We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were treated like teenagers pool side...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Albany, NY
1 review
“We were treated like teenagers pool side...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

The Hotel overall was fine. We weren't in the rooms long enough due to touring the D.C. area. The location to the Metro was great as was to Georgetown. Some of the problems we experienced were: Our room was on the 2nd floor on the end w/ no view of anything! There was a soccer team located on our floor (which, why wouldn't they keep them away from families w/ young children??). A young man knocked on our door at 1:00 am and then called our room phone at 2:00 am! The real problem was when we took 5 kids (ages 7, 8, 9, 10 & 12) to the pool. There were 4 adults present and the attending "life guard" acted like we weren't even there. The kids couldn't go from the outside pool to the inside pool (there was an underneath water access way). Why have it if you cant use it??? Also, one of the nights we went down to the pool w/ a drink in hand. The same girl on duty came over to me and smelled my drink! I told her it was seltzer. She left me alone (probably because I was actually watching all of the kids as she attended to put chemicals into the hot tub) BUT proceeded to smell my husband and brother-in-law's cups! We were appalled to say the least. When you spend good money on a hotel, you expect to be treated w/ respect and not like a teenager (especially since SHE couldn't have been more than 21 herself)!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    278
    192
    69
    26
See reviews for
185
146
54
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed here after winning this hotel on Priceline for something like $55 a night. A friend was visiting from the UK, and the hotel was perfect for showing him DC. The Rosslyn metro stop is a few blocks away, and the hotel is right next to the Key Bridge which you can walk over and be in Georgetown. That was an unexpected perk since Georgetown is so far away from the DuPont Circle Metro stop. The hotel's lobby is dated, but it has a kiosk for plane check-in and worked fine for me. As another reviewer implied with saying the hotel should be knocked down, it wasn't dated in a terrible way- I wasn't embarrassed to have a DC friend meet us in the lobby. The room is more spacious than you'll find within DC city limits and fine for a few young people going around DC.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

I stayed for three nights in June 2009; I thought the hotel was fine and the staff friendly. I ate there once and would not do so again (it's hotel fare...won't kill you but nothing to write home about). Georgetown and its restaurants are less than a 10 minute walk across the bridge (which is right out the front door). Also, there is a lot of "eye-candy" jogging and biking across the bridge. The Georgetown co-eds combined with the military men running in lycra spandex will make for enjoyable scenery for young and old alike :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Great Location. Great Price. A five minute walk to the Metro station (subway) and a ten minute walk across the Francis Scott Key Bridge to Georgetown. Very close to Reagan/National airport. The subway will take you to the White House, Washington Monument and the Capital in only a few minutes. Very safe part of town and we did a lot of walking around day and night near the hotel. Huge parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is corporate hospitality at its most sterile. What can I say? It's convenient to National Airport: the Rosslyn blue line stop is a couple of blocks away. There's free wifi in the lobby. A turkey club sandwich from room service costs $18. The rooms are nondescript. The hotel was filled with noisy groups of young people on class trips to the capital. The Rosslyn Center neighborhood is dead at night, and there are no decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I have just returned home from a tour of D.C. with 25 students and 6 adult chaperons. Our hotel was the Key Bridge Marriott. It was a fantastic hotel with many amenities that both our students and staff enjoyed.

The combination indoor/outdoor pools offered options that the kids enjoyed. Life guards were on duty, which made our stay enjoyable and secure.

The availability to pizza vendors sweetened the deal for students.

I found the staff to be competent, friendly, and helpful.

The beds were luxurious.

Stayed June 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

I stayed here for several days due to a conference being held in Rosslyn. This is clearly an outdated building. It looks like it was built in the 60's or ealy 70's and while they've redone the lobby areas, the rooms appear to be mostly unchanged. (Sure, they put up some new wallpaper and a few other updates but there's only so much you can do before it's time to renovate). The rooms are small and cramped; the furniture in the rooms is definitely a notch lower than the higher-level Marriotts in DC; overall the feel of the room is that of a worn out hotel. The TV is the old-style rather than HD flat screen (all decent Marriotts have upgraded -- why not this place?). There are a lot of little negatives...old tub and fixtures; not enough power plugs in the room for convenience; very cramped desk area; no wireless WiFi (only wired connection which forces you to remain at desk). if your room faces into the courtyard, you get to see firsthand the awful 60's or early 70's style of the building exterior. If you get a room facing the river, you at least have a nicer view.

Staff was friendly but not especially competent. I arrived early and had asked for a feather-free room, which generally just means foam pillows instead of feather. Not big deal. I was told that the "feather-free room" wasn't ready. I told them I would wait since they said it would be about an hour. I gave up 1.5 hours later because it still wasn't ready and I was tired of waiting. The person at check-in was apologetic but said that they were having trouble getting housekeeping to respond. (What is this -- The Motel 6?). They could have at least offered to bring up some foam pillows later but that would have required too much thought. Not a business class hotel...

The only positive about this hotel is that it's very close to the Key Bridge so you can walk over to Georgetown in about 10 minutes. In the other direction, you can walk 10 minutes to the Rosslyn Metro station. That's convenient but I'm not sure it would be enough to make someone stay here when there are better hotels on both sides of the river in this price range. Personally, I would not stay here again unless I happened to come across a very deeply discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Washington, DC in a brilliant new way at the Key Bridge Marriott. Located just across the river from Georgetown in Arlington, VA, our hotel offers easy access to the Nation's Capital, as well as to many vibrant Northern Virginia neighborhoods. Guest rooms and suites boast perks like pillowtop mattresses and enhanced high-speed Internet access. Some of our rooms also offer sweeping panoramic views of nearby Georgetown. If you're in Washington for work, you'll appreciate our 22 meeting rooms, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, and a modern business center. Weddings and events at our hotel are unforgettable, thanks to venues like the top-floor Capital View Ballroom, which provides breathtaking views of Washington, DC. And if you're here to explore the city, our hotel is the perfect base. We're just three blocks from the Rosslyn Metro - allowing you to discover Washington, DC and Arlington, Virginia at your own pace. We look forward to welcoming you to the Key Bridge Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.