We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key Bridge Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Key Bridge Marriott to your Saves list
Key Bridge Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 25% Off
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Oyster Bay, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for a graduation weekend. The lobby is busy but the front desk staff is efficient. The bellmen are the best part of this hotel, from helping with your bags, getting a cab, and offering a friendly, warm greeting whenever they see you.

The room was dirty. There were open candies and their wrappers under the bed, which indicates that the floor was not vacuumed. There were hairs in the bathroom. The wallpaper is peeling. The coffee maker needs to be replaced or updated because you cannot possibly drink the brown liquid it produces.

The hotel was very noisy, which is not their fault because it was a busy weekend. It should be noted that it is located directly under the flightpath to the runway of Reagan National Airport.
Overall, if you cannot find any other hotel in the DC Metro area, then for a night it is OK. But spend a little more on a better kept hotel if you have the means and opportunity.

It should be noted that getting to the hotel from Georgetown is a traffic nightmare. Allow yourself plenty of time to get anywhere and be prepared for tangled traffic jams through narrow, but pretty, streets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    285
    195
    71
    26
See reviews for
189
149
54
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When I saw the exterior of the hotel, I was not impressed because it seemed old. However, When we came into the lobby, the interior was updated and stylish. The staff was very professional and attended to our check-in very promptly. This was important because I was checking in several individuals traveling in a group. They handled it with ease. We ate in their lounge area one evening, and the food was a bit expensive, but not higher than you would expect in this location. The staff, again, was courteous, attentive and prompt. The BEST things about this hotel are it's location (a quick walk across the bridge to Georgetown!) the beds (soooo soft and comfortable!) and the staff (very professional). I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last night and I have to say the room was very nice. Very clean and nicely setup. The bathroom was clean, but looked like it was from the 80's. some paint was chipping and would not be suitable for anyone over 6 feet 2 inches. I am six feet tall and the shower head was at my chin. But overall this is a great hotel and nice spot to be in the city. I would return to this hotel again and enjoy their great hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel since it was the flagship of the brand and since I now live out of town, I had the chance.
The front staff and everyone there was outstanding. They made our one night stay great. The room was very well appointed. The only thing that would have made it better was free Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Buy a metro card for double the amount you think you will need, its very confusing to out of towners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed her in May 2013 and thought it was a wonderful hotel. I'm not sure what people are saying about the rooms being small....mine was a good size. I didn't have a great view ( only the pool, which wasn't opened yet) but the room was a nice size, clean and the bed was WONDERFUL!! The staff is very helpful and friendly. It's a great location. I was here for a conference, so I didn't pay for my room. The food at the conference was great too. I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. Would be nice if wi-fi was included in the room price, but you can't have everything!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've stayed in the Key Bridge Marriott countless times as a regular business traveller to the DC area. I've stayed in other hotels in Arlington, and within its price range the Marriott probably offers the best value.

Location: You can walk to the Metro station in about 5 minutes, although the route first time round isn't obvious (you can go by street level, or via some rather data concrete walkways over the roads). There are ALWAYS taxis waiting in the hotel parking lot, which makes the dash to the airport a little less stressful. The Marriott is also very close to a bus stop for a service called the Circulator that'll take you into Georgetown or the rest of DC quickly and for $1 (dirt cheap). If you are driving, there is a big parking lot and very easy access to the major routes into DC and out into Virginia. There are not a ton of good restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but within a 15-20 minute walk or a short drive there are plenty of good places in Arlington (Courthouse, Clarendon) and Georgetown.

Service: The front desk and concierge are perfectly helpful, but I reserve special praise for the staff at the hotel bar. Excellent, friendly service and they ALWAYS remember me and say hello -- even if there has been a 6-month gap between visits. The food is reasonable and they have wine specials, a good beer range, and plenty of free bar snacks (which keeps me going as I work in the bar using the free wifi -- my one grumble is that there's no free wifi in the rooms). I have heard that the restaurant is great but I usually work too late to test it for myself. The bar is almost always busy, as the hotel regularly hosts conferences and coach parties, and that gives it a nice atmosphere.

Accommodation: this is the very first, original Marriott and you can tell from the architecture. It's not a pretty hotel. The interior has had a full renovation reasonably recently but it's still got a slightly 80s/90s feel to it. The rooms are large and perfectly adequate, but not appointed to the highest levels of luxury. Functional and serviceable, I'd say. The daily room service is excellent and again, the staff are friendly and welcoming. If you'd like a view, then ask for a room on the Georgetown or river side, and get a higher floor. A city-side room means you're looking at Arlington, which isn't saying much.

Exercise facilities: there is a pool that I've never used but it is popular and a decent size. The gym facilities are crammed into a series of rooms in the basement -- it's not perfect, but it works. If it's busy you might face a wait to use the machine or weights of your choice, but it's rarely been busy when I've visited.

Other: there is a small shop which will sell you all those little things you sometimes forget when travelling, as well as newspapers, magazines, drinks / snacks, postcards, gifts / souvenirs, and the Starbucks coffee of your choice.

Overall: I have a soft spot for this hotel as it's a borderline second home for me, and that takes it from a review of 3 to a 4. It'll do the job for a tourist wanting to see DC, or anyone doing business in NW DC or Arlington. It won't blow your socks off, but it won't suck either.

Room Tip: Choose a Georgetown side room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a wonderful, rest-filled weekend..... The room was very nice & comfortable. The bedding felt like heaven! Nice hangers, but never enough. Coffee machine, but no small fridge :(.
The breakfast buffet was $16.95, however, was not 'my cup of tea'. I am not agreeable to spending that much on my least favorite meal.....breakfast. The STARBUCKS in the Lobby offers a coffee, danish, begal, etc. a la carte breakfast & with tables & chairs in the reception area so it is easy to find a quiet spot. The coffee girls were a welcome sight .....
The work rm. with computers was helpful & we also used the receptionist up front to get our confirmed flight info copied. She was very helpful. Cheery & well-informed!
The pool is on the main floor - indoor & outdoor, but the weekend was chilly, & we didn't use it.
Taxi's are ever ready at the main door, but parking is a tight squeeze out front when available.
Easy walking access to Georgetown shoppes across the Key Bridge.
Have a wonderful time at this landmark - I stayed here in the 60's when it was just a little motel - 4 stories - close to my college for friends & family. It is alot bigger now & so is the traffic!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to see the view from the 14th floor. Wow! There had been a wedding on the clear night so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Key Bridge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Bridge Marriott

Address: 1401 Lee Hwy., Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Bridge Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Washington, DC at one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Arlington, VA, Key Bridge Marriott. Located across the river from Georgetown via a pedestrian friendly bridge, our Arlington, VA hotel offers access to the Nation's Capital, as well as many vibrant Northern Virginia neighborhoods. Newly renovated rooms and suites boast perks for the modern traveler. Experience one-of-a-kind panoramic views of nearby Georgetown. Weddings and events at our hotel are unforgettable, thanks to venues like the top-floor Capital View Ballroom, which provides amazing views of Washington, DC. And if you're here to explore the city, our hotel in Arlington near Georgetown is the perfect base. We're just three blocks from the Rosslyn Metro - allowing you to discover Washington, DC and Arlington, Virginia at your own pace. If you're in Washington for work, you'll appreciate our 22 meeting rooms, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a business center and mobile check-in and check-out. Come explore at Key Bridge Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Key Bridge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Bridge Marriott Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Key Bridge
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Bridge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.