We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Parking
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is in a great location for visiting DC and surrounding areas. It is connected to the Pentagon Mall and on the metro line. Not the fanciest of all Ritz locations buts still very nice. Expect families on weekends so please no dirty looks at the kids when they are acting like kids in the lobby. 4/5 stars only because they dropped the ball on a few opportunities to provide 5 * service. When we made reservations through Ritz reservations they asked who was traveling, when we said we were with kids, they said the concierge would do something for them especially since it was one of their birthdays (nothing was ever mentioned or happened), When we requested Easter baskets from the concierge (to buy) they had no idea of how to get them, why they did try to offer to try to do something, I just expected they might have planned for this so many families there for the holiday. Minor issues with the TV channels (not working) and phone (clarity & static) but we did not complain. Sofa in our suite had stains on pillows and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable but the kids 2 & 4 did not complain. Suite was a very nice size with 1 ½ baths. Pool is smaller and was crowded but a nice feature. Most of the staff is first rate especially F&B and the front door. Please do not expect ultra-premium Ritz service (Key Biscayne, Palm Beach). In the hotels defense the price is not at that level either. It is a very nice place at a very fair price for the level of service and its size it is not a small boutique hotel it has 360 rooms. Many great restraint choices are close to the hotel at all price points. We ate many meals at the hotel and all were very good to excellent including the Easter brunch. While the special Easter brunch was very good it did not rise to the level of a Breakers Sunday brunch.
Would I stay there again definitely if the price was right, we had a suite bed and breakfast package which included parking for about the price of a standard room in town at a 5* hotel.

Good Tips: Metro is not cheap or that stroller friendly if going in to DC with a family. Drive in especially on the weekend driving is not a bad choice and probably cheaper than the metro for the family, parking is not too expensive in the garages near the mall (ten to fifteen for the day). Put it in a lot as meters are usually only 2 hours and tickets are expensive. Zoo parking fills up fast --reserve online for parking if possible or risk not getting parking (twenty two for the day).

Room Tip: Suites are perfect for families and are a really nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I arrived at the hotel and proceeded directly to my room to attend a virtual meeting. I have not stayed at this property for over year due to a substandard previous stay but I thought I would give it another shot.

Thomas at the front desk was very helpful and checked me in quickly. Unfortunately, when I arrived at my room the internet connection was intermittent and would not allow my iPad to gain network access. When I tried to call for tech support I found that the desk phone was not working so I ended up sitting on the bed with the computer on my lap since the only working phone was a hard line one by the bed. Tech support was no help and told me "sorry there is nothing we can do". After 45 minutes I checked out and moved to the Marriott Crystal Gateway which had the iBahn internet system that always works.

I'm never impressed when a hotel that caters to business travelers can't get its internet to function properly. The Ritz is affiliated with Marriott.....why not just used the iBahn system and be done with it? This is a nice hotel but I can't afford to visit it again to learn critical infrastructure is not functioning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seattle0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

While the Pentagon City Ritz isn't in an iconic neighborhood or situated in. A scenic locale, it is still a "Ritz" which always equates to exceptional service and amenities. When I travel to DC I really like this location - it's close to the Metro and adjacent to the Pentagon City mall which allows quick access to multiple eateries. All in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for the Easter long week end and really enjoyed our stay! Not as expensive as you would think and located right next to the yellow and green metro line so easy to get to wherever you want. Also in the same complex as a mall with 4 levels of stores so lots of good shopping without even having to go outside! The spa is nice with a pool, gym and sauna!
If you ar staying for more than a day or two we recommend you get a Smartrip pass for the Metro. It is a refillable card that cost you $5.00 to buy but saves you $1.00 every time you use it so 5 trips and it is paid for and you continue to get a dollar off each trip! Best buy if you are travelling around a lot by Metro!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mr. Gossa offered excellent service during our visit. The location is perfect for access to the District and northern Virginia highlights. The work-around due to construction was well done, and the Fyve bar continued to be serve quality food and beverages.

Room Tip: ask for quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacations23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
268 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, typical of all the amenities of Ritz. Is nearby the Pentagon, and conveniently located within a very nice tier one mall. Walking distance to descent restaurants, offers a great workout facility, spa and exceptional customer service.

Great choice for business nearby the Pentagon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

...when they have government rate rooms available, which they do a lot! I love to stay at this hotel as it's really luxurious, comfortable, and in the perfect spot. Its always a pleasure checking-in, walking into the lobby, getting friendly greetings from the staff... I wish all staff at all hotels were this much into the hospitality portion of their jobs. Since the Ritz is owned by Marriott you get Marriott points which is great. No question that there are usually cheaper places to stay, but it's worth it to get the Ritz treatment every so often.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
0.6 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#10 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#7 Business Hotel in Arlington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the banks of the Potomac River and only moments from Washington, DC, The Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City offers a hotel experience that beautifully blends modern luxury and traditional touches. Here guests can enjoy easy access to historic monuments, world-class museums, fine dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Amex, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing