We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Save Saved
You added The Westin Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Pretty good stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a bit worn an old however the service compensated for the lack luster appearance. Arie was great full if suggestions, tips, and advice on getting around the city and visiting all of the important sites. I also met Trudy who was a great help and Ernest at the bell stand. Probably wont be my first choice but Ill be back again. I had a billig question that the manager couldn't handle and had to call back several times... That was a bit frustrating

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    215
    77
    36
    16
See reviews for
100
98
78
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed there to catch an early flight at DCA airport. Very nice room, good restaurant and an swimming pool on top with amazing views.
Service is good at all places where I went in the hotel. It is good located and I would recommend this hotel for your stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Actually I ALWAYS elect to use the parking garage at this Sheraton for all of my trips out of DCA, though I've only stayed in a hotel room here once a while ago. It was quiet and clean with a friendly atmosphere. The parking rates here are cheaper than at the airport, the lobby is always clean, and the staff is always friendly especially, Jean-Pierre, who is responsible for the parking garage and airport shuttles among other tasks. When I depart and return it seems like he IS ALWAYS there. He is ALWAYS polite and welcoming! He processes my paperwork efficiently, and it is entertaining talking with him. I really look forward to seeing him when departing to and returning from my business and personal trips. In an area like DC his sincerity and courtesy is ALWAYS welcome! If you end up staying here, please tell Jean-Pierre that John sends his regards. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel (for the first week of August) through a discount website, and I thought I got a great deal. As it turned out, the hotel charged a daily parking fee which added an additional thirty percent to the daily cost of my room!! I was astounded, since I did not know about this parking fee up front. Had I known, I certainly would never have booked the room! I was dismayed and felt deceived. The front desk staff were lukewarm and definitely did not make me feel welcome. By the time I was headed to my room, I regretted having booked the room. The room I got was a handicapped-accessible room, which I did not request. This meant that there was no dresser for my clothes, no counter in the bathroom, and the shower drained directly into the center of the bathroom; anyone else using the bathroom after a shower had to traipse through puddles of water! I would not stay here again and certainly not recommend that anyone else stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear JP,

Thank you again for staying with us and for the recent review of your stay. As you are aware when you book through a 3rd party website the bed type is never guaranteed. As a hotel we will try our best to accommodate your bed type preference however due to the occupancy we were not able to secure you the bed type of your choice. I am sorry to hear that you were not made aware of our hotel parking prices however they are clearly listed on our hotel’s website. One recommendation is to book our hotel packages on our brand website in order to receive discounts on parking. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you in the future when your travels bring you back to our area.
Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on July 27th and 28th for our one year wedding anniversary. I mentioned that it was our anniversary when I checked in and we were delighted when the front desk sent a complimentary bottle of wine to our room. The service throughout our stay was great -- from the concierge desk to the bar/restaurant. The room was fine, although the carpet did have a few stains on it near the door. The bed was VERY comfortable and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and was extremely pleased. The staff was friendly, informative, and courteous. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was superb! Room service was fast and the food was 4 star restaurant quality. I had free parking and a $20 food credit per nights stay thanks to a living social deal. I didn't venture up to the fitness center so I can't comment on that. I wish they had a pool. Last, but, not least the location was great, conveniently located near the heart of DC, malls, and public transportation. Will book again. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Y, General Manager at The Westin Crystal City, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Fios_Ice,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of your recent stay here at the Sheraton Crystal City. We are very glad our location provided you a convenient home away from home during your visit to the DC area.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to the DC Metro area that we will have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards,
Julie Cashin Yeung, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Sheraton Crystal City Hotel twice this summer (the first time I used a living social deal). Both experiences have been outstanding.
Friendly staff, nice rooms, VERY close to the metro (short trip to DC), and tons of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westin Crystal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.