We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Not Great Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% off
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

I normally stay at Marriotts as I'm a Rewards member and the brand has a pretty consistent level of quality. This is the first time I've had anything negative to say with a Marriott property. First, despite some renovations, this is an old hotel (I believe this was the very first Marriott hotel). The lower floors still bear the marks of a decades-old motor hotel (rectangular configuration, very long halls, courtyard/pool in center). This floor plan leads to long walks from the elevators to your room. Second, the rooms are quite small, although the bedding & furniture are new. Third, the lobby is compartmented, giving it a claustrophobic feel. Finally, there is no wireless internet service in the rooms--you are literally tethered to the desk by an 18" network cable. On the plus side, parking is pretty convenient, it's only a 5 minute walk to the Metro, and there's a great running trail along the Potomac that runs adjacent to the property. Service is also up to Marriott standards--I asked to be moved out of a room in the far back corner and they were more than willing to accommodate me.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms, cramped lobby
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    264
    180
    66
    24
See reviews for
182
136
50
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, USA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The room was a bit small, but well appointed with a great view of the Potomoc. My only complaint is that the beds were too soft, which is typical of all Marriotts these days. The mattresses are just not firm enough, especially for people with back problems. The Metro station is about 3-4 blocks away - not super close,but a reasonable walk. Generally, a good location to serve as a base for a D.C vacation.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Beds too soft
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed here at this hotel for a convention. The room was clean although a little tight (smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a Marriott - but clean). The view was beautiful as it overlooked the Potomac and had a gorgeous view of the Washington monument all lit up at night. We asked for a late checkout and was given until 3pm which was also very accomodating. Our rate included breakfast for two adults and two children. However, when we went to breakfast, our wait staff said it only included the buffet, not menu items and that the buffet had everything on the menu anyway. This was not accurate - no pancakes, no egg sandwhiches etc..... They were really pushing the buffet - my guess to make it easier on themselves and the chef. Plus at $15.95 it was the most expensive breakfast "option" on the menu. After we followed their directions, noticed many other tables complaining and then they were charged by item, not the entire buffet. Just didn't seem right. Food was good though - both for breakfast and for dinner. Also, parking was a fee of $15/day. Just fyi - there really is not alot of street parking.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

The Key Bridge Marriott in Rosslyn, VA, is an old hotel. I first stayed here in the late 1970s. During a memorable lunch in the summer of 1979, the dropped ceiling collapsed on three of us. The dining room manager offered apologies and a free meal, but the hotel manager was less than sympathetic, so I swore not to return. However, time heals all wounds, including the cut on my hand, so a decade later I started coming back.

The property has undergone many renovations and additions in the subsequent years, not the least of which is a relatively recent makeover of the lobby, bar, and restaurant. The former lobby used to feel like a grotto and very old-school with a dark wood reception desk and similar paneling on many walls. That perception is a thing of the past. The updates have transformed the ground level common areas into modern, airy, welcoming venues with sandstone and marble as well as (faux?) leather and material wall coverings. House music is light and jazzy, so the mood does not feel rushed or too serious.

The rooms, while not as up-to-date, are generally comfortable and furnished well with beds I really find to be some of the best in my many travels. The bathroom in my room was small-ish but featured a lovely big shower head. The water temperature was difficult to adjust, however, and the control was long overdue for replacement. Also, I hated the desk chair, which could not be easily adjusted and had poor back support. My most recent room had a stunning view of Key Bridge, Georgetown University, and the Potomac River. During an earlier stay, the view included the Washington Monument and other capital landmarks.

Wireless internet (Ibahn) is available in the lobby, but I found it to be frustratingly slow to get logged in, so I gave up trying. The wireless signal is spotty from the upper floors, including the 12th-floor concierge lounge, but there’s always the old standby of a wired network drop at the desk in each room.

The Connexion Lounge and Revival Restaurant are just off the main lobby and offer a decent selection of food and drink. Appetizers, salads, and sandwiches are available from the bar menu. Service is excellent and always with a smile. Food quality is very good with fresh ingredients. Each dish is plated nicely with fun little touches here and there. Prices are modest for a hotel. A bottled beer will set you back about $5.00, and a lunch of Mighty Mo (double-decker Angus burger) with a non-alcoholic drink runs around $16. While Rosslyn itself has a few restaurants along Wilson Boulevard, you should consider crossing Key Bridge into Georgetown for great dining and drinking options. Alternatively, hop the Metro three blocks away (5 minutes) and head to Dupont Circle or other lively night spots in DC. Alexandria is about 20 minutes away by car, too, for even more choices.

The concierge lounge has seating for about 25, so it can get a little crowded during weekday breakfast (6:30-10 AM) and evening hors d’ouevers (5:30-7:30 PM). The lounge features an honor bar for adult beverages in the evening. It is closed on weekends. Plan accordingly.

I especially like the Key Bridge Marriott for its location. It’s easy to get there from DCA (Reagan National Airport), whether you drive, take a taxi (about $17), or hop the Metro (less than $2). It is also adjacent to I-66, which will bring you to/from IAD (Dulles Airport). There is plenty of on-site parking ($15/day), and several shuttles, including a Georgetown bus, are available. If business or tourism takes you into DC, the Pentagon, or Crystal City, leave the car and get on the Metro.

All in all, this hotel offers a comfortable, friendly place to stay while giving you easy, affordable access to many places in and around downtown DC and suburban Virginia.

(FYI for Marriott Rewards members: The Key Bridge Marriott is a category 5 hotel.)

  • Liked — Location and easy access to DC area attractions
  • Disliked — Parking garage access key malfunction
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

I was in Washington, DC on business and the company booked this hotel. They have completed several renovations and are currently completing a dining room. The renovations did not bother our group at all. The room was impeccably clean, the bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. The food for our meetings was excellent. There is a restaurant on the 14th floor with beautiful views of the surrounding area. I took the Metro from Reagan to the Roslyn station for $1.35, it took ten minutes. The Metro is two blocks from the hotel and was an easy and safe walk. The same Metro was very convenient to see all the sights in DC at a very low cost. Georgetown is across the river and you can either walk there, take a bus or taxi. I did not find the walk that difficult. There are some great shops and restaurants in Georgetown. My group ate on the waterfront overlooking Watergate and the Kennedy Center and it was gorgeous.

The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful. The concierge reviewed a map with me and suggested places to go. I will be returning to DC for business over the next two years and would not hesitate to stay at the Key Bridge.

  • Liked — The convenience of the Metro and nearby Georgetown
  • Disliked — It did require some walking to the Metro and Georgetown
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed two nights while attending a business conference nearby. Renovations still underway, but the lobby looks like it will be done in just another week or two. Nice new bar area is already finished. There's a little shop off the lobby that sells Starbucks coffee/drinks and other snacks. Rooms are small and fairly ordinary, but otherwise fine. The best part is the moderate price for this hotel class and the good location. Metro stop is about 1-2 blocks away, which will take you almost anywhere in D.C. An easy 10-15 minute walk over the Key Bridge allows you to eat, drink and shop in Georgetown, and it felt like a safe walk with many other people around. There are always cabs waiting in the parking lot if you want another option. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Spent one night here for a wedding. Decent price. Given a corner room on the 8th floor with floor to ceiling windows overlooking DC and Rosslyn. The room was on the small side, but it was clean and the view more than made up for it. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Amazing view and great location
  • Disliked — Wired internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just across the Potomac River from Georgetown, our hotel offers panoramic views of the sights and sounds of the nation's capital. Being a premier choice among Arlington, VA and Georgetown, DC hotels, we provide direct access to Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport as well as the corporations and government agencies of Northern Virginia saving you travel time in and out of the District. For travelers looking to take in the area's famous landmarks such as the Smithsonian Museums, Iwo Jima Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery and the National Monuments, hop on the DC Metro system at the Rosslyn Metro station, only 3 blocks from our front door. You'll find stylish surroundings inside our hotel as well. Our hotel features an open lobby with private seating nooks and complimentary wireless internet access. Our Revival Restaurant and Connexion Lounge offer an classic dishes and comfort foods with a modern interpretation. We also offer 17,000 sq ft of event space across 22 rooms including the top-floor Capital View Ballroom which seats up to 300 and offers penthouse views. Perfect for your next celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.