We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for groups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Crystal City to your Saves list
The Westin Crystal City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for groups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I helped organize a trip for 17 (middle/high school) children.
They were incredibly helpful in arranging our stay complete with a conference room and TV/DVD player for a movie night. Azza was a huge help in organizing our trip.
When we got to the hotel, everyone was helpful, organized and friendly. Rooms were perfect!
It is right across from Metro (not ever traveling to DC before, I didn't realize how important this was.)
Would definitely stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The only problem we had was that they indoor pool had been drained and we weren't informed beforehand. The children were disappointed but that was such a small part of our adventure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    229
    81
    37
    17
See reviews for
105
109
82
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The location of the hotel is the best!! right next to the metro stop + crystal city underground shops so if its raining you can still get close to the restaurants through the underground passage. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit old but overall everything looks clean. My husband and I used the Internet and shuttle to the Reagan airport which are free for the hotel customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Positives for this hotel: clean rooms, friendly staff, easy access to metro at Crystal City stop, lots of chain restaurants nearby, Crystal City shops very close, very pet friendly, free wi-fi, safe neighborhood
Disappointments for this hotel: bar and room service closed early (I think it closed at 11 or 11:30 on a Saturday night!), parking was a little steep to be outside the city
Overall, the positives more than outweighed the disappointments and I would most certainly stay here again, just be sure you budget the parking into the cost of the room. As for pets, I did not bring mine, but did discover that you are allowed to bring one dog (weight restrictions) with no fee or deposit. You cannot leave the dog unattended in the room and you have to sign a waiver stating you will pay for any damages to the room. But this is a very generous pet policy! Great experience and the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel was a perfect place to stay right outside of DC. Crummy hotels in DC cost the same amount as staying here. Safe neighborhood with a few restaurants within a few blocks radius. Would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here in early August as I had business at the Navy Annex (3-4 blocks away) and the Army-Navy Country Club (10 min drive).

Reservations - I completed everything online and everything matched up when I arrived at the hotel. Beforehand, I called about parking and was informed that it was $20/day in their deck. There is street parking around the hotel, but I'm not sure how safe it is.

Lobby - The lobby is quiet. There is a separate elevator to the parking deck (below hotel) and another one up to the rooms. The service was very quick and professional.

Room - My room was on the 8th floor and it had a view of D.C. It was honestly a spectacular view (Air Force Memorial, Pentagon, Washington Monument, Mall, Capitol Building, Lincoln Memorial). The room was spacious with a king sized bed. The tv is a larger LCD tv, but has the typical Sheraton channels and remote, nothing to write home about. The bathroom was interesting. No sink inside with the toilet and tub, but one out in the vanity area. I'm not sure I like this. The room also has the typical amenities.

Lobby restaurant - I ate here twice for breakfast. Service was quick. I had the chef's special french toast. It was really good, except it had raisins in it. Not a fan of raisins in breads. Juice was fresh. Surprisingly, the price was reasonable.

Lobby store/gift shop - This place seemed to have most everything you needed. Prices seemed reasonable, as well.

Overall - I would come back and stay here, hopefully not for business next time, but rather to have fun in DC. I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is the best place if you want to avoid hassle of transportation to the Washington monuments. The train station is right next to the hotel which takes to all the monuments in Washington DC area. You can save a lot of time in commute if you stay here. Just have a breakfast in the morning and leave for the train station. The breakfast was also good. You can even have it outside the hotel as the options are many. Chilli's is very nearby where you can have a good lunch/dinner. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel definitely needs a makeover. Slow elavators, gloomy windows.
The fire alarm went off at midnight and scared the [...] out of everyone. It was a false alarm as it turns out but none of the night duty staff knew how to reset the system leaving half the guests out on the street and half in their rooms being deafened for 20 minutes.

Not comforting to know the night staff are clueless about what to do during a fire alarm. Also disconcerting that the Fire Department doesnt automatically respond to a fire alarm at a busy hotel as a precaution. This hotel is spitting distance from the Pentagon!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#8 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.