline of the Nation's Capitol with incredible views of DC. The newly renovated rooms are spacious and well appointed. The beds make sleeping a wonderful experience. It's more upscale than the average Sheraton. It's just across the river from DC, but the views and the elegance and space of the rooms make it an excellent value and choice. The food is good. You can easily get into DC using either the 14th Street Bridge or the Memorial Bridge. If you're doing business at the Pentagon or in Arlington, the location is excellent. If you're a shopper, one of the best malls in the area, Pentagon City Mall, is 10 minutes away and it has a large food court and an organic restaurant with good food. If you're flying into Reagan National this isn't too far. Overall if you're in town to see the city, the view from the above average rooms, is worth the price and the trip across the bridge.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the side facing DC and on the highest floor you can get. The views at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear WDC2012,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience at the Sheraton Pentagon City. We do believe that we have one of the best, if not the best view of downtown Washington D.C., Arlington National Cememtary and the Pentagon.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and I hope we have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

PROS: I was able to get an excellent deal from a discount site but they only had one room a purchased another room on there direct site that included breakfast they were very accomidating in allowing me to get adjoining rooms and upgrade the 1st room to include breakfast. The breakfast I would highly recomment it was included with our room price I expected a basic buffet but was surprised, we arrived seated at the table a very proffesional place setting and the buffet was well stocked with 20-30 items to include eggs to order this morning. The shuttle service to Pentagon City for the metro was very convenient and a deciding factor on staying at the hotel. The hotel was very clean and comfortable the staff courteous
CONS: (minor) The first night we arrived late knowing we had 4 guest to a room we only had three towels and no soap went to the desk they said they would send some up never arrived, went swimming the next night in the hotel pool no towels. The shuttle service in the morning a little crowded but they were more than happy to run a second shuttle and make additional runs.
I would highly recomment this hotel and will inquire again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear William W.,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that the staff was very accommodating and that you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet. Taking advantage of our shuttle service to the Metro and areas restaurants is a great way to get around the D.C. area.

I do apologize for the shortage of linen during your stay as our linen provider did have some deliver problems that week but they have since corrected the problem.

Thanks again and I hope we have a chance to serve you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Pentagon City hotel this past Easter weekend, 2013. WE had a fabulous time in downtown washington and were able to easily return back to the hotel even though it wasn't directly in the heart of the city. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The down town city view was worth every penny. The hotel is a stones throw away from the Pentagon, Air Force Memorial and Arlington Cemetry. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The staff was courteous and extremely helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear KarenK651,

I am so pleased that you had a great time in the Washington D.C. area while staying with us at the Sheraton Pentagon City. Thank you for the kind words and I hope you come back and visit us again.

Berst regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this hotel. Right off I-395 and easy access to the tourist sites. Sura at the front desk upgraded us to a city view room overlooking the monuments and was a wealth of info about the city. The Full buffet breakfast was great and the service from Dennis and Giovanna was the best. The room was spacious and extremely clean with a very comforatable bed and nice fluffy pillows. There are quite a few excellent restaurants a short drive away in Pentagon City. Try Ray's Hellsburger, Tastful Delights, and Bob & Ediths Diner.We definetly will return here on future vacations.

Room Tip: For a great view request a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mark2752,

Thank you so much for the great comments about our staff, especailly Sura, Dennis & Giovanna. I will make sure that they receive special recognition for their efforts. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's amenities and took advantage of our great location to D.C. and all that Pentagon City has to offer, especially the great local restaurants.

We look forward to servicing you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for just a couple of nights. The room was clean and comfortable as expected from a Sheraton. Unfortunately, there was construction going on while we were there so loud hammering and drilling woke us up. Otherwise, the room was fairly quiet and didn't pick up too much of the noise from other guests in the same floor.

The pool was a huge disappointment. The water and room must have been no more than 65 degrees F. We couldn't stay in the water longer than 15 minutes and left shivering, something that has never happened to us in any hotel/resort we've ever stayed. We also didn't like that it's only open from 5-9pm. The fitness center was clean and spacious with good equipment and machines. You have to pay $22 per night for parking. There's an $11+ charge for Wi-Fi per night. As for location, the hotel was only a 10 minute ride to DC with no traffic, but not too many shops or restaurants nearby. Service was excellent. We had a problem with the tv and they came right away to try and fix it. Other issues, such as a defective parking card, were resolved just as quickly. Kudos to the staff for such efficiency and their commitment to customer satisfaction.

Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear CDC321,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us recently. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and the excellent service that they provided. I will make sure that they all get the opportunity to read the nice comments.

I do apologize for our pool temperature as we have identified the problem so the pool temperature has been corrected.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we have an opportunity to service you again in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We hotwired this on a recent college tour. Although exterior looks a little tired and parking garage is not the greatest, the hotel itself was nicely updated and is in a very convenient location, especially if you need to use the metro. The front desk (Ranjit) was great...gave us an upgrade for joining Starwood club and extended checkout so we could freshen up before traveling to next school. He could not have been nicer and more professional! The whole experience was good here...partially because we got a good price but also staff, facility and location exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobSPCGM, General Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Reviewer132, Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and I hope we see you in the future.

Best regards, Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#20 Family Hotel in Arlington
#24 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.