We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but hotel in need of renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Save Saved
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #36 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value but hotel in need of renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We travel to Washington regularly and have stayed in many hotels in the downtown area - Westins, Hyatts, Fairmont, Sofitel, Hilton's. The Key Bridge Marriott is definitely my least favorite place to stay. It is an old hotel that needs updating but the beds are comfortable. The rooms, particularly in the winter, are very warm. As the Marriott engineering people say, the heating systems are old and they can't do much to really cool off the rooms in the winter except bring you a fan. The breakfasts, either the restaurant or the concierge lounge, are plentiful but the food is very mediocre. So if something is going on in DC which makes the downtown hotels expensive, we stay at the Key Bridge Marriott. The Marriott is well located to DC and you can walk to the Metro or over the Key Bridge to Georgetown but we are more likely to drive into DC and pay for parking. When we stay in a DC hotel we are more likely to walk most places.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the afternoon sun in the winter time so the room isn't as warm. T
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us at the Key Bridge Marriott. Your comments are one of the best tools we have for maintaining the highest level of comfort and service our guests expect and deserve. In order to better improve our quality and service I would love the opportunity to speak with you directly to discuss your experiences. Please feel free to contact me directly at (703) 524-6400. Again, thank you for your honest and constructive feedback.

Warm Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    236
    153
    59
    20
See reviews for
160
122
46
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had an issue with a guest.
The manager Erica was responsive quick and she was able to transform my anger and discomfort into a big smile and satisfaction. I really liked that and made my stay pleasent for the teminder of my stay. THANK YOU Erica. I will always remember that and I 'd definatly recommend this hotel and come back if I am in D C.
The location is close to almost everything. Again thank you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Recent Traveler,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you received exceptional customer service from one of our hosts. I have passed on your kind words to Erica and the rest of our team members. Thank you again for your thoughtful feedback and we hope to have you visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We’re devoted Marriott guests who thought twice about booking here since the rates were impossibly low for the location. A frequent visitor to the hotel convinced us to give it a chance. We were happy we did.

Be warned: It’s not the typical Marriott, but if you’re looking for a soft bed, easy (affordable) parking, convenient location (across the bridge from Georgetown or steps from the Metro) and a beautiful view, stay here. The common areas were updated and staffed by friendly servers who were attentive to our needs. While our room was clean, offered plenty of hot water and soft towels it had a small bathroom, limited open floor space for luggage and would benefit from an update.

Bottom line: If you’re not planning to hang around the hotel, just intending to dash in and out, the hotel should meet your need, as it did ours. If you’re looking for a lavish DC suite, keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to improve the odds for that great skyline view
See more room tips
Green Features: thanks for offering the option to reuse towels. when will you start to offer in-room recycling?
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Executive Assistant at Key Bridge Marriott, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Denise W.,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at the Key Bridge Marriott. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on all the highlights we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Marriott Brand and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great location with a wonderful and helpful staff. They gave us a nice quiet room with an amazing view. Georgetown is so close you can walk. The room was very clean and comfortable. Small problems with the older hotel but management was very helpful. The coffee maker didn't work but management was wonderful offering us a replacement and free coffee in their cafe. I was happy with our stay and would stay here again. The Lobby in this hotel is very nice too. Also, the bedding was really nice with plush comforters. The staff makes this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Someone told me recently that this was the first Marriott. It looks like it. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - it's just a shame they have to work in a battered old dump. For the best experience, stay in the lobby - it's the only modern thing about this hotel. Sorry, but I've stayed here 3 times and until it's renovated, I won't be back. Someone also told me that their occupancy rates are so high, that a refit is unlikely to happen. Shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It is with great disappointment that I write this review. Upon arrival at the Key Bridge Marriott on 12/31/2013 immediately me and my guest agreed that it was one of the worst Marriott locations we have seen in regards to quality. I checked in my first room only to find that it was one king bed instead of 2 double beds so we have to go back downstairs and switch rooms (no problem). We arrived in our second room only to be disappointed again by the appearance and quality of the room. I've stayed at several Marriott locations over the years and expect a certain quality and consistency from the brand that wasn't upheld. We switched rooms again to room 1491 which wasn't "nice" by far but was "better" than the first two.

The issues and complaints didn't lie in the quality of the rooms (it was explained to us that the Key Bridge property was in fact the first Marriott built and it was quite dated)-- fine. The problem lies in the fact that on the morning of 01/01/2014 we woke up and proceeded to open the draperies only to find 2 pieces of feces on the floor behind the draperies. In total SHOCK and disgust we called the front desk and asked for a manager to come and handle the situation and discuss this with us. Nearly 30 minutes passed and still no response from a manager. However housekeeping came to "clean it up". Personally I feel as if this matter is a bit more serious than simply "cleaning it up". After calling twice we finally got a manger that didn't offer many solutions for us. Needless to say this has been taken up to higher management. I wouldn't recommend THIS location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked 2 rooms last minute for an unheard of low rate ...upon check- in May made sure we got 2 rooms with Washington Monument views. She was delightful and very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathrooms had nice granite sinks, a bit older and basic tile in the shower, but sparkling clean. We ate at the lounge - the food was good, the drinks were a bit pricey but that's normal for a hotel lounge. We had breakfast in the restaurant... The brunch was plentiful and the service (Tony) was excellent.
The pool was a great temperature and the hot tub as well.

Overall the service was gracious, attentive and above average.
The rooms had beautiful views and were very comfortable. One small complaint... sheets in each room had small tears in them. Our mattress was a bit old and, though comfy, sagged in the middle.
If we had paid a lot for the rooms, I might complain, but each was under $100, so with the view and the service and the pool and a short walk over the bridge to Georgetown and 2 blocks from Metro and the Connector bus.... I feel like we got a deal!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just across the Potomac River from Georgetown, our hotel offers panoramic views of the sights and sounds of the nation's capital. Being a premier choice among Arlington, VA and Georgetown, DC hotels, we provide direct access to Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport as well as the corporations and government agencies of Northern Virginia saving you travel time in and out of the District. For travelers looking to take in the area's famous landmarks such as the Smithsonian Museums, Iwo Jima Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery and the National Monuments, hop on the DC Metro system at the Rosslyn Metro station, only 3 blocks from our front door. You'll find stylish surroundings inside our hotel as well. Our hotel features an open lobby with private seating nooks and complimentary wireless internet access. Our Revival Restaurant and Connexion Lounge offer an classic dishes and comfort foods with a modern interpretation. We also offer 17,000 sq ft of event space across 22 rooms including the top-floor Capital View Ballroom which seats up to 300 and offers penthouse views. Perfect for your next celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.