We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient, easy access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Save Saved
You added The Westin Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“very convenient, easy access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Prices vary considerably depending on weekend/weekday. Less than 1 block from the Metro stop. Close to Reagan. Convenient shuttle to the airport. Rooms were very nice. Great place to stay for overnite or even to commute in to the city. It's less than 10 minutes to the center of DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear chitownsam,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your recent stay here at the Sheraton Crystal City.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    215
    77
    36
    16
See reviews for
100
98
79
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Va.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Alex at the desk was welcoming, charming and efficient, provided an early check-in, and sent me a few feet away to Moses at the bell stand who activated my parking card to 11:00 the next night, a convenient eleven hours after check-out time, and ran a computer readout of nearby music venues. When I arrived later at my room I was delighted to find it immaculately clean with a bed, pillows, and bed linen the equal of a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton at two or three times the price. With the Pentagon and Metro just short walks away, and excellent nearby stores, shops and restaurants, this hotel is the best buy in the Washington, DC, area. Having lived nearby for several years in what was then the apartment tower of the Crystal City Marriott, and for five years on the monument side of the elegant Bella Vista, I am delighted to find such a prize as the Sheraton Crystal City has become in my old neighborhood. Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Winfield Scott 2013,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments and experiences at the Sheraton Crystal City. I am truly lucky to have service-oriented professionals like Alex on my team. I do hope if your travel brings you back to the Arlington/D.C metro area that you will stay with us again.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and we hope to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at this property several times this year during business travel to DC. The location is very good: it's one block from the Metro, and is walking distance to many Crystal City restaurants. Numerous reviewers have complained about dated rooms, but the rooms I've had here have been clean and with updated furnishings (although I tend not to get upgraded to suites when I stay here, despite my SPG Platinum status). The property also has an SPG lounge, and the fitness center is decent. The major disadvantage is that the hotel tends to be popular, so the lobby and elevators can get crowded during peak times. I disagree with other reviews claiming the service is poor - on several occasions the staff have gone out of their way to help me. For example, tonight I arrived just after happy hour finished in the SPG Lounge. When I asked if there were still drinks available, the staff member (Ranjit) who was cleaning up said no, but offered me a coupon for free drinks downstairs at the lobby bar, and then rode down to the lobby with me to make sure I was taken care of. I have not tested the staff's knowledge of local restaurants or transportation, but they definitely work hard to make regular guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Complimentary Shuttle service to and from DCA. Near Crystal City underground shops, and DC Metro. Rooms were good quality and size. Quiet, no noise from airport. Didn't use the restaurant. Hotel not pedestrian friendly from Jfferson Hgwy. Need to cross over and walk behing the hotel to find the address on a side street

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location for visiting DC, but several negatives stand out. Rooms are clean but very poorly lit and staff is poorly trained - they knew next to nothing about the area and DC transportation (shocking for a major tourist, business and government locale) and not that much about even their own hotel programs. On the plus side, included breakfast was better than expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear RonnieB,

“Thank you for taking the time to review the Sheraton Crystal City. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Again, I apologize for all of the inconveniences that you experienced at our property. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I do hope we might have another opportunity to be of service in order to make things right. I would encourage you to reach out to me directly and I will personally look after your accommodations.

Kind Regards,
Julie Yeung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel is, in my opinion, a worthy symbol of the Sheraton brand: outdated, tired but clean and comfortable.

Outdated and tired? In the room, the furniture clearly dates back at least 20 year, the carpet is stained, the working desk and chair are not at all ergonomic and you need to shake the lamps to get them to work. In the bath room, of course, the plumbing is leaking. But perfectly functioning. The decor of the room dates from the same era. However, the room was clean, everything was in perfect order and the bed was comfortable.

The lobby, beside the recent Link at Sheraton, is also tired. The elevators are incredibly slow. Allow more time for getting up/down.

Staff is uneven. At check-in we were two guests waiting and there were four staff members at the front desk all doing administrative work. None thought that his priority was to serve guests. When they finally were at serving guests in their to-do, they were friendly, smiling and efficient. At times, staff was very helpful and engaged.

Should this hotel be avoided? There are better options all around with other hotels all bearing a more modern look. But nothing was terribly bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

In town for the MC marathon. The hotel booked a party on the eve of the race and the entire building was shaking until after 2 am leaving it impossible for ample rest for marathon running. After the 3rd phone call to inquire about when it was going to be over (apparently the front desk was "working on" having it end early due to the amount of complaints), we found a bed bug. Ended up leaving in the middle of the night with 2 children. They did comp the room, however, the damage was already done! Worst hotel experience EVER!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Libkay,

Thank you for writing to the Sheraton Crysatl City, our guests comfort and safety is our top priority. As you know, we have taken your comments & allegations seriously; the room was immediately quarantined and inspected by a licensed, reputable pest control company subsequent your report. Since bedbugs can be easily transported anywhere and are often lodged in luggage or on clothing, the hotel employs a thorough detection program in an effort to minimize this risk. We appreciate your patronage and remain committed resolving your concern.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westin Crystal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.