We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, WiFi & Parking
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
new england
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We secured an excellent weekend rate with our AAA membership so decided to spend a few days in that area. It's a very convenient location. We loved the food choices being attached to the mall and a few steps away from the outdoor shopping area at Pentagon row. We parked at the mall instead of the hotel which was less than half the price.

The staff was super friendly. The room was comfortable and clean. Convenient to the metro station. We would stay here again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    200
    63
    25
    17
See reviews for
117
114
56
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

I spent an extended weekend here in July 2014. The staff was very friendly and although very outdated the room was very clean. I'm assuming the the reason for such a costly stay was the location next to the metro station. The mattress was worn out which gave me great back pain throughout my stay. The restaurant Fyve looked great but again, very expensive for a mediocre breakfast. I do not intend on being a repeat guest at this location as other hotels just a few miles away offer a more pleasant, wallet friendly stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Timothy H,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. I would agree that we offer a great location with easy access to the District, Northern Virginia and Reagan National Airport. I am also fortunate to work with many hospitality professionals that you appear to have experienced while here. I am sorry that your experience overall did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important and If you have the time, I would appreciate the opportunity to be in touch with you. I can be reached at 703-412-2778 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This particular property is a bit dated including slow creaky elevators and smallish rooms but the service was up to Ritz standard and the location can't be beat. Right next to the Metro station and right next to a shopping mall with a foot court in case you're not wanting the pricey Hotel restaurant option. Sadly, WiFi was not included and you'll either pay $9.95 or $14.95 a day depending on what speed you need. Even with that detraction, I still recommend this property, especially for weekends when substantial discount rates can be obtained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

A good experience as usual the people were 1st class but the hotel itself is a little tired. The shower backed up and the towels were worn. It is great to have a hotel atop the metro station and mall for accessibility. I did need to check in early as my flight was extremely early and this request was met with no issue.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had a nice quiet room at the back corner of the hotel. Rom had been de-feathered as I am allergic to feathers.

The only complaint I had about the room was that there was a huge scratch on the bedside cabinet. i did not complain as I liked the position of the room and it did not affect its functionality.

Service was very good. Conference people were particularly helpful and friendly.

Unfortunately i did not have time to run in the mornings, but a number of my colleagues commented on the excellent provision for runners of water, towel and map first thing in the morning.

Egg station at brakfast was particularly good with egges always perfectly done.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at this location before and find it very convenient for travel from the airport and access to the Metro. We were on the 18th floor and found the rooms well appointed and very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly but somewhat overwhelmed at times on the Club Level. The changes to the Club Level were very apparent with one person trying to accommodate all of the guests. We can't really complain because it is a vacation and someone was trying to meet our needs. They become your friends and it is very difficult to see them work so hard.

Room Tip: Flexibility in your scheduled time off can afford you a great rate on the Club Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton at Pentagon city twice a year for the past 8 years for a meeting I attend. The location is ideal being two stops on the yellow line Metro from Natinal Airport. The staff are uniformly courteous and helpful. The exercise facilities are above average and open 24 hours a day. The rooms have everything I look for when traveling on business. It is a pleasure staying there. I highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
#9 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.