We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you leave anything behind, don't expect to see it again.. EVER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If you leave anything behind, don't expect to see it again.. EVER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here numerous times... I love this place... The location is ridiculously awesome~~ one heartburn.. I've left a jacket and a dress behind and called the next day and the security people said they didn't retrieve anything from my room. I'm a bit clumsy and tend to forget a lot of things.... I've left my Michale Kors jacket and called from the airport (Dulles) and they said they didn't have it. The service is great, but if you leave anything behind don't expect the maids to turn it in. Oh they also don't change te sheets everyday. I spilled coffee on the sheets and found the stain to be there when I returned later that evening. Because of it's vicinity to the metro and the mall, I'd stay here again. But ill make sure I don't completely unpack this time..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    220
    72
    26
    17
See reviews for
130
124
57
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here twice, and it's the first time I've ever been to a Ritz-Carlton. The first trip was disappointing initially, as the front desk "lost" my reservation, only to find it 2-plus hours later and no apology was offered. The way the management handled this was excellent, as they gave me a complimentary night. So as far as service goes, I'll say that this location is fine and chalk my initial experience as a fluke that is rare.
The lobby, location and overall look of the hotel are excellent: It is right next to a mall, a metro stop, and the lobby is very clean and well decorated. What is disappointing are the rooms. They feel a bit generic, and I've been told (and based on looking at other locations) the Ritz-Carlton brand tends to furnish their rooms in very similar motifs, with exceptions of course. The first trip I stayed in a standard room, which was around 400 sq ft, quite large, and the second trip I was upgraded, for free, to a suite, which was about 700 sq ft. Having stayed in other four-five star hotels, I was somewhat disappointed. The furnishings are all nice, high quality pieces, but there is no character present, and the bathrooms are generic.
The gym was nice, as was the steam room and sauna, although the pool was small and difficult to enjoy when I was there with children splashing all around.
Overall, this is a good bargain on the weekends, but completely overpriced on weekdays. I would suggest looking at other DC hotels with more character before choosing this location in the future. I will try another Ritz before giving up, however, as I'm sure this is not the best one they own.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views, and the club service floors are worth the money due to the free food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I along with my sister and her husband stayed at the Ritz for 3 nights in July. We both booked rooms on the club level, well worth the extra charge! We were visiting D.C. for business as well as pleasure. The hotel is two stops on the Metro from National Airport very convenient to all the major attractions in D.C. The staff is extremely well trained and always willing to assist you with tickets to events, restaurant recommendations etc. As soon as you walk into the Ritz you feel like you are treated as a V.I.P. A special thanks to Frank. We often wondered if he ever goes home. He treats every guest with respect and we noticed he is always going out of his way to make sure all the guests at the hotel are happy with their Ritz experience. We nicknamed him "Super Frank" because he reminded us of "Superman". Ritz you are blessed to have Frank as part of your team. We will encourage our friends and colleagues to stay at the Pentagon Ritz while traveling for business or pleasure in the D.C. area. Thank you for another in creditable Ritz Experience!!!

Room Tip: Club Level 17 or 18th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shohola, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed and cannot say enough about the service at this hotel. There was nothing that the staff did not do to accommodate our every need and want. You cannot ask for a better location. The Metro is right outside the door. We got a day pass and went everywhere we wanted to, easily and quickly. When we finished our day out, the concierge Stacie was able to arrange a DC by night tour for us. She chose Royal Signature Tours and it was excellent. Breakfast in the AM is awesome. You have choice of ala carte or buffet. Either one is a good choice. The coffee is the best too! Service was PERFECT. Had cocktails and a snack after our tour in the hotel lounge. Nothing short of excellent service. Stay here and take the train into DC. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the business floors, worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Pentagon City in May 2013 and throughly enjoyed my stay. I sadly was only able to stay one night. The rooms are gorgeous the beds are super comfy. We got the room with the breakfast and valet parking included. It was a great value the food was awesome. Next time I am in DC I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our stay at the Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City was exactly as I had imagined. Top notch service, beautiful room, quality bedding & a peaceful nights sleep.
Located in Pentagon City, this hotel is in a perfect location for a weekend get-away to D.C., a vacation destination, or a romantic stay for a lot less than you will pay in the heart of D.C. - with a lot more amenities! Pentagon City and the adjacent Pentagon Row has restaurants (nice sit-down, food court, and of course the five-star fare at the Ritz); shopping for all budgets; and the metro station is downstairs for easy access to D.C. and Crystal City.
Although we did not take advantage of the hotel's amenities this trip, the Sunday brunch is excellent (although expensive). The hotel bar has a wonderful ambiance for relaxing, or a romantic date.
Other than the location and all it has to offer, the real selling point of this hotel is the quality of the rooms. The Ritz-Carlton comes with expectations and the quality of the room met them all for us! The bed was a place from heaven - beautiful bedding, excellent mattress and a couple of pillow choices. The bathroom was large with quality linens and of course the signature Ritz Carlton bathrobe. The king room was a good size with a small sitting area and desk. Our room was located next to the elevator lobby on the 11th floor, which could have been very noisy - the rooms are insulated for noise reduction, as we were not bothered by hallway or lobby noise!
The public areas are small and unpretentious. I felt like we were in a boutique hotel. The small things make a difference. We found a nice plate of seasonal fruit waiting for us in our room when we returned from dinner.
I am looking forward to our next weekend getaway to D.C. and the Ritz Carlton!

Room Tip: The higher up in this hotel the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

In D.C on business. Excellent room with very comfortable bed. Everything was perfect in the room and the front desk service staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is connected to a Mall and there are many places to eat within short walking distance. Only drawback was they needed to charge me for internet access...surprised.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#9 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.