We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Near to Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Crystal City to your Saves list
The Westin Crystal City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very Near to Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is the best place if you want to avoid hassle of transportation to the Washington monuments. The train station is right next to the hotel which takes to all the monuments in Washington DC area. You can save a lot of time in commute if you stay here. Just have a breakfast in the morning and leave for the train station. The breakfast was also good. You can even have it outside the hotel as the options are many. Chilli's is very nearby where you can have a good lunch/dinner. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    245
    83
    38
    19
See reviews for
115
120
88
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel definitely needs a makeover. Slow elavators, gloomy windows.
The fire alarm went off at midnight and scared the [...] out of everyone. It was a false alarm as it turns out but none of the night duty staff knew how to reset the system leaving half the guests out on the street and half in their rooms being deafened for 20 minutes.

Not comforting to know the night staff are clueless about what to do during a fire alarm. Also disconcerting that the Fire Department doesnt automatically respond to a fire alarm at a busy hotel as a precaution. This hotel is spitting distance from the Pentagon!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I booked a hotel around DC for 2 nights. When I arrived at the hotel, I realized that this is the same hotel that I stayed before and very happy with everything in the hotel. The service is VERY friendly and professional and the location is very convenience. The hotel is around the corner from a metro station, which you can take directly to Union Station, DC. One night we went to a mall in Crystal City and it is a very close and nice mall. The hotel is very clean and has free coffee in the morning (Starbuck). The only downside the hotel is parking, it costs me $22/day. But considering what I paid for the hotel, it is still cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My daughter (16) and I stayed at the Sheraton Crystal City Hotel September 1-4 for a Labor Day get-away. The hotel was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. Squishy comforters and lots of pillows. Bathrooms were squeaky clean. The hotel was easily accessible to the Crystal City Metro Stop (<1 block away) and we had no problem navigating the city from this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011 via mobile

Check in/out was fine. When I called for room service on two separate occasions, NO ANSWER! The phone must have rang twenty times! On top of that cable tv was out all night due to 'technical difficulties.' Although the front desk manager comped me for parking, it was still a terrible experience as an SPG Member.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed four nights at this hotel as a base for seeing the Washington area. It is well located close to a metro station and the Reagan Airport. we did not spend much time in the hotel as we were up and gone in the morning and back at night.
There isn't much around the hotel except a few other hotels and the mall close by is really basic. The attraction for us was ease of access for the Metro. Old town alexandria is not far away with a multitude of shops and restaurants.
The front desk and door staff were great and eagerly answered our many questions. One nice touch was they had free cold bottles of water available as we were there during a pretty humid heatwave.
If you are staying in the DC area and want a nicly situated hotel close to the airport and the Metro I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here as part of our US and Canada tour and thought it was an excellent hotel. One of the best breakfasts available, staff always very polite and helpful. Room extremely clean, spacious and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, EVER!

Downsides, you probably need to take a taxi to visit attractions, we were on a tour so this didn't matter, although we went by taxi on the evening for a meal. I was unable to connect to the wi fi in the room but this was overcome by plenty of PCs in the lounge area.

Yes, excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crystal City

Address: 1800 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 (Formerly Sheraton Crystal City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#6 Green Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crystal City 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Washington D.C., The Westin Crystal City boasts convenient access to the area via the adjacent Crystal City Metro Station. Nearby are popular museums and monuments, and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA) is a mile away. Between meetings or sightseeing escapades, enjoy uplifting downtime in the comfortable ambiance of any of our 218 well-appointed guest rooms. Sleep well amid the plush layers of the Heavenly® Bed and renew with upscale amenities in the Heavenly® Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Arlington
Arlington Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.