We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Luxury, Superb Service and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faded Luxury, Superb Service and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This Ritz is a bit older and is really showing its age. Carpets, furniture and lighting in rooms and hallways are in need of refreshing and lobby renovations look more Marriott than Ritz. Outstanding customer really makes this hotel; Sonja in the Club Lounge is especially notable. Location adjacent to Fashion Mall and minutes by Metro from DC and National Airport make it a great choice for business or pleasure. Gym is more than adequate with well maintained cardio and weight equipment. What I miss most about the pre-Marriott Ritz-Carlton era are the grand over the top decorated public spaces and wonderful smell of the hotels which have been forever lost under Marriott rule.

Room Tip: North Side rooms face DC with its historic views. Club floor features 5 F&B presentations daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    244
    81
    28
    18
See reviews for
149
138
58
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel offers all the famous Ritz Customer service. The staff is trained to be problem solvers and tentative to all your travel needs. On a downside, its starting to some some age throughout all areas. The health club is average, not fully stocked with all the famous amities. Overall, you'll find this a great location, comforting rooms with great Customer Service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel had everything we were looking for. The hotel is very conveniently located in the Fashion center mall which houses alot of retail shops and a very good variety of restaurants. Most importantly the mall is connected to the Pentagon city metro station without having to go outside. The hotel service is outstanding. Shoe shining service is complimentary. Valet parking is available for $35 per day, but if you are looking for a cheaper option you can park in the mall parking for $16 per day.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Advertised as a luxury hotel, the Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City was disappointing. The mountainous bed was obviously designed to be comfortable, with soft mattress toppers, but I found it very uncomfortable and didn't enjoy a good night's sleep during our three night stay. The staff are very attentive - if anything a bit too attentive, which left me feeling uncomfortable. We couldn't sit in the lobby for five minutes to wait for our friends without being questioned about the quality of our stay! We have been enjoying a three month trip around the world and although our room was sumptuously decorated, it was no better (and somewhat less comfortable) than many of the other properties we stayed in. One very trivial complaint related to the toiletries - which were very good - but they all looked exactly the same. I've never had to take my reading glasses into the shower before to check out which products I was using! Slightly more annoying was the lack of free wifi (other than in public places). Even when we tried to pay for it, I simply couldn't persuade my computer to connect. Finally, the concierge only offered one option in answer to each of our requests for assistance so we tended to do our own online research instead. Luxury hotels undoubtedly elevate expectations and I was disappointed by the overall experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear LCB London,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with your review. I am sorry that overall your experience did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay with you further. While I understand you are traveling, if you could afford the time, I may be reached at 703-412-2778 or tod.morow@ritzcarlton.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, va
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We visited DC for a long weekend of tourist activities. While search for rooms we could not help but notice an attractive rate here as compared to other hotels in the City. The rates improved slightly when requested on the Ritz-Carlton web-site and AAA discount applied.

The Pentagon City is literally outside the front door making the National Mall only a 10-15 minute metro ride away.

The hotel itself was great and included everything you might expect at a Ritz Carlton. We had a chance to use the gym and pool which were also very nice. The only missing item, and this is a small point, is that at other Ritz Carlton's we've checked into we are offer a glass of Champagne which is a fantastic touch. As our room was not ready at the 3 PM check in time this would helped kill the time.

That being said, there are no real complaints, Our stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tod M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear JFD118,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable visit and found our hotel to be convenient to all of the attractions that Washington has to offer.
Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you providing constructive comments. Should your travels bring you back to the Washington area, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance in arranging your accommodations. I can be reached at 703-415-5012 or at tod.morrow@ritzcarlton.com

Best regards,

Tod Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed one night there but it was enough to get the feeling of good old Ritz Carlton.
Rooms are very spacious, very quiet, designed and decorated nicely, relaxing atmosphere after a hard working day. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
I had to use the service twice while this short stay and it was impeccable!!! They even phoned me shortly after, to make sure it was settled.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Staying at a Ritz Carlton is, for me at least, all about predictability in the best possible way; you know you're going to get great service, a really comfy bed, lovely staff, and that you'll glide through the experience like a hot knife through butter...

... well, the RC Pentagon City does not disappoint; if anything it exceeds expectations because you get all this for $220 a night (weekend rate). This is amazing value.

We were also given access to the club floor where we enjoyed great - and I mean great - hors d'oeuvres and nice wine. Not sure if this was because we just got lucky or because I booked through Amex, but either way, what a nice gesture.

Okay so we had to call for another robe (there was only one in our room) and the breakfast was a *tiny* bit slow. But who cares when the robe arrives in about 30 seconds and a lovely fruit plate is offered to make up for slow service (about which we had not said a word)? Little things can happen anywhere, the point is how they are dealt with, and here the answer is quickly and with considerable charm and grace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington/Shirlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.