We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, WiFi & Parking
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is in a great location for visiting DC and surrounding areas. It is connected to the Pentagon Mall and on the metro line. Not the fanciest of all Ritz locations buts still very nice. Expect families on weekends so please no dirty looks at the kids when they are acting like kids in the lobby. 4/5 stars only because they dropped the ball on a few opportunities to provide 5 * service. When we made reservations through Ritz reservations they asked who was traveling, when we said we were with kids, they said the concierge would do something for them especially since it was one of their birthdays (nothing was ever mentioned or happened), When we requested Easter baskets from the concierge (to buy) they had no idea of how to get them, why they did try to offer to try to do something, I just expected they might have planned for this so many families there for the holiday. Minor issues with the TV channels (not working) and phone (clarity & static) but we did not complain. Sofa in our suite had stains on pillows and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable but the kids 2 & 4 did not complain. Suite was a very nice size with 1 ½ baths. Pool is smaller and was crowded but a nice feature. Most of the staff is first rate especially F&B and the front door. Please do not expect ultra-premium Ritz service (Key Biscayne, Palm Beach). In the hotels defense the price is not at that level either. It is a very nice place at a very fair price for the level of service and its size it is not a small boutique hotel it has 360 rooms. Many great restraint choices are close to the hotel at all price points. We ate many meals at the hotel and all were very good to excellent including the Easter brunch. While the special Easter brunch was very good it did not rise to the level of a Breakers Sunday brunch.
Would I stay there again definitely if the price was right, we had a suite bed and breakfast package which included parking for about the price of a standard room in town at a 5* hotel.

Good Tips: Metro is not cheap or that stroller friendly if going in to DC with a family. Drive in especially on the weekend driving is not a bad choice and probably cheaper than the metro for the family, parking is not too expensive in the garages near the mall (ten to fifteen for the day). Put it in a lot as meters are usually only 2 hours and tickets are expensive. Zoo parking fills up fast --reserve online for parking if possible or risk not getting parking (twenty two for the day).

Room Tip: Suites are perfect for families and are a really nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    187
    63
    25
    17
See reviews for
111
109
54
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I arrived at the hotel and proceeded directly to my room to attend a virtual meeting. I have not stayed at this property for over year due to a substandard previous stay but I thought I would give it another shot.

Thomas at the front desk was very helpful and checked me in quickly. Unfortunately, when I arrived at my room the internet connection was intermittent and would not allow my iPad to gain network access. When I tried to call for tech support I found that the desk phone was not working so I ended up sitting on the bed with the computer on my lap since the only working phone was a hard line one by the bed. Tech support was no help and told me "sorry there is nothing we can do". After 45 minutes I checked out and moved to the Marriott Crystal Gateway which had the iBahn internet system that always works.

I'm never impressed when a hotel that caters to business travelers can't get its internet to function properly. The Ritz is affiliated with Marriott.....why not just used the iBahn system and be done with it? This is a nice hotel but I can't afford to visit it again to learn critical infrastructure is not functioning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

While the Pentagon City Ritz isn't in an iconic neighborhood or situated in. A scenic locale, it is still a "Ritz" which always equates to exceptional service and amenities. When I travel to DC I really like this location - it's close to the Metro and adjacent to the Pentagon City mall which allows quick access to multiple eateries. All in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for the Easter long week end and really enjoyed our stay! Not as expensive as you would think and located right next to the yellow and green metro line so easy to get to wherever you want. Also in the same complex as a mall with 4 levels of stores so lots of good shopping without even having to go outside! The spa is nice with a pool, gym and sauna!
If you ar staying for more than a day or two we recommend you get a Smartrip pass for the Metro. It is a refillable card that cost you $5.00 to buy but saves you $1.00 every time you use it so 5 trips and it is paid for and you continue to get a dollar off each trip! Best buy if you are travelling around a lot by Metro!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mr. Gossa offered excellent service during our visit. The location is perfect for access to the District and northern Virginia highlights. The work-around due to construction was well done, and the Fyve bar continued to be serve quality food and beverages.

Room Tip: ask for quite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, typical of all the amenities of Ritz. Is nearby the Pentagon, and conveniently located within a very nice tier one mall. Walking distance to descent restaurants, offers a great workout facility, spa and exceptional customer service.

Great choice for business nearby the Pentagon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

...when they have government rate rooms available, which they do a lot! I love to stay at this hotel as it's really luxurious, comfortable, and in the perfect spot. Its always a pleasure checking-in, walking into the lobby, getting friendly greetings from the staff... I wish all staff at all hotels were this much into the hospitality portion of their jobs. Since the Ritz is owned by Marriott you get Marriott points which is great. No question that there are usually cheaper places to stay, but it's worth it to get the Ritz treatment every so often.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
#9 Business Hotel in Arlington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.