We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #23 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

I recently spent four days at this hotel for a conference. Overall this is a good place to stay, though I think it is a bit expensive. We stayed here because the conference was also held in the same hotel. So for convenience it was excellent. Our room was in great condition though the bathroom was a bit small. We did not eat in the hotel restaurants but $17 for a hamburger via room service seemed a bit much. There was also a fee for wireless internet. The pool area was a bit old, small, and boring. Few chairs, no umbrellas and no shade. The hot tub was broken for our entire stay. The gift shop/store was open until 11PM and offered ice cream, microwavable meals, snacks, etc. So I found the gift shop to be very useful. The employees were very, very friendly and helpful. You pay a high price for the amenities such a good business center, concierge desk, valet parking, good fitness center, quick service to/from airport, luggage stowage, lobby bar, etc. If this is what you want, then this is a good place to stay. If this is not what you want, then the hotel is too expensive. I would not have paid the high price for a vacation stay or casual business stay. But for hosting a conference it was great and I have no complaints (except for the hot tub).

It is a short walk to many dining options on Crystal Drive and/or 23rd Street. They offer a shuttle to the Metro subway station. If you choose to walk there, it takes about 10 minutes. This is manageable even when pulling luggage but do yourself a favor and wait on the shuttle. I never waited more than 5 minutes for a shuttle to pick me up at the subway station.

Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    278
    123
    66
    25
See reviews for
106
98
80
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This hotel was a very nice one with lovely and comfortable rooms. Pretty much what you would expect from a modern Hyatt in a major city. We got a heavily discounted rate, which is why we chose this particular hotel. But even at regular rates, I believe it is a relatively good value for the DC area.

When I made the reservation, I did some research related to the proximity to the metro station, and it says it is a few blocks away, which makes it seem as though it would be an easy walk, but that is a bit misleading. It is much further than that, and not really walkable due to the kind of roads. The hotel provides a shuttle to the metro and the DCA (National/Reagan) airport, which is nice. The times we used the shuttle it was never on time and so was pretty inconvenient. Also, it stops picking up at the metro station at 12 midnight (on weekends). If you are planning on staying out past that time, it is quite inconvenient as it is also difficult to get a taxi from the metro to the hotel. We actually ended up taking the metro one stop more to the airport where we thought there would be more taxis available, but it was also very difficult to find a taxi there at that time. We would have preferred a hotel that was in walking distance from the metro as we wouldn't have had to worry about this issue. Some of our relatives were staying in a similarly priced hotel which was half a block from a metro stop--to me, it would be worth even paying a bit extra for that convenience. There are also not very many restaurants in proximity to the hotel, so be aware of that.

The metro was the only issue. If you are not worried about taking a shuttle to the metro or about the time constraints, then this is a very nice and comfortable hotel. Would be a great hotel if you have a car, if you are a business traveler, or if you are a family who is not planning on staying out in the city late.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Very nice two-night stay with two kids 8 and 10. Clean room, no weird hotel smells. Elegant contemporary bathroom. Comfortable beds. Very helpful staff -- allowed me to keep my car in their garage for a few hours after checkout, for no additional charge. Shuttle to Crystal City metro stop was convenient. Had wonderful meals at Legal Seafoods and Ted's Montana Grill -- both restaurants just a few blocks away, convenient to walk to.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Remember as you read reviews for any hotel property that those with unfavorable experiences are substantially more likely to write reviews. This is a beautiful, well appointed 3+ star property that is exceedingly convenient to both National Airport and DC. The rooms are elegant and understated and the common areas are spotless. We stayed there, this most recent trip, at the same time as a high school prom was conducted in the main ballroom. We heard nothing from our room.
Be mindful that internet access from the rooms is not free and parking on the street (nights and weekends) is free; there is a reduced price lot next door to the property as well as valet parking. No car? Shuttle service to the Metro and the airport. This is the place to stay in Crystal City with no close second choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Our stay in this hotel was great! I've traveled from China to Europe and Hawaii and this is a very nice hotel. The concierge was very helpful, booking our tours, giving directions to our destinations, etc. The shuttle runs every 15 minutes to and from the Metro station, which is also a mini-mall with shops, drug store, fast food places. The Metro stop is on the "blue line" which gets you within walking distance of most tourist sites. The most helpful thing was that we were able to get our boarding passes from the computer located at the end of the check-in counter. Housekeeping lacked a bit in that twice in our 12 night stay we didn't get enough towels, once they forgot the coffee service (which is Starbucks coffee).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

The place was clean, new and modern and the rooms are nice, but we got stuck in a room that connected to the neighboring room with a door, so we could hear every single word our neighbors said, even talking at normal conversation levels. I reported the problem to the front desk and they were apologetic, but because the hotel was booked up, they couldn’t move us. They did offer to move us the next day, but because we were only staying another day, it would have been more trouble than it was worth. They left it at that and didn’t offer up anything else in return for our inconvenience, so I can’t say that they went out of their way to make it up to us. I might consider staying there again, but I’d definitely make sure I didn’t have an adjoining room. And that’s my advice for other travelers: let them know you don’t want an adjoining room, unless you enjoy hearing your neighbors as if they were in the room with you, then by all means, request an adjoining room. My suggestion to the hotel is: soundproof those doors – put some insulation in them or something, because the noise issue is something you’d expect at a 2 star hotel, but definitely NOT a 4 star one. It’s an easy fix, so fix it.

Also, another tip on the hotel - don't pay their outrageous rates forwireless internet service ($10 a day!!), but rather hook up to the free wireless that the Marriot next door offers. Their range is good enough to reach some rooms in the Hyatt, so save yourself some money and use the free wireless by the Hyatt's neighbors. Also, try out the other restaurants located in the area versus getting room service because the Hyatt's food offerings are expensive for what you get. We paid $15 for Quesadillas - which was basically two 5 inch tortillas folded over cheese - way too much money for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

My 8th grade class came to Washington DC for a class trip and we stayed at this hotel. It was a very conveniently located hotel just outside Washington DC in Crystal City, VA. All the important memorials, monuments and buildings were just a bus trip away. The rooms were very cozy and the beds were comfortable. Although we ate our lunches and dinners outside the hotel, the mini breakfast buffet in the upstairs Chesapeake Grill was decent. It's also really close to the Reagan National Airport (we did not go by plane). I wouldn't recommend this for a leisurely trip, only a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.