We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Save Saved
You added The Westin Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed frequently in all the major hotels chains (Hyatt, Hilton, Marriott, Sheraton). I find on average Sheraton tends toward the lower end of the list and it was true for this stay as well. There are number of factors that lead to this observation. The furnishings were mixed and matched from modern to traditional with some, very old and worn. The TV is simply smaller than than most competitors, the doors do slam loud and the walls do not mitigate sound very well. Worse, the carpet was very stained. Although the room seemed clean, with a stained carpet, it is hard to feel as though the room is clean. On the plus side, the rooms were large and considerably larger than the competitors rooms. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the workout facility was small but the equipment was operating. During peak times all the equipment was in use so get there early as it is open 24 hours. The hotel is conveniently located just a short block from the metro station. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    215
    76
    36
    16
See reviews for
100
98
78
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My son and I only had one night to spend in DC and Alexandro at the front desk turned this into a 5 star for us. Everything was so convenient--we parked ourselves right below the lobby well before check-in but they held our bags as we spent the whole day sightseeing (metro was a very short walk). We paid for parking but they held our bags and our car for us until 11pm the day we checked out so we only paid $11 a day for our parking..can't get that anywhere else in DC that I know of. Good food, friendly staff..we had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotel had some issues during Cherry blossom festival weekend. Wait was almost twenty minutes to get an elevator. They had one working elevator one day. I was awaken by house keeping every morning because rooms are soon close and two quick knock they are coming in. And, the hot water went out .... All bad. And one night an irate lady was cussing and screaming about 5 am.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip, I'm still trying to figure it out. India @ the bar is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great service at the front desk, Ranjit steered my to where I needed to go in a hurry! I needed a spot close to the Pentagon, and here it was. Close to Ft Myers as well, which is helpful Will definitely come back and highly recommend all Starwood properties!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent hotel - clean, large rooms and very helpful staff. Bit of a long wait at the lifts. Checkin was smooth and efficient. We didnt eat at the hotel, however we found a few shops (out the entrance and turn left, keep going over a couple of roads) which did food, including a 7-11 which did surprisingly good pastries!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Arie at the front desk was amazing! My friends and I stayed at the hotel for a bachelorette party and she went out of her way to accommodate us. The hotel was easy to find and has a parking garage underneath it. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. When we asked for extra towels, they were warm and brought to us within minutes. I would stay there again and I would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwell, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Clean rooms, very quiet. The entire hotel staff was excellent! Ranjit and Trudy at the front desk were extremely kind and helpful. Great location near Reagan National airport and the metro. Would definitely stay at the Crystal City Sheraton again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Westin Crystal City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.