We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great area and customer service is over the top. I recommend that Starwood downgrade this hotel to a lower tier because the rooms need to be updated. It's an old hotel, I see that you have tried to keep it up but I think you could do a lot more in means of the guest rooms (i.e. new baths, wallpaper, drapes, carpet, lighting, and decor). The bed was great, almost like the heavenly bed, that's all that matters is a great place to sleep and this hotel did that. However, the price needs to be lowered because of the quality of the rooms, but it's DC.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    274
    111
    58
    39
See reviews for
159
137
49
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I spent five days here at this hotel. The room was alright. Nothing remarkable despite paying almost $200 a night. The room was clean, bed was great but the rooms look dated. Just a plane clock radio, no Ipod player.

I was placed in the loyalty floor and the only difference I could detect was a bottle of water the first day of my stay. The bathroom is small, as is the closet. This hotel is out of the way. A short shuttle drive (hotel provides) from the Regan Airport but not close to much of anything at all. The hotel did provide a shuttle to Pentagon City where we could catch the Metro (subway) to sight-see. Although close to Arlington National Cemetery, to get into the Cemetery we had to ride the shuttle to Pentagon City and catch a subway to the main gate. No restaurants nearby beside the one in the hotel so it was expensive and limited to eat anyplace else. The amenities were average. The little cotton balls and q-tips were available the first day but not replenished. There was a coffee pot in the room but only one serving of coffee was stocked. Room service was expensive. Two bowls of oatmeal and a container of coffee was $29. There is a coffee bar until 11am and I could buy the same thing for $15. The hotel has a roof top swimming pool but it was closed during our visit for the remodel. The view from my room was the opposite side of D.C. fortunately one of the women who worked at the hotel let us in a conference room in the evening so we could enjoy the view of D.C.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not near the construction. It was noisy during the day, hammering and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRagosta, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Ms. Patspell,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton National for your recent stay here in DC.

I first wanted to apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. We pride ourselves at providing an unparalleled level of service and obviously we fell short.

The hotel’s location actually is a hidden gem. The shuttle service provides access to the metro but also Pentagon Row which is attached to one of the largest malls in the area. This provides access to numerous restaurants and shops. This allows for a short metro ride to the National Mall and the Smithsonian. Also, a revitalization is ongoing on Columbia Pike just a few blocks away. Within walking distance is now a brand new pubs, restaurants, wine bars and shops.

On property we provide 4 dining options for breakfast. As you mentioned there is room service and the barista. There also is our full service restaurant that has two options, a full Hot American Buffet that changes daily and an a la carte option. These four options hit all price points and we even provided room packages that include breakfast at a discount.

As in the other review, we apologize for the pool “renovation”. We actually are only fixing the pool’s surface and it should be open soon. We apologize for the noise that you encountered and I hope that you brought this to our attention as we always want feedback; even if it is negative. Any feeback is a great tool for us to better train our associates.

Again, thank you for staying with us and on your next visit please reach out to me as I would like to take care of your breakfast.

Scott Ragosta
Guest Relations Manager
Scott.ragosta@sheratonnational.com
703.271.6603
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you want to look out your hotel window and see the Washington Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, U.S. Capitol Building, and the Jefferson Memorial - stay at the Sheraton National Hotel and request an upper floor view of the city. You'll be impressed. There are very few buildings that have a view of D.C. This is one of them.

It helps to have a car if you stay here. The hotel is under renovation. My room was a Priceline deal on the 12th floor. It was recently renovated. Basically, it's brand new. The bath is fine. The bed is comfortable. There's a new flat screen TV. They have excellent canvas photos of DC sites.

While there are a lot of add-on costs, like parking, I guess because of the construction, the wifi is free right now. I've stayed here many years ago. And I would stay here again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor with a view of DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRagosta, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hi Warwick Traveler,

Thank you for your review. We are always interested in hearing our guests' feedback. While it may have seemed like we are under renovation when you were here, we actually are only top dressing the pool's surface.

I am glad that you were able to see the amazing view, especially in the morning as you can see the sun rise above our National Treasures.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we enjoyed hearing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The staff was friendly and did their best to help us sort our key-card situation (we had to get our cards re-programmed twice). The front desk also immediately sent someone up when the phone in one of our two rooms wasn't working.

Aside from the technical difficulties, this was an average stay. I felt like the price didn't justify the room, and that I'd been to cheaper hotels with more amenities and better decor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Most friendly hotel staff in DC area! I've been to DC a few times for conferences. This was the first time our conference was held at the Sheraton National. The conference room was a little tight, but the staff was the most friendly I've ever encountered in this area. My room was very clean and comfortable and had a great view of the Arlington National Cemetery and DC. The bathroom was VERY clean. The temperature control was on the wall (not on the actual heater) worked perfectly. There was complimentary water in my room daily. The fitness room was equipped with 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical machines (not working while I was there), and 2 stationary bikes plus some weights and machines. Bring your own headphones to watch the TV on the machines. And if you want, you can climb the stairs up to your room for exercise. The stairway was well lit and clean. The only negative is the location - not near anything except for an Ethiopian restaurant right down the street. However, there is a shuttle service to the Pentagon City mall and metro station if you want public transportation. Overall, love the hotel and staff. Location not as desirable for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor facing the city. I had room 920 which had a great view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed here for a week during a conference. It's a nice Sheraton, even though it might be a little dated.

Pro:

Great service - I ordered room service a few times and the food always arrive within 20 min. The staff were very friendly, every time I called the front desk they knew my name.

Great food - Even though there is only one restaurant in the hotel, the food variety was good. I ordered different things from the menu, including appetizer, salad, main entry, and desert. Everything was made fresh and delicious

Shuttle - There is a shuttle bus that goes to the local mall / metro station every 30 min. Pickup is at the same drop off point and it's every 15 / 45. Very easy to use and good mall to walk around.

Big romm - The room itself was nice and comfortable. I have a king sized bed room on the 9th floor. Very nice bed and it's big.

WIFI - It was including in my room rate as I was there for a conference. WIFI worked well in room and good speed.

Con

Location -There is nothing around the hotel you can walk to, so use the shuttle if you don't have a car

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and if you want a view get high floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel was about average for a Sherton. Great place for business. The rooms were fine, quiet, and comfortable beds. I had some difficulty with the electric socket in my room (the one by the mirror) and the staff was very plesant and helped with my problem. The breakfast is also a great option for those on business and need a quick bite to eat. My one main complaint is the confusion on the layout of the hotel. If you are located in the other tower it can be confusing to find your room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel

Address: 900 S Orme St, Arlington, VA 22204 (Formerly Sheraton National Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Arlington
#15 Business Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
#26 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy familiar comforts and a warm welcome at the Sheraton National Hotel. With the Reagan National Airport, Metro Rail Station, downtown Washington D.C., and the Pentagon all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.