We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Boston
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Busy place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, when business and/or family brings us to Washington, DC. The Marriott Key Bridge is very busy, and could use a lobby at least twice the current size. The convenient location to Georgetown is what keeps me coming back, but I plan henceforth to use the JW Marriott downtown which is noticeably more roomy and chic. A serious problem with the MKB is that they appear to turn off the air conditioning at 11pm or midnight, making for a less than pleasurable sleeping experience as the temperature rises. This is more apparent during May to October, as one would expect, but it has been a consistent problem during many previous stays. Our room was near the elevator last week, which was somewhat noisy. On a positive note, the staff is always friendly and ready to help.

Room Tip: Normally, I prefer a room near the elevator, but would advise against that at this hotel. Some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    292
    200
    74
    27
See reviews for
190
154
57
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a chance to stay at Key Bridge Marriott another time since last review and wanted to leave some tips for business travelers. As discussed last time, this is among the worst physical plants in the Marriott system and the staff, which is very good, is challenged to make up for Marriott's failure to modernize the property.

As for rooms, you should insist on a room near the main elevators in the original part of the property. These rooms are just as old and non-renovated, but they don't have the pool smell or humidity of the rooms in the extended part of the property. They are also more convenient. So convenience and the AC works - insist on them. Also, the Internet works better in these rooms. I was in a x97 at the other end of the building and Internet was terrible.

Other notes: gym is ok - it's a little crowded and dated, but can't complain. As noted, tourist groups get very low rates here so you'll be paying double them if you stay on a business rate.

Staff is lovely - bless them. Have no idea why the corporate parent leaves this as such a eye sore. They do their best to make up for it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for a graduation weekend. The lobby is busy but the front desk staff is efficient. The bellmen are the best part of this hotel, from helping with your bags, getting a cab, and offering a friendly, warm greeting whenever they see you.

The room was dirty. There were open candies and their wrappers under the bed, which indicates that the floor was not vacuumed. There were hairs in the bathroom. The wallpaper is peeling. The coffee maker needs to be replaced or updated because you cannot possibly drink the brown liquid it produces.

The hotel was very noisy, which is not their fault because it was a busy weekend. It should be noted that it is located directly under the flightpath to the runway of Reagan National Airport.
Overall, if you cannot find any other hotel in the DC Metro area, then for a night it is OK. But spend a little more on a better kept hotel if you have the means and opportunity.

It should be noted that getting to the hotel from Georgetown is a traffic nightmare. Allow yourself plenty of time to get anywhere and be prepared for tangled traffic jams through narrow, but pretty, streets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When I saw the exterior of the hotel, I was not impressed because it seemed old. However, When we came into the lobby, the interior was updated and stylish. The staff was very professional and attended to our check-in very promptly. This was important because I was checking in several individuals traveling in a group. They handled it with ease. We ate in their lounge area one evening, and the food was a bit expensive, but not higher than you would expect in this location. The staff, again, was courteous, attentive and prompt. The BEST things about this hotel are it's location (a quick walk across the bridge to Georgetown!) the beds (soooo soft and comfortable!) and the staff (very professional). I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last night and I have to say the room was very nice. Very clean and nicely setup. The bathroom was clean, but looked like it was from the 80's. some paint was chipping and would not be suitable for anyone over 6 feet 2 inches. I am six feet tall and the shower head was at my chin. But overall this is a great hotel and nice spot to be in the city. I would return to this hotel again and enjoy their great hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel since it was the flagship of the brand and since I now live out of town, I had the chance.
The front staff and everyone there was outstanding. They made our one night stay great. The room was very well appointed. The only thing that would have made it better was free Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Buy a metro card for double the amount you think you will need, its very confusing to out of towners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed her in May 2013 and thought it was a wonderful hotel. I'm not sure what people are saying about the rooms being small....mine was a good size. I didn't have a great view ( only the pool, which wasn't opened yet) but the room was a nice size, clean and the bed was WONDERFUL!! The staff is very helpful and friendly. It's a great location. I was here for a conference, so I didn't pay for my room. The food at the conference was great too. I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. Would be nice if wi-fi was included in the room price, but you can't have everything!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Washington, DC at one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Arlington, VA, Key Bridge Marriott. Located across the river from Georgetown via a pedestrian friendly bridge, our Arlington, VA hotel offers access to the Nation's Capital, as well as many vibrant Northern Virginia neighborhoods. Newly renovated rooms and suites boast perks for the modern traveler. Experience one-of-a-kind panoramic views of nearby Georgetown. Weddings and events at our hotel are unforgettable, thanks to venues like the top-floor Capital View Ballroom, which provides amazing views of Washington, DC. And if you're here to explore the city, our hotel in Arlington near Georgetown is the perfect base. We're just three blocks from the Rosslyn Metro - allowing you to discover Washington, DC and Arlington, Virginia at your own pace. If you're in Washington for work, you'll appreciate our 22 meeting rooms, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a business center and mobile check-in and check-out. Come explore at Key Bridge Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.