We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Crystal City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Crystal City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was comfortable but . . . Although I specifically asked for a room away from the elevator, my room shared a wall with the elevator shaft so I could hear the elevator cars going up and down all night. Door slamming was a problem, and I could hear toilets flushing in other rooms. The room was clean, but not perfectly clean (dusty lamps, desktop had not been cleaned). Front desk was not particularly helpful in comparison to other hotels. And if you have a 5:30 a.m. flight, take a cab. Although three hotel employees assured me that the first airport shuttle at 4:40 would be fine, my flight was already boarding when I got to the gate, and that was with TSA Precheck and no checked baggage. I expect more from a Hyatt Regency and at the price I paid.

Room Tip: End of hall, away from elevator
See more room tips
Green Features: Bathroom has the usual note about reusing towels, but no towel bars to hang them on, just a hook inside the shower stall.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    332
    160
    74
    30
See reviews for
128
115
92
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Independence
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Since U.S. airways messed up my day, I got to stay here for the night, on them. I was pleasantly surprised! The bathroom was huge, the room had plenty of room, and it felt fancy with the seating by the window. It was a nice and clean place, but I don't see what is so special. There were middle school kids running every which way, I could hear the creaky old elevator, every time it went up or down, and they didn't have free breakfast.
They had a fast and convenient shuttle to and from the airport and they had heaters outside on the sidewalk which was pretty cool.
It was a very nice place, but I just wouldn't pay $250+, when I can get all the same for half that, at another hotel near by.

Room Tip: rooms away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCC, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. I apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced with the noisy guests and elevator, as well as breakfast here at the hotel. I appreciate you mentioning the value of the rooms and convenience of our shuttle as we work hard to ensure every guest is satisfied! We hope to see you again soon at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night due to a flight delay. The room was a nice size and clean, and everyone I interacted with at the hotel was friendly. The shuttle to/from the airport was convenient. Although the first shuttle leaves at 4:40am, it got me to the airport with plenty of time to make my 6am flight. The bathroom was a little dated, but certainly clean.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCC, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review Harry! We are glad to hear the early shuttle was efficient to get you out to Reagan National for your 6am flight. We appreciate the feedback and hope you get to stay with us under better circumstances in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night while in the DC area. Very nice hotel, clean and comfortable. Easy access to freeways. There for family trip, not super family friendly but couldn't beat the price. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful right from the start. Asked for some baby shampoo and got a bag full of stuff...great! Not a great place for little ones in terms of things to occupy them...pool not open, restaurant was a bar, no kids channels on tv. But otherwise we were very happy. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCC, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review! We do have our outdoor pool open throughout the summer, usually Memorial Day through Labor Day weekends. We are glad we could provide the items needed throughout your stay and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checking in was a breeze. After informing the check-in agent that we have kids, he puts us on the 15th floor and back in the corner; which was great for us...quite for us and for other guests...smart move on his part. The staff was helpful and friendly, eager to help. The room was clean and adequate. The pillows were small in size and lumpy. The breakfast bar was OK. Shuttle service to and from the Metro Station every 15 minutes and on time; which was great - remember to tip your driver. Other restaurants near the hotel is within 6-7 minutes walk. We had dinner at the Legal Sea Foods Restaurant (6 minutes walk from the hotel). The only complaint that we have about this hotel is the parking fee ($27.00 per day). Oh, free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCC, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate all your positive feedback! We are very close to many restaurants and it is easy to walk or catch our metro shuttle! We apologize about the parking you found to be expensive but we are comparable to other hotels in the area and there is an alternative garage located next door. We thank you and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the best places I have stayed at in DC and i have been to DC every year for the last 27 years with high students. The staff treated us like we were as important as anyone else in the hotel, not just a bunch of high school kids and their teacher.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCC, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review! We greatly appreciate the Close Up group and all of the tours they bring to our hotel each year. We hope you enjoyed D.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Generally I have been a big fan of Hyatt. I consider it to be one of the nicest midrange hotels. This one was one of the most disappointing that I have been to. Specific concerns included: (1) Very small oddly shaped room. (Room 543). (2) Extremely loud. (There were a large number of high school-age tourist groups who were apparently never taught that people sleep in hotels. Mommas and Daddies, don’t let your children grow up to be loud! (3) Tiny bathroom, with inability to separately control pressure and temperature on shower (a pet peeve of mine.). dOn the plus side: (1) Good wifi, included free. (2) Comfortable desk chair and bed. (3) Decent number of power outlets. (4) Crab Cake Benedict in room service was incredibly good.(5) Attractive Lobby. (6) Good service for our business meeting.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the elevator (e.g., room 543).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyCC, Manager at Hyatt Regency Crystal City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. We are currently looking in to ways to improve the tranquility in our guest rooms and reduce the noise from elevators and surrounding rooms. We are glad you enjoyed the free wifi, a new addition for all Hyatts, as well as our wonderful crabcake! We appreciate all this feedback as it will continue to allow us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Crystal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Crystal City

Address: 2799 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
#26 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Crystal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 686
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Crystal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Crystal City Hotel Arlington
Hyatt Regency Arlington
Hyatt Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Crystal City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.