We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Shopping Credit, More
Ranked #9 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hallmark of this hotel is definitely service. Everyone was attentive to my needs and tried hard to please. The room I stayed in was older with traditional decor but very clean. The convenience factor is wonderful - Metro at your doorstep and quick access to the Mall. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    162
    55
    20
    14
See reviews for
102
100
47
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel has great service and the staff are wonderful. The food is delicious and the location is great because it is right next to the metro and Pentagon City mall. However, the room was just ok and not what I expected for a Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for a wedding. The hotel and service really was great! We paid an excellent rate, as we were apart of a large wedding and they had a group discount. I found value in the guestroom rates that we paid and tended to splurge in the restaurant and room service because of it. The valet service was great - quick and friendly. The Front Desk was nice. We did attempt to order a drink Sunday afternoon (they were in between brunch) and it was very slow. We had to cancel our order because of it. The actual wedding was incredible (largely due to the bride's excellent choices). They had their own caterer so I can't judge the hotel on their food quality. However, the banquet bartender was wonderful! He was very helpful and friendly. Their banquet staff was quick to remove plates and tend to the guests. The overall venue was clean and beautiful for a wedding. The location is great too - shopping next door! I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Arlington or are planning a wedding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The pros of this hotel: located right across the street from the metro. Very convenient for getting around. The staff was helpful and friendly. The reason I only gave it three stars is that it felt like staying at any lower chain hotel. There wasn't anything "special" about it. Now before you think I am snobby, it just wasn't what I expected from the Ritz. My bed was uncomfortable and we had a hard time getting hot water for a shower. But, overall it was just fine. Would I spend the price to stay here again, probably not. I will say that the staff did look for ways to be helpful which was very nice!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Yes, I've heard the reviews saying the rooms are outdated and maybe they are a tad "worn" but the staff at this hotel is exceptional. They were friendly from the time we approached the door to the time we left and EVERY single staff member went above and beyond to make our stay great. We stayed five nights over Memorial Day and the location is PERFECT. The Metro station is literally right out the front door and the hotel opens into the mall; which was great because we had a couple clothing emergencies. The only negative I can think of is that our room had two full beds instead of two queen beds (yet there were queen headboards...?...) but other than that, this was just great!

Room Tip: Ask for a even numbered room -- they face DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights to attend a nearby wedding. Look, the Ritz is the Ritz: great service, extremely comfortable beds. The rooms are nice. They aren't spectacular, but, they are nice and very clean.
The staff is unbelievable here. So helpful and beyond expectations. The bar drinks are creative and fun. I enjoyed Bryan and Robert at the bar.
The location is nice. Near the train, near a mall with the higher end stores, near decent restaurants. It was all good.
1/2 block away is a bike rent station; I rented a bike and rode into DC to the memorials. Nice ride along the river. Beat the traffic too!

Room Tip: Higher floor is better. Better views. Friends on the lower floor (5th) looked at a roof top...That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just spent Memorial Day Weekend here - had a great time. Checked in at 1pm and checked out at 3pm! We had a 16th floor room with a king bed and rollaway which was perfect for our little one. The rooms did not feel outdated as some have said. They were clean, well decorated - with marble bathrooms. The indoor pool was small, but warm. The gym area was nice and there was also a wet and dry sauna. There was no spa. The customer service was outstanding - everyone was extremely polite and friendly. Our kids loved the complimentary lemonade, smoothies and other fun beverages that were served in the lobby. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and recommend the lounge food which was a larger casual area - perfect for families but still with an upscale feel. There was a mall that was physically attached to the hotel with a giant food court. The metro stop was right in front of the hotel and took about 3 stops to get to the National Mall area. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel
Ritz Carlton Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Arlington Ritz
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City
Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Family Hotel in Arlington
#9 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.