We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greensboro,NC
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

The Hyatt chain is usually consistently good and this was no exception. Although this property is listed to be an airport hotel, I did not see the airport and it did not have that feel. Crystal City appears to be a newer part of Arlington and has lots of hotels and restaurants.

The Hyatt is a large property with a grand lobby. There is a coffee shop, a bar, a store and plenty of sitting areas on the main floor. The staff was very good.

The rooms looked like they were recently remodeled and were clean and comfortable. No complaints at all.

I did not eat at the restaurant on the rooftop as there were other choices and had a good meal at Legal Seafood.

Overall, probably 4 1/2 star property. The best part was the rate: $82 for a Sunday night. Incredible for the DC area. I would highly recommend this if you are doing business in northern VA or DC.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    308
    142
    71
    29
See reviews for
123
106
88
396
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

Continental put me up at the Hyatt after my flight got canceled. Check-in went very smooth and pleasant, excellent service. The rooms are spacious and pleasant with a couch and table - i really liked the layout of the rooms. the beds were very comfortable. Room service gave me an estimation of the time my food would be ready, which was helpful even though they were 5 mins late. The extra charges on the room service are quite rediculous - 3.50 delivery fee, + 20% gratuity - that turns a $17 burger into a $30 dollar meal - yikes! Upon check-out however the front desk was surprisingly unpleasant! the hotel had some life to it and the shuttle to Reagan was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

the views are nice if your room has overall, i'd steer clear o fhtis place. There were problems starting with my online reservations. I needed to add a night, which was not available. that was fair but when i tried to cancel so i could stay the whole trip in one hotel, they said there was a $50 cancellation fee. This was a MONTH before the stay. So I swallowed my tongue and kept the reservation. The online concierge was a bust. Took a day to get emailed response. why flaunt this service when there IS no service? Internet access was pricey AND bad. Business oriented hotels hould NOT charge for wireless when they soak you for nearly $300 a night--which by the way--is very hard to get approved these days.
Better to stay at a cheaper place and not be nickel and dimed to death.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Two annoying problems here: the wireless internet is NOT free ($10/day), and the staff has obviously been instructed not to reveal where the self-park lot is (right next door as it turns out) for those of us who don't want to pay valet rates. After getting zero information from the desk clerk, the valet, and the hotel lot attendant, I was able to find it myself simply by going around the block once. This was our last stop in a trip of different hotels each night, and the only one without free internet. The room was perfectly fine, however, designed with an asian flair (stainless steel, wood, white cotton linens) which was a nice change from the usual synthetic fabrics and laminate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

If anyone is looking for a hotel to stay to go to see the sites of Washington DC, or Virginia this is the place to stay. There is two shuttles that run you to the airport and metro. Good staff, very friendly. Rooms are nice and the restaraunts are very nice and the food is good, too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband and I recently spent three nights at the Hyatt Crystal City. We had a king room on the 6th floor-we liked that the room had a couch-made it nice for watching tv. The room had a nice view of the river(and a not so nice view of the construction across the street). As some other reviewers said the bathroom was small, but okay. It would have been nice to have a
mirror in the bedroom.

It was very nice to have a shuttle to the metro and the shops at Crystal City.
I walked to the Fashion Center mall-it was very nice with Macy's and Nordstroms. There were lots of nice restaurants within walking distance of the Hyatt-we especially liked Legal Sea Foods and McCormick and Schmicks
and Potbelly Sandwiches.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided for the New Year to visit Washington DC. Being the cheap person that I am but never sacrificing on quality I chose this hotel for around $60 per night. The check in process was smooth and quick. Anything we requested was attended to right away. Being frugal persons, we did not care too much to dine or drink at the hotel. There are several good places within walking distance of the hotel which aren't too expensive was Bailey's Pub & Grille and McDonald's is several blocks away. Also, CVS and a liquor store are all within walking distance. The shuttle to and from the metro was very convenient, as well as to and from the airport. We were very happy that we did not have to rent a car. We spent most of our time in DC but we did go to the Crystal City Shops and patronize several places in the area. The hotel was under construction while we were there but we never were disturbed by the noise. All in all we had a wonderful time. We really appreciated the fact that the room was actually cleaned, you know most hotels we've been to they don't do very much cleaning. We would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend this to anyone! It exceeded our expectations especially considering what we paid we felt that the hotel short-changed itself.
The only thing we did not like was that while the room (we got a Standard King Room on the 8th floor) was spacious, clean and beautiful we thought that the bathroom in comparison was small. Nothing major but the only thing I can think to complain about oh and that we had to pay for wireless. But considering what we paid we were happy to.

  • Liked — The location, staff, room in general
  • Disliked — Size and layout of Bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
#26 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#28 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.