We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; Okay for Upscale Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, WiFi & Parking
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Ludington, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location; Okay for Upscale Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Ritz, Pentagon City, VA for the last five years. I think it has gone downhill in a number of ways. The location is very good with quick access to the Metro, shopping and a variety of restaurants. It also is close to the airport and walking distance to Arlington National Cemetary, a national treasure.

Problems with this hotel include: mattresses that need to be disposed of...dishonest interaction with staff at the concierge desk...not free WiFi. We found this amazing as we were there for a business conference requiring access on a regular basis.

Positives: Excellent, friendly, helpful housekeeping staff; good meeting rooms (chairs not comfortable for long periods however), good greetings by service personnel. Nice line of bath products.

Nice bar on the main level (Fyve) with a relaxed atmosphere, good specials.

We also stay in a Four Season regularly and find it to a higher standard.

Room Tip: Check out the mattresses...all our associates at the conference indicated the same problems..and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    201
    63
    25
    17
See reviews for
117
114
56
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in the Pentagon City area, there are better hotels than the Ritz Carlton with larger rooms. Our room had a funky odor from an aged HVAC system. I also requested a double room twice but got a king bed. I made the reservation for three people and asked for two beds but it was not honored. Overall, location is fantastic...service is good but it is not a five star Ritz Carlton. For the same price and free wifi, try down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hallmark of this hotel is definitely service. Everyone was attentive to my needs and tried hard to please. The room I stayed in was older with traditional decor but very clean. The convenience factor is wonderful - Metro at your doorstep and quick access to the Mall. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel has great service and the staff are wonderful. The food is delicious and the location is great because it is right next to the metro and Pentagon City mall. However, the room was just ok and not what I expected for a Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for a wedding. The hotel and service really was great! We paid an excellent rate, as we were apart of a large wedding and they had a group discount. I found value in the guestroom rates that we paid and tended to splurge in the restaurant and room service because of it. The valet service was great - quick and friendly. The Front Desk was nice. We did attempt to order a drink Sunday afternoon (they were in between brunch) and it was very slow. We had to cancel our order because of it. The actual wedding was incredible (largely due to the bride's excellent choices). They had their own caterer so I can't judge the hotel on their food quality. However, the banquet bartender was wonderful! He was very helpful and friendly. Their banquet staff was quick to remove plates and tend to the guests. The overall venue was clean and beautiful for a wedding. The location is great too - shopping next door! I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Arlington or are planning a wedding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The pros of this hotel: located right across the street from the metro. Very convenient for getting around. The staff was helpful and friendly. The reason I only gave it three stars is that it felt like staying at any lower chain hotel. There wasn't anything "special" about it. Now before you think I am snobby, it just wasn't what I expected from the Ritz. My bed was uncomfortable and we had a hard time getting hot water for a shower. But, overall it was just fine. Would I spend the price to stay here again, probably not. I will say that the staff did look for ways to be helpful which was very nice!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Yes, I've heard the reviews saying the rooms are outdated and maybe they are a tad "worn" but the staff at this hotel is exceptional. They were friendly from the time we approached the door to the time we left and EVERY single staff member went above and beyond to make our stay great. We stayed five nights over Memorial Day and the location is PERFECT. The Metro station is literally right out the front door and the hotel opens into the mall; which was great because we had a couple clothing emergencies. The only negative I can think of is that our room had two full beds instead of two queen beds (yet there were queen headboards...?...) but other than that, this was just great!

Room Tip: Ask for a even numbered room -- they face DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
#9 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.