We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but worn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Save Saved
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Ranked #36 of 47 hotels in Arlington
NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient but worn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed multiple times at this hotel over the years. It is located within walking distance to the Rosslyn metro station and to Georgetown. Its convenient location to transportation and helpful staff are reasons to return. But, with each stay the hotel is more and more run down. The lobby was recently redone a few years ago, but the rooms were never updated. The rooms are standard and acceptable, but during this stay I noticed the wear-and-tear in the bathroom more than before. The tile in the tub has been re-caulked many times, the vent was moldy, and the "floor" of the tub seemed to be lifting and forming a bubble. It seems that all of the rooms and floors could use a good updating in order to keep up with competition in the area. The infrastructure issues are to no fault of the hotel staff who I have always had positive encounters with. They are quick to answer questions and assist in finding a taxi. Overall, the location and staff continue to make a stay at the Key Bridge enjoyable, but a facelift would take away any consideration of staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    241
    161
    58
    21
See reviews for
167
125
46
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A group of my friends stayed here over the Memorial Day Holiday weekend. The rate for the room was very reasonable so even with mixed reviews on TA, we decided to stay there.

The hotel is quite big with a 3 Level section and a tower section. Many say the decor is dated, I did not seem to notice. The lobby has a nice large seating area. There is a bar, lounge , and resturant. We did the breakfast buffet each morning and there are many items including an omelette station that make eggs, omelettes, and belgian waffles.

The room was large and comfy. The mattress just right for a good night sleep. The bathroom had plenty of towels and soaps/shampoos.

The property had an indoor/outdoor pool. There was plenty of lounge chairs within the pool area and outside the pool gate to sit. Was nice to get some sun after a day of touring.

The location of the property is nice. It is a 6 minute walk to the Rosslyn metro station, which is the first metro stop in VA. You can easily walk to Georgetown as well, it was a nice walk across the bridge which lets you off right on M Street where the sotres and resturants are.

The only downside of this property was the ventilation of the room. It was a bit stuffy even while running the airconditioning.

I would stay at this property again if I got a good rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, when business and/or family brings us to Washington, DC. The Marriott Key Bridge is very busy, and could use a lobby at least twice the current size. The convenient location to Georgetown is what keeps me coming back, but I plan henceforth to use the JW Marriott downtown which is noticeably more roomy and chic. A serious problem with the MKB is that they appear to turn off the air conditioning at 11pm or midnight, making for a less than pleasurable sleeping experience as the temperature rises. This is more apparent during May to October, as one would expect, but it has been a consistent problem during many previous stays. Our room was near the elevator last week, which was somewhat noisy. On a positive note, the staff is always friendly and ready to help.

Room Tip: Normally, I prefer a room near the elevator, but would advise against that at this hotel. Some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had a chance to stay at Key Bridge Marriott another time since last review and wanted to leave some tips for business travelers. As discussed last time, this is among the worst physical plants in the Marriott system and the staff, which is very good, is challenged to make up for Marriott's failure to modernize the property.

As for rooms, you should insist on a room near the main elevators in the original part of the property. These rooms are just as old and non-renovated, but they don't have the pool smell or humidity of the rooms in the extended part of the property. They are also more convenient. So convenience and the AC works - insist on them. Also, the Internet works better in these rooms. I was in a x97 at the other end of the building and Internet was terrible.

Other notes: gym is ok - it's a little crowded and dated, but can't complain. As noted, tourist groups get very low rates here so you'll be paying double them if you stay on a business rate.

Staff is lovely - bless them. Have no idea why the corporate parent leaves this as such a eye sore. They do their best to make up for it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for a graduation weekend. The lobby is busy but the front desk staff is efficient. The bellmen are the best part of this hotel, from helping with your bags, getting a cab, and offering a friendly, warm greeting whenever they see you.

The room was dirty. There were open candies and their wrappers under the bed, which indicates that the floor was not vacuumed. There were hairs in the bathroom. The wallpaper is peeling. The coffee maker needs to be replaced or updated because you cannot possibly drink the brown liquid it produces.

The hotel was very noisy, which is not their fault because it was a busy weekend. It should be noted that it is located directly under the flightpath to the runway of Reagan National Airport.
Overall, if you cannot find any other hotel in the DC Metro area, then for a night it is OK. But spend a little more on a better kept hotel if you have the means and opportunity.

It should be noted that getting to the hotel from Georgetown is a traffic nightmare. Allow yourself plenty of time to get anywhere and be prepared for tangled traffic jams through narrow, but pretty, streets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When I saw the exterior of the hotel, I was not impressed because it seemed old. However, When we came into the lobby, the interior was updated and stylish. The staff was very professional and attended to our check-in very promptly. This was important because I was checking in several individuals traveling in a group. They handled it with ease. We ate in their lounge area one evening, and the food was a bit expensive, but not higher than you would expect in this location. The staff, again, was courteous, attentive and prompt. The BEST things about this hotel are it's location (a quick walk across the bridge to Georgetown!) the beds (soooo soft and comfortable!) and the staff (very professional). I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last night and I have to say the room was very nice. Very clean and nicely setup. The bathroom was clean, but looked like it was from the 80's. some paint was chipping and would not be suitable for anyone over 6 feet 2 inches. I am six feet tall and the shower head was at my chin. But overall this is a great hotel and nice spot to be in the city. I would return to this hotel again and enjoy their great hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just across the Potomac River from Georgetown, our hotel offers panoramic views of the sights and sounds of the nation's capital. Being a premier choice among Arlington, VA and Georgetown, DC hotels, we provide direct access to Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport as well as the corporations and government agencies of Northern Virginia saving you travel time in and out of the District. For travelers looking to take in the area's famous landmarks such as the Smithsonian Museums, Iwo Jima Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery and the National Monuments, hop on the DC Metro system at the Rosslyn Metro station, only 3 blocks from our front door. You'll find stylish surroundings inside our hotel as well. Our hotel features an open lobby with private seating nooks and complimentary wireless internet access. Our Revival Restaurant and Connexion Lounge offer an classic dishes and comfort foods with a modern interpretation. We also offer 17,000 sq ft of event space across 22 rooms including the top-floor Capital View Ballroom which seats up to 300 and offers penthouse views. Perfect for your next celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.