We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Crystal City to your Saves list
The Westin Crystal City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The beds and pillows are the standard comfortable that are the practice of most Sheraton properties. It is less than a block from the Crystal City Metro station, so if you are flying into Washington/Reagan National Airport or coming via VRE, you shouldn't need to get a car at least for that leg of your trip. The parking is standard for the area $25ish per night.

Room Tip: Room x11 is right off the elevator lobby so there some additional noise, but not so much that it kep...
See more room tips
Green Features: They will give you a $5 or 500 points per night if you forgo having your room cleaned that next day. I am certain it also saves them money in labor in addition to the stated primary reason of being environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    246
    83
    38
    19
See reviews for
116
120
88
315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent 3 nights here for a conference. Overall, had a really good experience. The location is very convenient -- 10 minute walk to local shopping and restaurants, or 5 minute walk to the DC metro. The area seemed very safe, even when I got lost and walked around alone well after dark. The room was fine with very comfy beds but some worn and stained carpeting and the a/c never really cooled down the room. The service was excellent; staff were always smiling, friendly, and checking in on your stay. The complimentary coffee in the morning was a nice treat. Good location for a conference/meeting, but dress in layers....those rooms get cold!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Carin L,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your recent stay here at the Sheraton Crystal City. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the DC Metro area that we will have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pro's- 5 minute drive from DCA Airport
Breakfast is Amazing
Staff is very diverse from all parts of the world and very friendly
Very,Very Affordable
The staff will go out of their way to accomodate you

Cons- Rooms are a bit small, I stayed on the penthouse on FL 15 and room was small
Parking on the street will cost you and parking in the garage is $22.50 a day
Business Center only has 5 computers and in an open area for everyone to see your business
Room Service is expensive as hell
You will be charged $100-$300 fee to your debit/credit card for incidental expenses and you pay the cost of your entire stay upfront instead of when you check out. So if you need money to spend while you are there and don't want the hassle of having your money tied up, look elsewhere

Room Tip: Do not pay for upgrades, the standard rooms are pretty much the same size as the penthouse suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice and conveniently located hotel. Near the airport and public transportation and not far from attractions. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and staff was very friendly. The restaurant is also very good. I ordered the beer battered fish and chips. A little pricey but the quality of the food makes up for the price. Concierge and bell service is ideal. A down side to this hotel is paid parking but that's almost all the hotels in this area. They were cheaper than my last hotel which charged $26 but Sheraton is $22. Of course parking on the street is free.

Room Tip: If you are an SPG member get 500 points by placing the "green card" outside your room to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear CORWYN,

Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Crystal City. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed our location and our staff’s friendly service. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed there for two nights and I definitely recommend it if you want something comfortable and easy connected. First of all the staff was really friendly and helpful, as soon as I arrived and I asked for some place to have a snack, they gently offered me a sandwch and chips for free.My room was clean and cosy although it was a little difficult to figure out how the shower works. The only problem wsa that I had to pay for breakfast 15$ and unfortunately it did not have nor the variety or the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Had an awesome time at the hotel! The staff was superb from the supervisor Arie, Quentin, Alex, and Arda. Everyone took such good care of us. I won't give the long dramatics but our group was quite needy and demanding!the staff were so polite and patient with us all. answering every question with a smile. I have never heard "My pleasure" so much in my life... Lol. great job guys keep up the awesome team work! I will be returning in the winter. A couple AC issues but those were minor in comparison to how much we enjoyed ourselves. Xoxo

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear TbonesteskNfries ,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your recent stay here at the Sheraton Crystal City. We are delighted to learn that our front desk staff provided you excellent service during you stay. I will inform the front desk manager of the nice comments we received about our associates. I hope that we will have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future. Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a bit worn an old however the service compensated for the lack luster appearance. Arie was great full if suggestions, tips, and advice on getting around the city and visiting all of the important sites. I also met Trudy who was a great help and Ernest at the bell stand. Probably wont be my first choice but Ill be back again. I had a billig question that the manager couldn't handle and had to call back several times... That was a bit frustrating

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.