We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

very nice hotel. Fantastic staff. Big clean room with excellent lounge. Plenty of good food choices just behind hotel in pentagon row and a 5 minute walk to the pentagon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    223
    72
    26
    17
See reviews for
130
126
57
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived at the hotel in a rain storm on a Friday afternoon - greeted in RC fashion and whisked through check-in to our room. Weekender rate w/ breakfast!! What a bargain for this beautiful hotel. Our room was perfect and exceptionally clean and tidy every day. This was a perfect location for sightseeing - we just crossed the street and were at the Metro, but one morning when it was too hot, our taxi ride to the Capitol was only $12.00. Don't be fooled by staying in-town, this was a great find just across the Potomac! Thanks to the best Concierge, George for helping me choose a great restaurant for my family after the Kennedy Center concert. We will come again, in fact, I never wanted to leave!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettembourg, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed Friday thru Sunday in a very nice room on the 17th floor. The room is perfectly appointed on every aspect. Wifi at a price. Breakfast buffet in restaurant, Fyve, was very pleasant, but pricey. Enjoyed tea and cherry cheesecake with pistachio cream in the evening... superb cheesecake. Lounge is pleasant... just did not feel the flat screen tvs were a good addition to the room. Guests can use their room key to enter the hotel on the second level of the adjoining shopping center. There is a metro entrance in front of the hotel. One can take an escalator to ground level and be in the front outside of the hotel (escalator is left of the mall entrance doors) or go through the mall and enter as previously mentioned. The front desk staff are very pleasant and accommodating. The male Concierge is very helpful while the woman is rather brusque. Restaurant staff are all very nice and will do whatever it takes to ensure you are having a nice experience.

The Metro station has the blue and yellow lines. The yellow line is the shortest distance into the city, but both do not take long... once the train actually arrives and is moving. We did find that we had to wait about 15 minutes for the trains (weekend) and the cars were very
crowded. The system is easy to use, but it does involve a good deal of time waiting on the platform.... some platforms were crazy crowded. Still, we would stay at the Ritz Pentagon City again despite having to wait for trains.

Tip for a great Sunday: attend the 10:30am service at St. Johns Church at Lafayette Square (across from the front side of the White House) and the have brunch across the street at the lobby restaurant in the Hay Adams Hotel (less priced lunch menu served in lower level restaurant too). Every President has attended the church... small plaque at last pew right entry was where Abraham Lincoln sat many Sundays). http://www.stjohns-dc.org/

Also, Paul Bakery is a nice spot for a artisan sandwich, pastry and espresso coffee! Located at 801 Pennsylvania Avenue NW at the Archives Navy Memorial Metro Station. http://www.paul-usa.com/

The hotel provided us with a copy of the Where magazine. We found a guide called NOW that was much smaller in size and had better information. There is a free app called Now Washington DC Guide too. http://www.nowguides.com/dining/get-now-on-your-iphone-and-ipad/ download the app then download the current issue to your device so you do not need Internet connection to view. FYI: free wireless connectivity is available throughout the mall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Lovely hotel, as you would expect. The gym was fantastic, although the pool is a little short for lap swimming and a little deep for non-swimming kids. We had room service breakfast only and it was OK - pricey and had that "sitting around for while" look and flavor.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Being opposite the metro was handy - we could be downtown within a few minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Wonderful location with the best club floor of any hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a very nice hotel with a great location. It's a very safe walk though a shopping mall to the Metro and a short ride from there to downtown DC. The service was excellent with a very attentive staff. The only problem was the room ventilation. I'm very sensitive to molds and mildew and the room smelled very badly of it. Most people don't notice the smell, but I do and I got quite congested during the night. This is a fairly common problem at even the best hotels in hot and humid locations so I come to expect it, but I have found some that prevent it or overcome it (Omni hotel in Philadelphia).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our family stayed here for 4 nights beginning n the 4th of July. We opted for a suite on the club level, and it was worth the extra cost. The food presentations throughout the day were excellent and plentiful. Breakfasts were particularly great, and our kids loved the unlimited hot chocolate from the machine. The staff here is excellent. Friendly, helpful, and very attentive. Great group of folks. The rooms are luxurious and spacious. Fitness center is very large, and the indoor pool is quite nice. The location of the hotel cannot be beaten. With a Metro station entrance literally right outside the hotel's door, it makes getting into DC simple. The one annoying thing is they offer no free high speed Internet access. The Ritz is not alone in this policy...many other upscale hotel make you pay for it, but I simply do not understand it. Given the cost of the room, throw in the Internet for goodness sake!

Room Tip: Club level lounge offers a great view of DC....perfect spot from which to watch fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City

Address: 1250 South Hayes Street, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#6 Business Hotel in Arlington
#8 Family Hotel in Arlington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City Hotel Arlington
Ritz Arlington
Ritz-Carlton Arlington
Arlington Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Pentagon City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Pentagon City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.