We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, but the rooms needs upgraded.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, WiFi & Parking
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good service, but the rooms needs upgraded.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for the weekend during busy season, the service is overall good, they remember your name, but I agree with many of the review, the room needs updated.

House keeping service needs a bit improvement. They won't give us mouth wash and lotion after we used up the first two days. There is also no saddle in the room, you need to bring your own.

We were staying at 18th club level. Breakfast quality is average , with limited choices. But it is enough for coffee and quick snack.

Parking service is quick and costs $35 a day when we were there.

We also had drink in the bar which is not too bad.

Location is connected to a mall. And with easy access to highway.

Overall, I would not say it is the best, but it is pretty good. With hardware upgrade, this could be a great place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    201
    63
    25
    17
See reviews for
118
114
56
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved our stay and will never stay anywhere else when we return to DC. The staff was so outstanding and made you feel like family. When we would leave in the evening we were treated to complimentary champagne. Breakfast was delicious, great service, beautiful spacious room, with very comfortable beds. The staff made you feel so special and they made it obvious that they appreciated your business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved staying here. First class all the way; starting with check-in, where they were efficient and knowledgable, and served our kids sugar cookies!- way to make friends- and ending with check out, nothing but excellent service and class.
The staff knew our names, offered us assistance every time we got off the elevators in the lobby, and did their best to make our family vacation special. They made a fuss over the kids, gave us advice about making the trip easier and truly made the stay fantastic.
First morning we came down to the lobby, they asked where we were going. We said the zoo. They asked if we had eaten and when we said that we planned to eat there, they pointed out that they really don't have much for breakfast. The concierge suggested the food court in the mall, when we didn't know what that was or how to get there- he WALKED US over and showed us! Now that is service!
And of course, the hotel is beautiful. It's the Ritz! Nothing more to say. It's not called "putting on the Ritz" for nothing. Stunning beautiful.
We stayed in the executive suite and it was large enough for our family of 3 adults and 3 kids (ages 4, 2, and infant) to have plenty of room! And the decor was tasteful and elegant.
This hotel is connected to the mall and so has indoor access to the metro, and as stated earlier, a food court, and shopping. Quick food is important with kids, so much easier than a restaurant. There is also an entrance to the metro right outside the front door if you prefer, things here couldn't be more convenient. And what a quick trip to the National Mall! We were worried we were too far away, but it was literally 5 minutes on the metro.
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel and it's wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

OK. It's a Ritz. Service is Ritz quality. Courteous, thoughtful, polite, helpful, and all of that. After arriving on a red-eye at 7:00 a.m. they immediately found me a clean room so I could shower. Very much appreciated. Impeccably clean. No complaints whatsoever about the amazing staff.

But this architectural train-wreck desperately needs a renovation. Uninteresting 80's exterior with dated furniture and decor. This type of furniture belongs in a classic '20's hotel -- not a badly planned-out modern building wedged between two wings of a mall. Cramped public spaces. Marble bathroom floors (which look pretty, but are really slippery when wet). Horrible sound insulation between adjoining rooms. Rotten location with views of a Costco and a freeway. With a total renovation, the place could be a pretty good upper-mid-range convention hotel. It's not nearly up to Ritz standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Pentagon City is first-rate in terms of service and comfort. While staying there during a business conference my roommate and I found a few quirks which, while they didn't ruin the experience, were disappointing considering it was a Ritz Carlton. The room itself was plush and well appointed with lots of fluffy pillows, beautiful curtains and furnishings, and perfectly comfortable beds. The bathrooms, while marble clad, were very much lacking. The fact that there was no exhaust fan left the room all but impossible to properly dry and style one's hair without waiting an hour or so for the humidity to dissipate. In addition to the lack of ventilation, the lighting in the bathroom had an awful yellow cast to it and was too low for applying makeup.

The service staff was friendly, accommodating, and very quick in spite of having a house full of potentially demanding guests.

The view from our room wasn't great but considering we never left the building in 3 days (and never had to with the connected shopping mall) that wasn't as much of a factor. We also never had a chance to avail ourselves of the metro stop literally right outside the door either.

As a bonus, having the connected mall was brilliant for my roommate and I as we preferred to breakfast more economically at the Au Bon Pain at the mall instead of the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our second and third stay here. We now plan our trip to and from Colonial Wiliamsburg from our home in Connecticut with an overnight at this hotel each way. The service is impeccable as one expects from Ritz-Carltons, the rooms are comfortable bordering luxury (even the 'standard' rooms), everything is immaculate and the food is wonderful. We always use Room Service since we get there after a long drive and will be on another long drive in the morning; notwithstanding, I say again, the food is wonderful. One orders pancakes and the maple syrup individual glass containers are warmed when one receives them (!). As others have noted this hotel has far more to offer than we have been able to take advantage of, yet, even just for an overnight, it is wonderful to be in a Ritz-Carlton. (We have tried the Hay-Adams and the Ritz-Carlton on 22nd Street as well as Tyson's Corners but have settled on this one primarily because you are sufficiently outside of the confusing roadways of Washington proper [Manhattan and its environs are simple and straightforward compared to DC]).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for a long weekend in D.C. It is attached to Pentagon City Mall. The metro stop is right in the mall, too. We made it to the hotel from DCA in literally minutes... maybe 10. Then we checked in to the hotel and in our room within a half hour of disembarking our flight. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. They had orange-strawberry water and apples in the lobby at the entrance. The room was nice. Not as luxurious as some other hotels, and with the name "Ritz" this is expected. But it was very comfortable, very clean, and very quiet. This was the ideal location for all of our sightseeing. We were able to grab the metro and go anywhere. Plus after being out all day, we stopped and picked up snacks in the food court at the mall. The food shops open early also to grab a quick breakfast or Starbucks on the way out for the day. I will definitely stay here every time we are in the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
#9 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.