We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Crystal City to your Saves list
The Westin Crystal City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great visit -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

They just re-opened as the Westin and this place looks great. They are still getting everything in perfect working condition but the staff was incredible. Thanks Ranjit, Sami and Liz. Everyone took the time to say hello and ask if I needed anything. Rooms have been re-done - look great - very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    230
    81
    37
    17
See reviews for
107
113
82
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. The hotel is in a excellent location, walking distance to the metro, and the staff is very nice and courteous. Even though it was busy the check-in was quick. My only complain is the standard if the rooms. Pretty much I did not feel as if I was saying at Starwood property--felt more like a run-down motel. Everytime we would sit on the bed, it would make a rocking noise. Beds were wobbly and mattress was caved in. I can go on and on about the furniture/hallway corridors. We could hear other hotel guest conversations while we are inside the room. To sum it up, this hotel needs a major renovation!! I was extremely disappointed at the standard of the hotel.The location and staff is excellent. I'm a loyal SPG member and stay frequently at SPG properties. This was a awards stay and I feel I wasted my hard earned SPG points....wish I could get a refund!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was my first visit to Crystal City and staying at the Sheraton.Kudos to all the staff who work here, especially Ariel, Ravjit and one of the male bar/lounge attendants(don't recall his name but was working evening March 18 and March 20th). They were very nice, attentive and made a point to speak and ensure your visit was going well. Ravjit remembered me from the previous day and we had a nice chat. You can tell he enjoys what he is doing. Rooms were nice, pillows not so much ( soft and went flat quickly) but other than that accomodation were good. Very easy access to the Metro with Metro staff very knowledagble/helpful as first experience attempting to navigate the Metro ( which is very easy!).
Ate at the bar/lounge twice since restaurant wasn't open in the evening and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Would defintely stay again and look forward to coming back after the renovation and re-opening.

Green Features: They offer you extra reward points or a $5 food/beverage credit inaddition to not having your room/linens cleaned every day.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Beth,

Thank you so much for offering such a great review of your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that our staff made you feel so welcomed! We look forward to hosting you again after our renovations are complete. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel had a very good gym room, was very near to the metro station. It's a big name hotel and it met all of my expectations. The metro makes is easy to get into the District quickly. I had a great experience interacted with the staffs there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience while staying here at the Sheraton Crystal City. The convenience of our property to the local area ensures that our guests return year after year! Please return again soon. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My stay at this Sheraton was amazing. I drove in PA was a little thrown off and in a bad mood because of the drive, and the fact that there was a major detour with no signage which made my drive longer. My attitude changed as soon as I met Ranjit at the front desk of the Sheraton. He literally answered every single question I had before I could even ask. I think he provided the best service I have ever experienced at any hotel. I had almost forgot to ask about an extended late check out. I was in town for an interview and needed to come back to change and log into work. He was gracious enough to extend my stay to 4:00pm. This was such a blessing because I've stayed places were checking out at even 12:00 seemed like a major issue. The great part was that he asked before I even had to. He gave me some great words of encouragement. He even went so far as to provide a complimentary breakfast buffet. The room was clean and comfortable. The only negative was the heat vent was a little noisy. Aside from that everything about the hotel and the staff was amazing. They definitely have their customer service down. They were very welcoming and if I ever have to stay in the area again this is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Jennifer,

I am so glad to hear how amazing your stay was here at the Sheraton Crystal City! We are so proud to have ambassadors on our staff like Ranjit who go above and beyond to offer quality service to all of our guests. Our aim is to make sure you feel welcomed and taken care of and I am delighted that we were able to do this for you. Please visit us again soon. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel had wonderful beds, was a close ride to the airport and a short walk to the nearby metro. It's a big name hotel and it met all of my expectations. I'd happily stay here again when my trip centers around Reagan airport.

The metro makes is easy to get into the District quickly, and have an affordable and comfortable stay with a shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 trip advisor rating! We are honored that we were able to make your stay exceptional. If you would "happily stay" with us here again, we would be delighted to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel again, because of its great location. The hotel itself really needs an update (it is officially getting a renovation from APR to AUG). Despite this, I still had a great experience interacted with the staffs there. I would like to recognize front desk staffs "Ranjit" and "Tang" for their friendliness, they were also very attentive. Additionally, restaurant staffs "America" and " Maria" just simply made my day with their great service attitude.
I hope the hotel would recognize their great service and the new Westin would keep all these great staffs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the gracious review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Crystal City! We are proud to have great ambassadors on our staff like Ranjit, Tang, Maria, America and so many others that create exceptional experiences for all of our guests. They truly make us shine. We look forward to welcoming you back after our renovations. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.