We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Good But not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I checked in around 9:15 p.m only to find out that the only rooms available were on the first floor and they were doubles which did not make sense to me because i booked a king 3 days in advanced. I could understand if i was just getting it right then and there but i had booked it 3 days in advanced and yet I was stuck in a room with 2 beds for my anniversary. When i asked the front desk person why my room is a double instead of a king he told me they almost sold out and those were the only rooms left. I said ok but I booked mine in advanced so i don't understand how there could not be a king room for me. He proceeded to tell me that "well it was only 2 days in advanced"(even though it was really 3). I had a long day and did not feel like arguing with this man so i just said ok thank you. My issue is why did the website even have king rooms available and say I've booked a king when they didn't have any left? Or is it a first come first served thing and if you get there later in the evening you're S.O.L? This is the first time this has ever happened to me and I've stayed at many hotels in Northern VA. The room was average the TV was a nice size and the bathroom was nice. However the toilet seat was awkward because it was really low and kind of under the counter and ours had dry urine on the seat which was off-putting . The bathroom looks new except the tub still looks very old. We asked for extra pillows that never came but it didn't even matter anymore we just grabbed something to eat and went to sleep. Not exactly the Anniversary we'd hoped for but it is what it is.

Room Tip: Get there early so you can have a better selection of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with the Key Bridge Marriott. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations and for that we sincerely apologize. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We hope that your future stays with us will be a more positive experience and will help regain your trust of the Marriott brand. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    282
    195
    71
    26
See reviews for
188
148
54
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I believe this is one of the oldest of Washington-based Marriott's properties. On a good day, it's a doable one-mile walk across the Key Bridge to the edge of Georgetown shops and restaurants. The area around the hotel offers very limited dining and entertainment options. The Roslyn Metro stop was not all that convenient. Rather than the typical opulence associated with Marriott, it felt more like a mid-priced European hotel -- small rooms, odd configuration, etc. The only restaurant open was the bar -- while serving good sandwiches and snack food and $11 pours of house wines, there was no real meal option. Apparently vegetables are banned there. I was there for a conference, so I had no choice. But I would not return for a pleasure trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the second and third floors that have meeting rooms. Noisier. Also limited view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate receiving your feedback so that we can continue to improve our service and product. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This property is in a terrific spot if you have business in DC, Arlington (Roswell) or want quick access to Georgetown. All 3 were on my list for my stay there. The room rate could not be touched. Everything is adequate, if not great. The main restaurant is closed for remodel, but grabbed a sandwich in the lounge. Breakfast options in the small coffee shop were healthful. It was a bit noisy (thin walls), but not the worst. I'd stay here again - for business.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and the hotel’s great location. We appreciate the opportunity to benefit from your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Key Bridge Marriott.

Sincerely,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Lobby and check in area are fine. Check in was well done but I was the only person there. I suspect this would have slowed immensely if it was crowded. I can overlook they are two years past an update but the room smelled and the kitchen had problem serving breakfast for some unknown reason. Not Marriott standards.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to our hotel. From your comments it seems that we did not meet your expectations or our own. I would love the opportunity to speak to you more about your experiences and establish a resolution. Your feedback is instrumental in continuing to improve our quality of service and product. Please feel free to contact me directly at (703) 908-1431. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Kind Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is so outdated, the doors to the rooms are hideous wood. The food in the restaurant (or rather, lounge), was horrible. They served me a caesar salad and forgot the dressing. The flatbread pizza was inedible. While the staff was extremely friendly and willing to accommodate guests, service was lacking as they didn't seem to have enough staff on hand when the restaurant was busy. The only good thing about this hotel was the comfortable bed. I won't stay here again. Also, the housekeeping staff were very loud with their personal conversations outside of the rooms in the hallway (very unprofessional) and disturbing when you are a guest trying to work (or relax) in your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay with us. I would like to personally apologize for the level of service your received. In order to better improve our product and service, I would like to speak to you further about your experiences. Please feel free to contact me at (703) 908-1431. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us in the future.

Warm Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel was nice. It was conveniently located. I was there several days and did not have to rent a car. I could walk to the subway station in less than 10 minutes. There were also several fast food and local cafe's within walking distance. It was a major terminal too, so you could go about anywhere.
I also really liked how close we were to Georgetown. A cab was only 15 bucks. One of the nice things they did was have flavored water sitting right by the entrance, this helps when you're walking in 100 degree weather.

The hotel was fine. It was clean and the staff was helpful. However, there was nothing special about the place. The rooms were okay but starting to get dated the lobby and the rest of the hotel was about the same. Workout room was a bit cramped but still clean and everything worked well.

I got the impression that this hotel is busy all the time. People were always going everywhere. If you are wanting a calm small hotel go somewhere else.

I felt like the hotel was pricy when I first started looking but it turns out everything in DC is pricy and this hotel was actually a good price for DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Key Bridge Marriott and for taking the time to review your visit. I’m glad to hear that you had an overall positive stay with us and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Hotel staff were all helpful and friendly. Go out of their way to take care of all needs. We originally were booked AND checked in to another nearby hotel and found the accommodations so unacceptable we sprinted over to the Marriott. One of the issues with the other hotel was their terrible soft and unsupportive bed. I was afraid I would feel the same at the Marriott and they were kind enough to let me check out the accommodations before checking in. The full buffet breakfast was delicious and worth the upgrade. I truly don't understand other negative reviews. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your delightful comments about our hotel and staff. We will be sure to share your enjoyable experience with our entire team. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Washington, DC at one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Arlington, VA, Key Bridge Marriott. Located across the river from Georgetown via a pedestrian friendly bridge, our Arlington, VA hotel offers access to the Nation's Capital, as well as many vibrant Northern Virginia neighborhoods. Newly renovated rooms and suites boast perks for the modern traveler. Experience one-of-a-kind panoramic views of nearby Georgetown. Weddings and events at our hotel are unforgettable, thanks to venues like the top-floor Capital View Ballroom, which provides amazing views of Washington, DC. And if you're here to explore the city, our hotel in Arlington near Georgetown is the perfect base. We're just three blocks from the Rosslyn Metro - allowing you to discover Washington, DC and Arlington, Virginia at your own pace. If you're in Washington for work, you'll appreciate our 22 meeting rooms, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a business center and mobile check-in and check-out. Come explore at Key Bridge Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.