We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for DC and northern VA business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Alaska
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best location for DC and northern VA business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

The Key Bridge Marriott in Rosslyn, VA, is an old hotel. I first stayed here in the late 1970s. During a memorable lunch in the summer of 1979, the dropped ceiling collapsed on three of us. The dining room manager offered apologies and a free meal, but the hotel manager was less than sympathetic, so I swore not to return. However, time heals all wounds, including the cut on my hand, so a decade later I started coming back.

The property has undergone many renovations and additions in the subsequent years, not the least of which is a relatively recent makeover of the lobby, bar, and restaurant. The former lobby used to feel like a grotto and very old-school with a dark wood reception desk and similar paneling on many walls. That perception is a thing of the past. The updates have transformed the ground level common areas into modern, airy, welcoming venues with sandstone and marble as well as (faux?) leather and material wall coverings. House music is light and jazzy, so the mood does not feel rushed or too serious.

The rooms, while not as up-to-date, are generally comfortable and furnished well with beds I really find to be some of the best in my many travels. The bathroom in my room was small-ish but featured a lovely big shower head. The water temperature was difficult to adjust, however, and the control was long overdue for replacement. Also, I hated the desk chair, which could not be easily adjusted and had poor back support. My most recent room had a stunning view of Key Bridge, Georgetown University, and the Potomac River. During an earlier stay, the view included the Washington Monument and other capital landmarks.

Wireless internet (Ibahn) is available in the lobby, but I found it to be frustratingly slow to get logged in, so I gave up trying. The wireless signal is spotty from the upper floors, including the 12th-floor concierge lounge, but there’s always the old standby of a wired network drop at the desk in each room.

The Connexion Lounge and Revival Restaurant are just off the main lobby and offer a decent selection of food and drink. Appetizers, salads, and sandwiches are available from the bar menu. Service is excellent and always with a smile. Food quality is very good with fresh ingredients. Each dish is plated nicely with fun little touches here and there. Prices are modest for a hotel. A bottled beer will set you back about $5.00, and a lunch of Mighty Mo (double-decker Angus burger) with a non-alcoholic drink runs around $16. While Rosslyn itself has a few restaurants along Wilson Boulevard, you should consider crossing Key Bridge into Georgetown for great dining and drinking options. Alternatively, hop the Metro three blocks away (5 minutes) and head to Dupont Circle or other lively night spots in DC. Alexandria is about 20 minutes away by car, too, for even more choices.

The concierge lounge has seating for about 25, so it can get a little crowded during weekday breakfast (6:30-10 AM) and evening hors d’ouevers (5:30-7:30 PM). The lounge features an honor bar for adult beverages in the evening. It is closed on weekends. Plan accordingly.

I especially like the Key Bridge Marriott for its location. It’s easy to get there from DCA (Reagan National Airport), whether you drive, take a taxi (about $17), or hop the Metro (less than $2). It is also adjacent to I-66, which will bring you to/from IAD (Dulles Airport). There is plenty of on-site parking ($15/day), and several shuttles, including a Georgetown bus, are available. If business or tourism takes you into DC, the Pentagon, or Crystal City, leave the car and get on the Metro.

All in all, this hotel offers a comfortable, friendly place to stay while giving you easy, affordable access to many places in and around downtown DC and suburban Virginia.

(FYI for Marriott Rewards members: The Key Bridge Marriott is a category 5 hotel.)

  • Liked — Location and easy access to DC area attractions
  • Disliked — Parking garage access key malfunction
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    292
    200
    74
    27
See reviews for
190
154
57
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

I was in Washington, DC on business and the company booked this hotel. They have completed several renovations and are currently completing a dining room. The renovations did not bother our group at all. The room was impeccably clean, the bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. The food for our meetings was excellent. There is a restaurant on the 14th floor with beautiful views of the surrounding area. I took the Metro from Reagan to the Roslyn station for $1.35, it took ten minutes. The Metro is two blocks from the hotel and was an easy and safe walk. The same Metro was very convenient to see all the sights in DC at a very low cost. Georgetown is across the river and you can either walk there, take a bus or taxi. I did not find the walk that difficult. There are some great shops and restaurants in Georgetown. My group ate on the waterfront overlooking Watergate and the Kennedy Center and it was gorgeous.

The hotel staff was courteous and very helpful. The concierge reviewed a map with me and suggested places to go. I will be returning to DC for business over the next two years and would not hesitate to stay at the Key Bridge.

  • Liked — The convenience of the Metro and nearby Georgetown
  • Disliked — It did require some walking to the Metro and Georgetown
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Stayed two nights while attending a business conference nearby. Renovations still underway, but the lobby looks like it will be done in just another week or two. Nice new bar area is already finished. There's a little shop off the lobby that sells Starbucks coffee/drinks and other snacks. Rooms are small and fairly ordinary, but otherwise fine. The best part is the moderate price for this hotel class and the good location. Metro stop is about 1-2 blocks away, which will take you almost anywhere in D.C. An easy 10-15 minute walk over the Key Bridge allows you to eat, drink and shop in Georgetown, and it felt like a safe walk with many other people around. There are always cabs waiting in the parking lot if you want another option. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Spent one night here for a wedding. Decent price. Given a corner room on the 8th floor with floor to ceiling windows overlooking DC and Rosslyn. The room was on the small side, but it was clean and the view more than made up for it. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Amazing view and great location
  • Disliked — Wired internet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

Marriott Key Bridge is in a good location. Just across the key bridge is Georgetown area and the mall is just a short cab ride. Typical Marriott with rooms pretty small but they were in good condition. The only problem is that the hotel is under update construction. The hotel lobby is closed and blocked off. The lobby is actually in a hotel room. The bar and dinning is in makeshift facilities on the 14th floor. Should be nice once completed. Unless you get a good rate I would go somewhere else until construction is completed.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

This hotel is under construction. It was like sleeping in a war zone. There was no internet connectivity, wireless or otherwise. I could not prepare for my presentation. I travel to DC frequently. I will avoid this hotel. Staff were not helpful. They did nothing to assist with the problem. Teenagers were running through the halls. There must have be 50 of them. It was not cheap enough for the disruptions, lack of service, etc.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

rooms are nice, stayed there for 1 night at a special rate, but every cheap motel is providing free wireless internet and the mariott doesn't have one!!!! pay for hardwire 10 bucks a day from noon to noon.

the room is clean, the bathroom is little small but ok. But no breakfast included.....

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Washington, DC at one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Arlington, VA, Key Bridge Marriott. Located across the river from Georgetown via a pedestrian friendly bridge, our Arlington, VA hotel offers access to the Nation's Capital, as well as many vibrant Northern Virginia neighborhoods. Newly renovated rooms and suites boast perks for the modern traveler. Experience one-of-a-kind panoramic views of nearby Georgetown. Weddings and events at our hotel are unforgettable, thanks to venues like the top-floor Capital View Ballroom, which provides amazing views of Washington, DC. And if you're here to explore the city, our hotel in Arlington near Georgetown is the perfect base. We're just three blocks from the Rosslyn Metro - allowing you to discover Washington, DC and Arlington, Virginia at your own pace. If you're in Washington for work, you'll appreciate our 22 meeting rooms, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a business center and mobile check-in and check-out. Come explore at Key Bridge Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.